We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Huge Surpise"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magaliesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Provence D'Afrique
Ranked #3 of 10 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was "surprised" by my husband with a Romantic Valentines weekend getaway, well what a surprise it was. When we arrived on the Friday afternoon, we where welcomed and escorted to our choice of two rooms in a cottage next to the river. The first one had a bedroom upstairs (very steep staircase) so I opted for the room next door. The doll house, after looking around the host Jeremiah could see I was not happy with the room at all. It was cold, felt damp, stained bath overall feel was not good at all and dolls everywhere like something out of a horror movie. Jeremiah suggested I take a look at a room in the main building. I loved it, the room was light spacious clean and pretty, we moved our things and got ready for dinner. Dinner was amazing I loved the the decor the idea and the entire set up with baskets being served etc fabulous dinner. The food was great everything was perfect up until this point. We got no sleep that night, firstly the fan in our room wouldn't switch off after trying everything we eventually had to get Jeremiah and someone from maintenance to sort it out. Then the sounds from our neighbors kept us up til around 3, they had the radio going (they provided in the rooms) not quiet sure what they where getting upto "can only imagine" but thought it was really inconsiderate of them seriously! there should be a rule or something do what you have to but remember the walls are thin really thin!!. Never the less we where up dressed and ready to leave by 7am. We where so tired I could wait to get home, this was with out a doubt my worst weekend away thank goodness it only lasted 15 hours. Todate we have not received a email, phone call or message from the owner asking us why we left.

Guess that's why we have a platform like this Thanks Tripadvisor!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarciaT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

We heard about this place from a colleague and decided to give it a shot for the weekend. What an escape it was! It's just of the main Jhb road if you're heading to Jhb from Rustenburg on the R24.

The location is serene. It gives you a true feeling of escape from the city life. The French themed decor set the tone for our first year anniversary :)

Our host Jeremiah ensured that we were well taken care of..but our most enjoyed part were the breakfasts by the river...wow!

Do not think twice if you intend on spoiling your significant other for the weekend :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We tried the weekend special at La Provence. What a beautiful venue, built to resemble a French village square, with tables and chairs, a fountain and beautiful murals on the walls. The suites are through wood and stained glass doors, straight off the 'square'. Everything is olde world, so if you want glitz and glass this is not for you! Each room has a fireplace for burning logs but it's summer, so we didn't try that. Our shower was a circular tin bath with a curtain, just like those old posters. We had breakfast each day under willow trees next to the river and had Friday dinner 'from a basket' in the square. This was great - a great big basket full of goodies that we ate at our leisure. On Saturday night you are on your own, so you can visit one of the many restaurants in the area or La Provence will prepare a cheese platter of a dinner basket for you (we ate at Goblins Cove). The 'bar' is an old French truck with an open side - charming. The staff are excellent and Jeremiah (Jerry) is outstanding. Marguerite and Charles visit each table at breakfast and pass a little time with guests. Charles has an amazing array of antiques in the old house, which is like a museum itself. And we were lucky enough to visit the weekend that a slo food market was on, so had a little local microbrewery ale and bought free range eggs, garlic, chicken, port and more. A truly relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Each suite is different - Le Petit Chambre (I think) looks the best. L'Oliviere is a little dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My hubby and I spent his 50th birthday at La Provence D’ Afrique in Magaliesburg in the Le Petit Boudoir Suite. What a magical weekend it was. We travelled back in time and found ourselves captured in the moment as our imaginations whisked us away. Thank you Marguerite, Jeremiah, Sinah, and team for your wonderful hospitality and friendly disposition. The service was exquisite and the place impeccable!
Our journey from beginning to end was filled with surprises and absolute wonder. Upon arrival, Jeremiah showed us to our suite and explained that our massages at the forest spa had been booked for us. Before the spa, Leon and I had the option of lunch at Goblin’s Cove Restaurant or a cheese platter. We opted for the cheese platter, which we enjoyed beside one of the many fireplaces within the indoor quaint café.
Our stone body massage was most relaxing. For dinner we were presented with a hot delectable three-course dinner basket, which we enjoyed in the privacy of our suite diner, filled with stained windows imported from France. Breakfast was served in the main house filled with intrigue and timeless antique pieces. Our famous Charles Gotthard who has an imagination that is able to transport visitors into another era does the buildings and artwork.
Our memories of our stay at Le Petit Boudoir will travel with us until we pass your way again for yet a new chapter of our many travels. La Provence D’ Afrique is a special place for special and every day occasions! www.laprovencedafrique.co.za. The many guests we came across were of the same opinion as they left with stars in their eyes and smiles on their faces!
Thank-you TEAM for memorable memories!

Stay well and be blessed until we meet again
Deborah and Leon Wollnik.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My husband and I would like to compliment and recommend this stablishment for their amazing service/staff and attention to our needs and details. We spent the weekend there a couple of weeks ago and due to the weather being misreable we had such a cozy and romantic time. The fire was lit and we were informed before the time that we would be charged a small fee for firewood which I felt was fair due to the fact that people misuse these items. Jerimiah was and absolute treat and made us feel like a king and queen. As for Marguerite, the fact that as the owner she took the time to chat to us at breakfast and made sure that we were happy and had everything we needed was refreshing and should that she cares about her guest. The antique looking linen and ambiance made us feel as if we'd been transported back in time. Thank you for making our weekend a dream and we will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the perfect weekend getaway from Johannesburg or Pretoria, especially for couples looking for a romantic weekend. It's also a different experience to the usual weekend away!
We phoned for a booking at the last minute & the owner organised a beautiful room for us as part of "Spring Special" they are currently running. This was after phoning a number of other establishments in the Magaliesburg/Hartebeespoort area & not finding any vacancies - thanks to wedding season of course ;)

Pros:
Value - we took a 2 night weekend package in one of their thatch cottages, that included 2 breakfasts, 1 dinner & a hot stone massage for both of us. The special was such good value for money & it would be hard to find the same type of package for the same price, elsewhere!
Hospitality - we were so impressed with the friendly owner & all the staff. Every single member of staff that we met was friendly, helpful & had a positive attitude - they clearly enjoy working there.
Location - so close to Jhb & Pta, but you feel so secluded in the rather tree-filled spot that it feels like you're far away from the busy cities. There's loads of stuff to do in the area in terms of the Magalies Meander & such. There's also a pub 500m up the road.
Venue - the property features some beautifully renovated buildings with lots of trees around, so peace & seclusion is what you get. The rooms inside the main building are simply sublime & they enclose the dinning area. The outdoor bar is actually an old vehicle that has been converted into a quaint bar & you sit at tables next to the vehicle. There are loads of antiques in the buildings & around the property, so the place has tons of character.
Rooms - the thatch cottages offer privacy & the extra comforts of a fireplace, balcony & loft. The main rooms offer French luxury & decor. I loved the look of the main rooms & if you want to spoil someone & have a romantic weekend, those rooms are perfect!
Food - the food was sublime! The 3-course dinner on Friday night came in a picnic basket, which was unusual & so quaint. The food was a full hot meal & we sat inside the stunning indoor dining area that feels like a French street cafe. Breakfast on the Saturday morning was great, with pastries, hot food & such. This was served down by the river from 9-11am - so you can lie in, in the mornings for a change!
Saturday evening they booked us a table at nearby Goblin's Cove - which they also own. The food was excellent & it was nice not to have a long drive back to the room. Goblin's Cove is a really magical place & definitely worth a visit.
Sunday breakfast arrived in a picnic basket again & was served by the river. Aside from the set meals, we also ordered a great cheese platter which was really good. Their drinks are well-priced too.
Facilities - the spa is a great option & their treatments are well-priced. The therapists are lovely ladies.

Cons:
Not many here & only small things.
Rooms: the thatch cottages can get a little chilly BUT they have fireplaces & once the staff have lit the fire, they warm up really well (R50 charge for the staff to light the fire for you). Water pressure in the thatch cottage bathroom isn't that good, so a bath takes a while to run - no shower head in the bathroom. The wooden stairs up to the bedroom can be a bit tricky.

Overall we loved the place & will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you're looking for the ultimate in privacy, ask for a cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supaflyza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

More 2 star than 3... the rooms alhtough beatiful were not very clean. pillowcase was burnt, linen not washed, bath was dirty.
- heard every "porno" sound the couple next door made at 1 am
- rooms close to the main road
- Picnic basket dinner and breakfasts were great and good food.
- Massage was great but lying on an already oiled up towl was gross.

spend the extra money and go to Mount grace

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SharelSophos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laprov, Owner at La Provence D'Afrique, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Bonjour,
I would like to respond to this review as this establishment is our pride and run and managed by me personally.We pride ourselves in our product and I simply will not ever use dirty linnen-- we do use a dark cream flanel linnen, especially in winer or on cold evenings?? But NEVER would I have a dirty bath or dirty linnen!!.
I challenge guests to confront us with these problems directly on the weekend, then it can be looked at and hopefully rectified.
I am there every morning personally for breakfast,and then work the breakfast tables to find out how guests are enjoying themselves-- once they've gone and become a nameless review-- one has not got a leg to stand on with staff or to refund or move them to something else more suitable to their needs etc.My staff CLEANS the suites every morning?
Because we are such a different and personal venue-- constructive critism or suggestions are always welcome -- but not such destructive unfair critisism that only gets to you via new guests or
weeks afterwards-- when its to late!!
Because it's such a unique and creative venue some guests might find certain things such as the floors or showers looking untidy but that's been antiqued to give an old authentic feeling -- and after being in PROVENCE -- FRANCE several times and with my husband being the inhouse decorator and wellknown sculptor we have been complimented on the authentic feel that we have achieved.

OWNER & manager-- MARGUERITE GOTTHARD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
2.9 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
530 reviews
7.8 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Provence D'Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Provence D'Afrique

Address: R24, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Provence d`Afrique Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing