We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed here one night. Arrived early in the morning from the airport. Our room was not ready (nothing to say when it was 8 am) Insted we was offered an other room to change clothes and shower if we wanted. had a great breakfast outside and say whales jumping in the sea!!
Also, we had a penguin outside our room!
Lunch and dinner was excellent and the rooms were spacius with everything you needed.
Would defenitive recommend this for anyone. The beach is right outside and you share it with the penguins.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    76
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
50
99
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Friends visited here several years ago and recommended this but i have to say it must have gone downhill since. It was the most expensive place we stayed in South Africa but was certainly not the best! Room was fusty, bathroom had damp and was grotty, towels were tatty, no tv and the door lock was extremely temperamental. On the plus side staff were friendly enough and the meal in the restaurant next door was very nice (but also quite expensive!). The penguins were the only reason we stayed here and they were amazing but i do wonder if perhaps we would have been better off finding somewhere else in Simon's Town to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brecon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Simon's Town hotels

Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We decided to spend our last 3 nights of our trip through South Africa here and we didn't regret it at all!
We just showed up and spend the first night in a smaller room, before moving to one bigger room at the back, with a private patio. Good value overall.
The restaurant is great, with nice breakfasts and very nice dinners!
Friendly service and staff and of course an excellent location, also for visiting Cape Town and the Cape of Good Hope.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

As part of our honeymoon in South Africa, we stayed here for a few nights over Chirstmas 2010 - and we are so pleased we did!
The hotel is located right by the entrance to Boulders Beach so it is brilliant to see the penguins walk by each day (even signs in the car park saying check for Penguins under your car before driving off!)
The food at the lodge was really nice, the breakfast especially was brilliant and the Christmas lunch we had was tremendous - the fish was some of the best fish i have had.
The rooms were nice, clean, tidy and had no issues with them at all. We stayed on the upper level and could see the sea if we sat out the front, which was very nice indeed.
The staff were welcomg, friendly and helpful. On Christmas day (as they closed the reception for the evening) they gave everyone a platter of food as the retaurant was closed - they mistakenly gave us a non-veggie option but were more than helpful in changing it and ensuring we were happy. They also gave everyone staying at the hotel a little christmas gift.
Away from boulders beach, you can easily travel down to Cape Point or up to Simons Town - not sure how far Table Mountain / Cape Town were as we moved guesthouses to explore that are.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recomend to all - perfect place to stay at Christmas on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

I recently stayed two nights at the Boulder's Beach Lodge in Simon's Town as part of a five week trip through South Africa. My purpose in going to Simon's Town was to see African Penguins and to visit Cape of Good Hope Nature Reserve. On checking in at Boulders Beach I asked where to find Penguins and was told to just turn around! There was an adult feeding two chicks just a few centimeters from where I parked my car. The hotel is quite comfortable and the restaurant is ideally situated to let you watch birds and see Southern Right Whales while enjoying dinner and sipping on a glass of excellent South African wine. Staff here are extremely helpful and made me feel at home when I was 9000 miles from home. Boulders Beach Lodge is the only place I would consider for accomodation should I ever return to this stunning part of South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Never before have I gone to sleep with the gentle(not) braying of penguins right outside my door. The location is amazing - its well worth getting up for the sunrise and staying for sun set. it may be out of simons town itself but during the day it is possible to walk but otherwise just eat in the restaurant as you need go no further with great food and service.

the rooms are very comfy with great bathrooms - I also though it was great value for money. They arranged a trasfer from the airport which was very reasonable and then got the train back to Cape town which is very cheap if not very smart!

the penguins are the highlight - they were nesting in the hotel when we were there and then everywhere outside - the car park, the beach the bushes - a bit surreal!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alih71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I have travelled many times to Boulders Beach Lodge; The lodge is a little out of the way but offers everything one will need if looking for a place to relax. The accommodation is great and the food is just fantastic - the Aussie chef knows his food! Cant wait to visit again :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas_Genade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
19.7 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 198 in Cape Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.7 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Property: Boulders Beach Lodge
Address: 4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Boulders Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing