We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful views and close to Boulders Beach”
Review of Whale View Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whale View Manor
Ranked #12 of 31 Simon's Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Small and very quiet but grand in its own way, this beautiful guest house is outside Simonstown and within 15-20 minutes' walk from the penguins at Boulders Beach. It is just across the road from the sea front, but high up with uninterrupted views of the beach and the surf. Rooms very clean and well equipped. The Sea View rooms are magical because of their balcony and view - but Garden View rooms perfectly pleasant too. Friendly and obliging staff James and Jim produce a wonderful breakfast, most beautifully presented with bougainvillea flowers from the garden decorating your muesli! The dinner menu looks delicious but book in advance to eat in. As it's out of town, dining options within walking distance are limited, but it's a short drive into Simonstown for more choice and lower-budget options.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are definitely worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Location is delightful perched above a lovely cove where the whales cove...Front rooms all have lovely balconies - loved #6 at it is on Simons Town end so you have great views from the bathroom too! Ecletic decoration which goes very well with Simons Town and the Manor--very tasteful and relaxing. All amenities are available except no wifi in the rooms but complimentary in the public areas. Jackson and Jimmy take top care of ones needs with warm smiles, helpfully. Jackson's breakfasts are great...fresh fruits, yoghurts carefully presented with granola, just ask...
Perfect sundowners on the terraces...great wine tasting at Cape Point Winery, funky shops in Simons Town, great hikes, plus great beach time just in front or go to Boulders Beach to swim with the penguins--beware they bite! Don't miss the penguins--a great time watching them prune their mate, dig their nests, shelter their babies or walk to the sea and swim together! Easy to get to the airport too....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootsusyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and i attended our nephew and his beautifull new wife's wedding reception there. Wow the place was stunning, having been transformed by Dominique and the rest of the staff, into an amazing wedding wonderland. Our room was the Mandaley room with lovely rich colours and a view facing the beach and the ocean beyond. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us and the rest of the wedding party. We continued to stay here for another four nights, and it felt like a home from home, but with a bit more luxury. It was a great location with boulder beach with the penguins just along the road and a short journey to The Cape of Good Hope, where you pass baboons on the way. We loved our stay at Whale View Manor and would love to stay here again, where we made some new friends, Dominique, Jackson, Mike and Jimmy to name a few. Thanks again for making our time there so special.
Christine & Gerry Higgins xx

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisH8267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My new husband and I held our evening reception at Whale View Manor in December 2012. What swayed it for us was the wedding package included exclusive use of the venue plus all 10 rooms (to accommodate 20 guests), a wedding planner and the ability to tailor everything from fod, drinks and decor.

We have got back to the UK and in a nutshell, the food was amazing (both at the wedding meal and breakfast the next day), the staff are so friendly and will do anything for you (really making you feel special), the rooms and their décor are all unique and excellent (each one of our guests commented how great their room was. We stayed in the Megeve room which was spectacular) and the views out to the sea are just amazing.

Dominique, the hotel manager, is the real gem of the place. Without her, I wouldn't have got the wedding I always dreamed of. I cant thank her enough.

Overall, the guest house is well situated for Cape Point, Boulders Beach and Kalk Bay (great for fish and chips) - esp if you want to get away from the bustle of Cape Town for a couple of nights. We will def be back to experience Whale View Manor again.

Room Tip: Sea rooms are esp great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angieh574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Where do I start? Firstly the venue is amazing. It overlooks False Bay with spectacular views; little beach across the road. The decor is superb, the rooms are gorgeous - all decorated differently in an eclectic style. It's within walking distance of Boulders Beach where you can see the penguins in their natural habitat. But down to the reason we were there. Our daughter got married and she and her fiance chose this venue, firstly for the reasons above, but also because they could accommodate their entire small wedding party on the night of the wedding. We liaised with Dominique over the many months of preparation and NOTHING was too much trouble for her. My daughters vision for the wedding reception was achieved right down to the smallest thing. The food was absolutely to die for and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. If I could give this venue six stars I would!

Room Tip: We had room no five facing the sea called the Masai Mara room and decorated in that style, bright an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemini16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Such a welcoming atmosphere, pleasant staff, awesome decor and outstanding attention to detail. The spa is excellent - great products and staff - can't wait to go back. Sitting on the deck having breakfast was a real treat - nothing like feeling right on the beach but being in the comfort and style of an up market guest house.

Room Tip: either sea or mountain facing - both views are fantastic - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

After staying in Cape Town for 5 nights we wanted something more chilled out near Boulders Beach, Simon's Town. This did the trick. The staff at the guesthouse were really friendly and it feels less commercial than many hotels. They even have an ' honesty bar ' which tells you a lot. The whole place is authentic African decor. The rooms are nice and we had a lovely view from our balcony at the front of the guesthouse on the first floor. Breakfast was very good, lots of fresh fruit and a cooked breakfast. Overall a really nice friendly guesthouse!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.7 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
1.3 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#2 of 31 in Simon's Town
355 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 31 in Simon's Town
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Watercolours House
Watercolours House
#5 of 31 in Simon's Town
117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 31 in Simon's Town
413 reviews
0.8 mi away
Magellan's Passage
Magellan's Passage
#7 of 31 in Simon's Town
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whale View Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale View Manor

Address: 402 Main Road | Murdoch Valley, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Simon's Town
Price Range: £106 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale View Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale View Manor… distinctive and sumptuous…. a jewel of a guest house located in historic Simon’s Town and close to Boulders Beach that is world famous for the African Penguins. Whale View Manor is situated directly opposite a picturesque and secluded beach. The uninterrupted, breath-taking views, at the southern-most tip of Africa enhance the unique experience of this accommodation. This gem also has a backdrop of majestic mountain vistas. As you step into the eclectic reception area, you are treated to an extravaganza of the senses. Extraordinary artifacts and collectibles greet and welcome you. Susan Smyth, the owner, travels extensively and her keen eye selects remarkable objet d'art that she lovingly brings home to Whale View Manor. Visual delights are further accentuated by subtle fragrances wafting through the reception, by bougainvillea petals floating inside from the charming courtyard and by the gleaming smiles of the dedicated staff. Exemplary service defines Whale View Manor. The team will go to any lengths to create a memorable, magical experience for their valued guests – from set ting up a breakfast table on the beach to arranging a tantalizing high-tea in the garden. Flexibility and creativity allow for the team to cater to your dreams. Accommodation:Six of the rooms have spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean, while four have beautiful garden and mountain views. All the rooms have newly appointed en suite bathrooms and satellite television. Breakfast & Dining: Breakfast is served in the restaurant overlooking the ocean. Scrumptious freshly prepared meals are served with the aroma of freshly ground coffee filling the air. Our restaurant is open for lunch and dinner - booking essential. The meals are quite delectable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Whale View Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whale View Manor Simons Town
Whale View Manor Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing