We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely. Clean. Wonderful Staff”
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #12 of 32 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our room had the most beautiful sea view. The breakfast room is gorgeous, elegant. Arrived at Whale View on extensive international travel. They arranged for laundry service and we had our laundry back in less than 12 hours at very reasonable cost. Can also recommend massage at the onsite spa. Rooms do not have phones but they will make hotel phone available to receive and make phone calls. it is a 40 minute walk to Simons Town.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

A peaceful location but an ideal base for visiting Cape Town as well as the stunning countryside at the Cape. The hotel staff were warm and welcoming, the food is delicious and we really enjoyed our two night stay in Simon's Town.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Dufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights. Breakfast was wonderful and ample. The room was clean and the view spectacular. The Whale View Manor is only steps away from the South African’s penguins at Boulder Beach. The personnel was accommodating and always willing and able to help.

Room Tip: Off season between June and September
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabihaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I didn't stay here, but I did walk by it. It is definitely in a beautiful location. Easy stroll across the street to the beach. It would be important to have a car as only a beach is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had our honeymoon in South Africa. When we arrived in the evening at the Whale View Manor the house staff did not know we were coming. They stated that the venue was fully booked and we were not known to them despite the guesthouse charged the full (quite high) amount in advance. When we exhibited the voucher, they disapeared with it in the office and made us wait for 25 Minutes on our suitcases not offering us even a seat telling us they had to check it with the manager. Finally they came, no apology whatsoever, and declared that we were able to stay (how kind!). The manager showed up only the mornig we left. The only words we heared of her were "good morning", nothing else. The house and the rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfast was fine. The smell of urine in the toilet was unpleasant. In the two evenings we stayed there we wanted to ask for some information like dining and sight-seeing but we could not find any one in the house to ask. This was by far the worst stay I ever had in South Africa out of much more than one hundred. I certainly would not write this when it was not true. I cant believe all the other reviews are so good, may be the owner changed in the meantime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andromeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at Whale View Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We regret that these guests were treated in this manner and thus offer them a free night on their next visit. Our new management is in place and will ensure a better experience next time round. We value the feed and back and strive for service excellence - no excuse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Near Simon's town with great view, and excellent breakfast. Very nice and firendly owners. Enjoyed our stay very much. Very close to penguens and you will even have chance to see them on the road. So sorry that we missed the whale season.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elma971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Big house set just back (and up) from the main road, with great views over False Bay from the front bedrooms. Close to Boulders Beach and the Cape Point Nat Park. Strong African theme to the decor in the public rooms and bedrooms, with an amazing collection of masks, etc, in the lounge. Very comfortable bed!

Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, even coming in to make a very early breakfast for us when we were heading off one morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomSaintsRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
1.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 32 in Simon's Town
295 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 32 in Simon's Town
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#5 of 32 in Simon's Town
419 reviews
1 mi away
Cheriton Guest House B&B
Cheriton Guest House B&B
#2 of 32 in Simon's Town
375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#6 of 32 in Simon's Town
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing