We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot Air Balloons” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris

Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris
Book In Advance
More Info
US$211.90*
and up
Magaliesburg Balloon Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bill Harrop's "Original" Balloon Safaris. If you're going to do it, do it in unassailable style. It's sunrise. The silence is only punctuated by the occasional blast of the powerful burners and the faint call of a bird or animal far beneath. The thrill is indescribable. Picture yourselves sipping champagne as you hover gently above the tree tops, or soar high above the mountain peaks. After landing, savour a delectable champagne breakfast at our well established, traditionally exquisite and beautifully appointed Clubhouse Pavilion and Restaurant where you will be filled with the warmest of memories.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hot Air Balloons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We went in a Hot Air Balloon run by Bill Harrop which was really awesome, a few years ago. A fantastic experience to go on, everyone was really helpful and the site seeing was fantastic. A marvellous time and great champange breakfast to follow. Would definetly do it again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Diane,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the trip you took with us a year ago!
Must have made a great impression for you to review it “on the browse”.
We are certainly ready and waiting for you to “do it again” so don’t forget to ask for your “frequent flyer discount”.
Kind regards,
Bill Harrop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    16
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bucket List Stuff....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you have never thought of experiencing a hot air balloon ride, you certainly need to add this to your bucket list! I recently had the opportunity to do so with Bill Harrop's Balloon Safaris - and Wow....!! What an experience, from the super professional staff, to the warm welcome and EXCELLENT breakfast, complete with champagne after the flight. Thank you so, so much to Bill and Sarah and their amazing team. I had no idea that flying in a balloon was that much fun and so much more of an experience than I had ever imagined.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebzO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear DebzO
It is always a pleasure to share our enjoyment and passion with our guests.
Thank you for your great comments . . . . and thank you even more for sharing your views with the Tripadvisor readers.
Kind regards,
Bill Harrop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

It is an experience of a lifetime and the ladies & gents at Bill Harrop's made it even better. Captain Tracey was incredible and took great care of us. The sparkling wine and juice at the end of the ride was the cherry on the top, especially since it was Mom's birthday.
I highly recommend this journey to anybody and everybody visiting South Africa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnushaAswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anusha,
Thank you for your kind comment and recommendation.
I am glad that the commitment of our staff, especially Tracy has contributed to giving your Mom “many happy returns” of a very special day.
Kind regards,
Bill Harrop
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Well run, professional experience! Special thanks to Tracy, our balloon pilot! Your stories and sense of humour made the flight even more memorable! Good luck to you all!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristof9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Kristo,
Thank you for “making Tracy’s day” too.
I hope we may have the good fortune or “good luck” to see you again one day.
Kind regards,
Bill Harrop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My friends and I had so much fun during the balloon safari. The staff and crew were amazing. Our balloon pilot Tracy was professional and very informative, we enjoyed riding with her. The breakfast after the balloon ride was amazing - we didn't want to leave.

I highly recommend this experience!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lungi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillJohannesburg, Owner at Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Lungi Z,
I thank you for your kind comments which I will pass on to our team, especially Tracy.
Pity you had other commitments that day, as you are always welcome to stay as long as you like to enjoy the view, the riverside walks, (and our fully licensed bar).
Looking forward to seeing you again someday.
Kind regards,
Bill Harrop
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris also viewed

Muldersdrift, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing