We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Provence 'd Afrique”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magaliesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Provence D'Afrique
Ranked #3 of 10 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“La Provence 'd Afrique”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I would like to compliment and recommend this stablishment for their amazing service/staff and attention to our needs and details. We spent the weekend there a couple of weeks ago and due to the weather being misreable we had such a cozy and romantic time. The fire was lit and we were informed before the time that we would be charged a small fee for firewood which I felt was fair due to the fact that people misuse these items. Jerimiah was and absolute treat and made us feel like a king and queen. As for Marguerite, the fact that as the owner she took the time to chat to us at breakfast and made sure that we were happy and had everything we needed was refreshing and should that she cares about her guest. The antique looking linen and ambiance made us feel as if we'd been transported back in time. Thank you for making our weekend a dream and we will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    21
    8
    9
    23
See reviews for
9
86
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the perfect weekend getaway from Johannesburg or Pretoria, especially for couples looking for a romantic weekend. It's also a different experience to the usual weekend away!
We phoned for a booking at the last minute & the owner organised a beautiful room for us as part of "Spring Special" they are currently running. This was after phoning a number of other establishments in the Magaliesburg/Hartebeespoort area & not finding any vacancies - thanks to wedding season of course ;)

Pros:
Value - we took a 2 night weekend package in one of their thatch cottages, that included 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner & a hot stone massage for both of us. The special was such good value for money & it would be hard to find the same type of package for the same price, elsewhere!
Hospitality - we were so impressed with the friendly owner & all the staff. Every single member of staff that we met was friendly, helpful & had a positive attitude - they clearly enjoy working there.
Location - so close to Jhb & Pta, but you feel so secluded in the rather tree-filled spot that it feels like you're far away from the busy cities. There's loads of stuff to do in the area in terms of the Magalies Meander & such. There's also a pub 500m up the road.
Venue - the property features some beautifully renovated buildings with lots of trees around, so peace & seclusion is what you get. The rooms inside the main building are simply sublime & they enclose the dinning area. The outdoor bar is actually an old vehicle that has been converted into a quaint bar & you sit at tables next to the vehicle. There are loads of antiques in the buildings & around the property, so the place has tons of character.
Rooms - the thatch cottages offer privacy & the extra comforts of a fireplace, balcony & loft. The main rooms offer French luxury & decor. I loved the look of the main rooms & if you want to spoil someone & have a romantic weekend, those rooms are perfect!
Food - the food was sublime! The 3-course dinner on Friday night came in a picnic basket, which was unusual & so quaint. The food was a full hot meal & we sat inside the stunning indoor dining area that feels like a French street cafe. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was great, with pastries, hot food & such. This was served down by the river from 9-11am - so you can lie in, in the mornings for a change!
Saturday evening they booked us a table at nearby Goblin's Cove - which they also own. The food was excellent & it was nice not to have a long drive back to the room. Goblin's Cove is a really magical place & definitely worth a visit.
Sunday breakfast arrived in a picnic basket again & was served by the river. Aside from the set meals, we also ordered a great cheese platter which was really good. Their drinks are well-priced too.
Facilities - the spa is a great option & their treatments are well-priced. The therapists are lovely ladies.

Cons:
Not many here & only small things.
Rooms: the thatch cottages can get a little chilly BUT they have fireplaces & once the staff have lit the fire, they warm up really well (R50 charge for the staff to light the fire for you). Water pressure in the thatch cottage bathroom isn't that good, so a bath takes a while to run - no shower head in the bathroom. The wooden stairs up to the bedroom can be a bit tricky.

Overall we loved the place & will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you're looking for the ultimate in privacy, ask for a cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supaflyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

More 2 star than 3... the rooms alhtough beatiful were not very clean. pillowcase was burnt, linen not washed, bath was dirty.
- heard every "porno" sound the couple next door made at 1 am
- rooms close to the main road
- Picnic basket dinner and breakfasts were great and good food.
- Massage was great but lying on an already oiled up towl was gross.

spend the extra money and go to Mount grace

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SharelSophos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laprov, Owner at La Provence D'Afrique, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Bonjour,
I would like to respond to this review as this establishment is our pride and run and managed by me personally.We pride ourselves in our product and I simply will not ever use dirty linnen-- we do use a dark cream flanel linnen, especially in winer or on cold evenings?? But NEVER would I have a dirty bath or dirty linnen!!.
I challenge guests to confront us with these problems directly on the weekend, then it can be looked at and hopefully rectified.
I am there every morning personally for breakfast,and then work the breakfast tables to find out how guests are enjoying themselves-- once they've gone and become a nameless review-- one has not got a leg to stand on with staff or to refund or move them to something else more suitable to their needs etc.My staff CLEANS the suites every morning?
Because we are such a different and personal venue-- constructive critism or suggestions are always welcome -- but not such destructive unfair critisism that only gets to you via new guests or
weeks afterwards-- when its to late!!
Because it's such a unique and creative venue some guests might find certain things such as the floors or showers looking untidy but that's been antiqued to give an old authentic feeling -- and after being in PROVENCE -- FRANCE several times and with my husband being the inhouse decorator and wellknown sculptor we have been complimented on the authentic feel that we have achieved.

OWNER & manager-- MARGUERITE GOTTHARD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaliesburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My amazing husband whisked me off for a romantic weekend surprise. I could not have been more delighted or have imagined this beautiful experience. Our room was out of a romantic novel, with beautiful antique furniture and minute attention to detail on the finishing touches. Breakfast by the river was beautiful beyond words, the setting was perfect. The Forest Spa gave us the most incredible massages in a setting of perfect tranquility and beauty. Dinner in the French Quarters was delicious and again a magical story book setting. Dinner on Saturday night at Goblins Cove was just as perfect in every way and we lost ourselves in the beautiful fairy land settings. This is a secret enchanted experience in a picture book setting. I cannot wait to go back. Thank you Marguerite for creating it and thank you Jeremiah for taking care of our every need. Belinda and Brent Baker

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHB
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My fantastic boyfriend surprised me by taking me to this romantic little place (which I had never even herd of). We arrived on Friday evening and Carla Bruni was echoing through the passages. It felt like I had arrived in another country. We had a wonderfully intimate dinner, and were treated to the romance of French country styling in our room, as well as an already made fire. I was really appreciative of the quality time I spend with my guy.

If you have the desire to step back in time, and land in a place where everything reminds you of a time when people read books, lit candles, sat by the fire and told stories about their day instead of TV time, then this would be a place for you to visit.

I was tickled by the attention to detail, Jeremia our host was so gracious and helpful. The experience on a whole was great, the only thing I would recommend is that they place a menu of things to do and their prices in the room, so you know what activities there are ie. Picnic baskets, and cheese platters, and the price for extra wood, not that it was a problem just more transparency would be appreciated.

Thanks for a great time, we will be back.
(We stayed in the honeymoon sweet I would recommend this room for those lovers out there)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zoes06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzogenaurach, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We arrived at night and I was fascinated about this magical place, until it all unfolded - broken showers, awful linen that the owner claimed is the winter fit, everthing is mouldy and old.
Lets talk about the rip off. They start a fire for you and then tell you to pay for the wood - hallo!
Then breakfast was not nice and then they charge for coffee at breakfast at R35 a person per cup. The owner does not care stating this is normal practice. Oh and then she tried to charge us more than what she quoted for the room.
Hey if you are paying R100 pp p night, then who cares but at the price they charged!!!
I live in Europe and stay at hundreds of guest houses and visit many in South Africa and this is the worst rip off I have ever had and am surprized that those writing reviews do not be more discerning in their taste and stay away from such a terrible place. Dont be fooled by the charm.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main house that is even worse than the main place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loveoftravel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

A BIG BIG thank you to Marguerite from LA PROVENCE D’AFRIQUE in the MAGALIESBURG for a magical experience.
This was such a soulful weekend with all the small touches lovingly put together to bring a small piece of France to us, set in the quaintest French street café with lovely music that created the perfect atmosphere.
A fabulous stone therapy massage really put us in heaven and with a delicious cheese platter, blanket and a bottle of wine we felt completely pampered.
Go and book ‘une affaire française’ for your most romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
306 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
462 reviews
14.9 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Provence D'Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Provence D'Afrique

Property: La Provence D'Afrique
Address: R24, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Provence d`Afrique Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing