We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“whale view manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“whale view manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have just returned from south africa we spent are last ten days at whale view manor in simons town.sue and her staff were wounderfull .the food was great especially the breackfast.the view from the hotel was unforgetable we had spa treatments which we wounderfull we will be returning in 2013 thank you all at whale view manor for a great time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviews567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    33
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
80
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at Whale View Manor! Breakfast was divine, the staff was lovely... I asked them to decorate our room especially for our arrival (as it was a surprise for my boyfriend) and they did a wonderful job! We had a couples massage at their spa... so nice! I would highly recommend staying at this beautiful, serene guesthouse. The view from our sea view room made it seem like it was only us and the sea for miles... stunning!!

Room Tip: our sea view room had the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espanola, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Our room had the most beautiful sea view. The breakfast room is gorgeous, elegant. Arrived at Whale View on extensive international travel. They arranged for laundry service and we had our laundry back in less than 12 hours at very reasonable cost. Can also recommend massage at the onsite spa. Rooms do not have phones but they will make hotel phone available to receive and make phone calls. it is a 40 minute walk to Simons Town.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0verst0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

A peaceful location but an ideal base for visiting Cape Town as well as the stunning countryside at the Cape. The hotel staff were warm and welcoming, the food is delicious and we really enjoyed our two night stay in Simon's Town.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dufry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for 2 wonderful nights. Breakfast was wonderful and ample. The room was clean and the view spectacular. The Whale View Manor is only steps away from the South African’s penguins at Boulder Beach. The personnel was accommodating and always willing and able to help.

Room Tip: Off season between June and September
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SabihaSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I didn't stay here, but I did walk by it. It is definitely in a beautiful location. Easy stroll across the street to the beach. It would be important to have a car as only a beach is within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyBusinessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Risch, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

We had our honeymoon in South Africa. When we arrived in the evening at the Whale View Manor the house staff did not know we were coming. They stated that the venue was fully booked and we were not known to them despite the guesthouse charged the full (quite high) amount in advance. When we exhibited the voucher, they disapeared with it in the office and made us wait for 25 Minutes on our suitcases not offering us even a seat telling us they had to check it with the manager. Finally they came, no apology whatsoever, and declared that we were able to stay (how kind!). The manager showed up only the mornig we left. The only words we heared of her were "good morning", nothing else. The house and the rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfast was fine. The smell of urine in the toilet was unpleasant. In the two evenings we stayed there we wanted to ask for some information like dining and sight-seeing but we could not find any one in the house to ask. This was by far the worst stay I ever had in South Africa out of much more than one hundred. I certainly would not write this when it was not true. I cant believe all the other reviews are so good, may be the owner changed in the meantime.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andromeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan S, Owner at Whale View Manor, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We regret that these guests were treated in this manner and thus offer them a free night on their next visit. Our new management is in place and will ensure a better experience next time round. We value the feed and back and strive for service excellence - no excuse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simon's Town
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
7.9 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#3 of 6 in Simon's Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
12.3 mi away
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#3 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#8 of 31 in Simon's Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Property: Whale View Manor
Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing