We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that good...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Simon's Town Backpackers
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not that good...”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have been a bit disapointed when we arrived : staff not very welcoming (not even Hello in the morning), lost our booking, rooms ok, but not really clean under the beds..., kitchen small but nice balcony.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ely-Folies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
5
20
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

I am a Canadian who has travelled in 80 countries in my lifetime.
My tour of 5 countries in southern Africa over a period of seven weeks was magnificent. The people of South Africa are extremely friendly and kind.
The Backpackers in Simonstown, however, is a DUMP.
The place has cockroaches, very poor kitchen facilities consistenting of one gas hobb with burned on dirt and grime on the pots and pans etc.
It is noisy when the "STAFF" are playing music or watching football until 3 am in the morning.
They are both very rude and belligerant. They gave the impression that they are upset with the entire world.
The "BOSS" is a tall felllow from Denmark who speaks very poor english. This is very aggravating when he yells during his rants on how unfair the world is to him.
He absolutely bored me with his compalints about the national tourist board which promised him that following the world cup , that they would be swampede with tourists.
This obviously never developed which explains their immature and very nasty behaviour.

Although, Simons Town is nice, it does not offer much in the way of accommodations and supermarkets, other than a few grocery stores with minimal food choices.

I wouls suggest that you stay at the vast variety of backpackers or 3 star hotels located in Greenpoint which has large supermarkeys and an enormous numbe of eateries to fit everyone's budget.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canxcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Simon's Town hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
istanbul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Dutch Owner is a jerk, stuff is his friends. All they do is to get pissed and rip you off.
They give wrong information and directives. Such a pity that a potentially nice place is ruın by an IDIOT. Never stay there, better to stay on the beach with the penguins.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzunguistanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights during our visit in South Africa. Simon´s Town is a good adress when u wanna go to Cape Point cause you only have to drive for 20 minutes,
The Hostel is ok. We had a double room en suite and it was not really clean. When you compare it with other Hostels it´s just average. We were a little bit dissapointed. But for 2 nights it was ok.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy151081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Whilst the location is fantastic the same cannot be said of the moody and unhelpfull staff.... I have just checked out the other reviews and note that they were written before the SA winter..
Ok so when you first step inside you see lovely polished wooden floors and a quaint kitchen,, take a closer look !! The rooms have no where to hang anything or put anything ..no shelves no hooks ...the kitchen has x 2 gas rings and x 1 microwave and x 1 table that seats 4 people ... this place can host well over 20 people ... ar you getting the picture ??! - long queues to use the stove..by which time you have melted with hunger . and no where to sit and eat communally .. I must empasise that it is cold in the evenings during June July and August so in the evening we couldn' t really go outside an use any potential tables on the balcony without fleeces and hats and gloves..The x 1 fire they have is not adequate to heat the place and is lit far too late for it to permeate around the building.. I had to ask for a blanket and we slept with lots of jumpers on.. Now for the moody staff...... Watch out for grunts when you ask for something ..the staff prefer to play on the playstation or gaze at the internet..I felt awkaward on x 2 occasions when I had my head bitten off on arrival for asking where the kitchen was !! it was a poor welcome that set the tone for the stay.. a saving grace is the video shop downstairs the owner is fab .. we took a portable dvd player and he sussed we were inhappy with the place and the poor welcome and he gave us x 3 free dvds to compensate for the unsurprising welcome we were getting... so if in simonstown vist this lovely shop!! The only thing this backpackers has going for it is the view which you will only get from a balcony room ..it is stunning.and the town is undoubtedly quaint and interestingly very colonial...the best fish and chps we have ever had came from the salty dog ... well worth a visit. .. so if you choose to stay there dont unpack anything as there is no where to put stuff take a wooly jumper or 4 in the winter and be prepared to be ignored.. also watch out for the small print of rules on the wall that are barely readable.. they dislike you drinking your own booze and will charge you... There is NO WI FI there at all which we found in all other backpackers we stayed in at the cape..there is an intetnet facillity there but it is over priced comp[red to a local internet cafe and remember that it is hard any way as a guest to get on as the staff hog it ...
The owner does not live on site but the x 2 staff members do, and they get up at 9am ish and I heaqd them moan on a number of occasions about being woken up by the guests as thier room is near to the kitchen ..interestingly when the owner is around they seem to pick up dusters and polish the bar... thats thier work done for the day untill the owner dissapperas..
to Sum up it was the worst place we stayed in in SA and not typical of the warm and friendly atmospheres you can easily get in backpakers along the cape coast AVOID IT!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cottage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This backpacker was gorgeous, very clean with beautiful wood features and floors. Definitely the nicest place we stayed especially for the price. Great balcony and people around to chat with. Bathroom down the hall was not bothersome at all because the place felt so homey.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eebvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Simon's Town Backpackers was one of my favorite places to stay in South Africa (was there on a three week trip). In terms of the physical accommodations, this was a very nice place. Renovated within the past few years and appointed with new furnishings and bedding, this backpackers was incredibly comfortable if not only due to the peace of mind attained from the cleanliness, as well as the fact that it is significantly cooler here than in Cape Town. Great location to restaurants and cafes, with the harbor on the other side of the street. Staff were at times friendly, and also at times shockingly short-tempered. Despite the odd temperament of the staff, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwilmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Simon's Town hotels
1.4 mi away
Boulders Beach Lodge
Boulders Beach Lodge
#4 of 6 in Simon's Town
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
0.2 mi away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Simonsview
Simonsview
#11 of 29 in Simon's Town
91 reviews
2.1 mi away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mariner Guesthouse
Mariner Guesthouse
#3 of 29 in Simon's Town
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Town Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Town Backpackers

Property: Simon's Town Backpackers
Address: 66 St Georges Street, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Simon's Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Simon's Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Simon's Town Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simon's Town Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing