We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boulders lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Beach Lodge
Ranked #17 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nice hotel, great location. Biggest downside is that at night the penguins are LOUD! When I stayed at the hotel, a pair had taken up residence on the hotel's patio and the braying was super loud. It's cool to be kept awake by a penguin, but still I was kept awake....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

A great location, quiet and peaceful, good sea sounds through the night.
Plenty of penguins (plus their odd noises) which were great.
Room clean and well serviced.
Breakfast excellent, especially with the view and parade of penguins.
Would return.

Room Tip: Only one real sea view room. The rest have limited view but place is quiet and rooms well appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This rustic hotel is located right next to the entrance to the penguin colony. The food at the restaurant is good and reasonably priced. There's a cute gift shop with a giant penguin standing guard. Although the gift shop inside the park offers many more items. The night we arrived we were thrilled to see a penguin hopping up the stairs towards the lodge, apparently he is one of the "residents!"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of my birthday trip with my partner and booked the upper deck rooms - and I really liked it!
I'd recommend these over the lower as they allow a lot more light in and catch the late afternoon sun on the balcony.
The location is directly on boulders beach boardwalk entrance and you can see penguins from the room!
The room was tasteful, and the tea and coffee facilities appreciated!
It was my birthday during my stay and at breakfast I was presented with a card and little picture which was so very thoughtful.
The staff were all very polite and the restaurant staff in particular were very friendly.
You can walk into town in around 20 minutes safely.
My criticisms would be:
Certainly the bath could use a good scrub but otherwise all very clean.
It would have been useful to be told the boardwalk isn't lit at night and a torch would be required if walking into town or to the nearby restaurant (would def recommend Seafourth!)
Overall for a night or two id stay here again for the location and the comfort - providing you take an upper deck room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Boulders Beach for a friend's birthday on the evening of the 1 st of February 2014.We payed extra to have a room with a sea view,but the only way you get to see the sea from that room is outside on the platform before you go in.I feel this is misleading and would not have paid for a more expensive room had I known this was the case.The beach and the penguins are an experience though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaarlAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Well, what more can I say, but our time there was perfect !The rooms were very nice, and clean. All the towels and linen is new. Annie, was very helpful, and all the other staff friendly. Fantastic breakfast everday, so I can't wait for our next time there !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Location is oke and the food very good. But ... because of the pinguins in the garden right next to the rooms you can't sleep because of the noise they produce!
They let us pay after dinner and we complained the next morning. The management promissed to react to us but we never heard something!
50% of the price would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
19.7 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#112 of 201 in Cape Town
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#11 of 31 in Simon's Town
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Address: 4 Boulders Place | Boulders Beach, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £54 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Boulders Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing