We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boulders Beach lodge: what a lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boulders Beach Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boulders Beach lodge: what a lovely place!”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Looking over the ocean from the terrace of the hotel, we watched the whales and the African penguins. The food and staff far exceeded our expectations! We had the best meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner during our two days, the Chef created delicious dishes. We had traveled already 25 days in SA and had many excellent meals but at this restaurant we felt the chef’s passion and love for the culinary arts. One of our regular waiters at Boulders Beach Lodge gave us the best service in our entire trip in SA.
The rooms have basic accommodation but they are clean. The hotel makes it up by having the best location. Parking is right on front of the lodge and totally safe.
If you wish to visit a natural place, Boulders Beach should not escape from your list. The place offers spectacular natural beauty everywhere, incredible massive boulders and lovely penguins.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoleilFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    78
    39
    27
    14
See reviews for
51
100
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz-Muenchen-Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

The room was nice, lovely decorated, small but convenient with good beds and a nice large bathroom. What would you want more?
There is a shelf and hangers for your clothes - simple but - I guess quite sufficient as most guests probably only stay for a day or a few. The restaurant is excellent.
Good food, absolutely great food, good wines... and the oysters! Terrific breakfast.
Surely it is no 5 star spa hotel but I loved the individual character, the personal feeling, the closeness to the restaurant, the penguins and of course the cat!
The price is a bit on the high side but surely understandable at this location.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabianmau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed one night at Boulders Beach Lodge so we could visit the famous African Penguin colony. The accommodation was outdated and basic compared to the other places we stayed during our trip to SA. It was expensive for what it was and clearly capitalises on its tourist location next to the penguins.

We had to pay to use the lodge's WIFI so we could book some flights for the next part of our trip but we found that the signal strength was poor and we could only use the WIFI from the reception area and not from our room as was advertised.

The staff were very friendly though and the restaurant in the lodge was excellent, one of the best meals we had during our trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Well located next to the penguin colony but the lodge itself needs upgrading. Pleasant staff in restaurant and good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Simon's Town hotels

Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We went here in Sept 2006 for our honeymoon. We both love penguins which is why we chose this location, and it didn't disappoint! We went to see them every day, and also hung out with Bobby the lodges' cat who was raised by penguins for the first few years of his life (hence he has a chewed ear and an illness caused by eating too much fish)! We also went whale watching which was amazing, although we saw them a few times just while we were having breakfast on the terrace. The staff were great - the owner was lovely, and when the staff found out we were on honeymoon they secretly filled our bath with bubbles, candles and rose petals, plus a free bottle of champagne! We found the room itself great - lovely decor and nice and clean. The fridge was useful too.

If we can afford to go back to South Africa one day we'll definitely go here.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molluscstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Boulders Beach Lodge is a basic hotel right next to the Penguin colony.
The rooms are basic but clean and that for me was most important.

Parking space is right in front of your hotel and you need to check that you don't have a penguin under the car before you drive away...that's how close you are to the penguins.
The restaurant in the Lodge is very good and we had a lovely dinner there.
Breakfast is again a very basic affair and you have a choice from an a la carte menu.

If you want to walk into Simon's Town centre I'm sure you could do that but it is a bit of a trek and we didn't feel like doing that.
If you're staying in Simon's Town for one or two nights to take a look at the Penguins and use it as a base for Cape of Good Hope National Park it is definitely worth it. Any longer though and the rooms would start to feel too small and you'd run out of breakfast options.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpediem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Can't comment on the accom as I only ate there, but had to share how wonderful the food was. Oysters with chilli-coriander dressing, asian noodles with tiger prawns, coconut deepfried ice-cream, all to die for! My 3-year old happily tucked into his simple pasta with butter sauce with great gusto, which I was very happy about. The waiter said they had an Australian chef, wish he cooked in Joburg, I would eat there every day. Great location, with cool breeze blowing , lovely end to a great morning at Boulders beach with the penguins.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
0.6 mi away
Whale View Manor
Whale View Manor
#2 of 6 in Simon's Town
158 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#115 of 203 in Cape Town
238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
La Splendida
La Splendida
#81 of 109 in Cape Town Central
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence William French Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boulders Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulders Beach Lodge

Property: Boulders Beach Lodge
Address: 4 Boulders Place Boulders Beach Simons Town 7975, Simon's Town, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Boulders Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Boulders Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulders Beach Hotel Simon`s Town
Boulders Beach Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing