We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Provence D'Afrique
Nearby Hotels
Valley Lodge & Spa(Magaliesburg)
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Budmarsh Country Lodge(Magaliesburg)
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
De Hoek Country Hotel(Magaliesburg)
US$219
US$207
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magalies Manor Hotel(Magaliesburg)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maropeng Boutique Hotel(Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
63
25
11
10
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
25
11
10
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhot stone massageromantic weekendpicnic basketstreet cafefrench affairthemed decorcheese platterattention to detailcar washwhite linenfriendly and professional staffhoneymoon suitemanor houseout of this worldwedding anniversarythe hustle and bustle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Someone broke into our room and stole our cellphones, clothes,smashed our car window. The rooms are dirty and linen have a weird smell, toilet smells everytime u flush. Pathetic and disgusting place. Don't be fooled by pictures in the internet

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nandi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I was "surprised" by my husband with a Romantic Valentines weekend getaway, well what a surprise it was. When we arrived on the Friday afternoon, we where welcomed and escorted to our choice of two rooms in a cottage next to the river. The first one had a bedroom upstairs (very steep staircase) so I opted for the room next door. The doll house, after looking around the host Jeremiah could see I was not happy with the room at all. It was cold, felt damp, stained bath overall feel was not good at all and dolls everywhere like something out of a horror movie. Jeremiah suggested I take a look at a room in the main building. I loved it, the room was light spacious clean and pretty, we moved our things and got ready for dinner. Dinner was amazing I loved the the decor the idea and the entire set up with baskets being served etc fabulous dinner. The food was great everything was perfect up until this point. We got no sleep that night, firstly the fan in our room wouldn't switch off after trying everything we eventually had to get Jeremiah and someone from maintenance to sort it out. Then the sounds from our neighbors kept us up til around 3, they had the radio going (they provided in the rooms) not quiet sure what they where getting upto "can only imagine" but thought it was really inconsiderate of them seriously! there should be a rule or something do what you have to but remember the walls are thin really thin!!. Never the less we where up dressed and ready to leave by 7am. We where so tired I could wait to get home, this was with out a doubt my worst weekend away thank goodness it only lasted 15 hours. Todate we have not received a email, phone call or message from the owner asking us why we left.

Guess that's why we have a platform like this Thanks Tripadvisor!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarciaT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We heard about this place from a colleague and decided to give it a shot for the weekend. What an escape it was! It's just of the main Jhb road if you're heading to Jhb from Rustenburg on the R24.

The location is serene. It gives you a true feeling of escape from the city life. The French themed decor set the tone for our first year anniversary :)

Our host Jeremiah ensured that we were well taken care of..but our most enjoyed part were the breakfasts by the river...wow!

Do not think twice if you intend on spoiling your significant other for the weekend :)

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Georgie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We tried the weekend special at La Provence. What a beautiful venue, built to resemble a French village square, with tables and chairs, a fountain and beautiful murals on the walls. The suites are through wood and stained glass doors, straight off the 'square'. Everything is olde world, so if you want glitz and glass this is not for you! Each room has a fireplace for burning logs but it's summer, so we didn't try that. Our shower was a circular tin bath with a curtain, just like those old posters. We had breakfast each day under willow trees next to the river and had Friday dinner 'from a basket' in the square. This was great - a great big basket full of goodies that we ate at our leisure. On Saturday night you are on your own, so you can visit one of the many restaurants in the area or La Provence will prepare a cheese platter of a dinner basket for you (we ate at Goblins Cove). The 'bar' is an old French truck with an open side - charming. The staff are excellent and Jeremiah (Jerry) is outstanding. Marguerite and Charles visit each table at breakfast and pass a little time with guests. Charles has an amazing array of antiques in the old house, which is like a museum itself. And we were lucky enough to visit the weekend that a slo food market was on, so had a little local microbrewery ale and bought free range eggs, garlic, chicken, port and more. A truly relaxing and enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Each suite is different - Le Petit Chambre (I think) looks the best. L'Oliviere is a little dark but still excellent.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

My hubby and I spent his 50th birthday at La Provence D’ Afrique in Magaliesburg in the Le Petit Boudoir Suite. What a magical weekend it was. We travelled back in time and found ourselves captured in the moment as our imaginations whisked us away. Thank you Marguerite, Jeremiah, Sinah, and team for your wonderful hospitality and friendly disposition. The service was exquisite and the place impeccable!
Our journey from beginning to end was filled with surprises and absolute wonder. Upon arrival, Jeremiah showed us to our suite and explained that our massages at the forest spa had been booked for us. Before the spa, Leon and I had the option of lunch at Goblin’s Cove Restaurant or a cheese platter. We opted for the cheese platter, which we enjoyed beside one of the many fireplaces within the indoor quaint café.
Our stone body massage was most relaxing. For dinner we were presented with a hot delectable three-course dinner basket, which we enjoyed in the privacy of our suite diner, filled with stained windows imported from France. Breakfast was served in the main house filled with intrigue and timeless antique pieces. Our famous Charles Gotthard who has an imagination that is able to transport visitors into another era does the buildings and artwork.
Our memories of our stay at Le Petit Boudoir will travel with us until we pass your way again for yet a new chapter of our many travels. La Provence D’ Afrique is a special place for special and every day occasions! www.laprovencedafrique.co.za. The many guests we came across were of the same opinion as they left with stars in their eyes and smiles on their faces!
Thank-you TEAM for memorable memories!

Stay well and be blessed until we meet again
Deborah and Leon Wollnik.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews