We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect 'Time out' destination....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Provence D'Afrique

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magaliesburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Provence D'Afrique
Ranked #4 of 11 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect 'Time out' destination....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I fell inlove with this place. I needed time out from the johannesburg madness and found this gem last minute. I was treated so well, the staff were fantastic. I was nervous to go away on my own but it was well worth it, i was made to feel very safe and the 2 beautiful dogs slept outside my cottage door. The food was great! Big portions! The picnic baskets are very nice! And the river is lovely. My partner joined me on my last night and they surprised me by giving us the honeymoon suite. Very sweet. This is value for money and i will be going back. Perfect little break away destination for a time out. Not far from JHB either! The downside would be the back massage, it wasnt worth the price. But in such a tranquil quiant setting i didnt really need it to relax anyway. Beautiful cottage as well. There was quite a bit of road traffiic noise at night with trucks passing by, however it wasnt to bad that it kept me awake. If you need a break from the rat race and to gather your thoughts or to spend time with your loved one then this is the place!

Room Tip: Request a cottage not a room in the guest lodge. The cottages are much more beautiful and a bit quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    20
    8
    9
    23
See reviews for
9
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randfontein
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Wanted to try this establishment for some time. Was not disappointed at all! The highlight was most definitely the picnic spots down by the river. On new years eve we had a bottle of ice cold champagne with our picnic basket! We had beautiful weather and could make full use of the tranqiulity besides the river. We stayed in one of the cottages which is very small but relatively private. We were able to have a look at all the rooms in the house. They are all beautifylly decorated! Thank you Margerite for accommodating us at such short notice! Jeremia made us feel at home and attended to every need. Will most definitely go here again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hermien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Beautiful venue and Spa. However this was ruined by the night of little sleep due to the noise from the road. The ear plugs on the bed side table should have been a warning. For a day visit to the spa and cocktails next to the river well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Recently we travelled to Pilanesberg and searched for an interesting place to stay over. We were fortunate to get a reservation at La Provence D'Afrique in Magaliesberg and arrived there late on a fairly cold Friday evening. Jeremiah welcomed us and took us to our room (the honeymoon suite as a surprise!) where a lovely fire awaited us. Then we were spoilt with a hearty dinner-in-a-basket and a bottle of wine! This in a town where we could not get a restaurant open at that time - thank you Marguerite and Jeremiah for the extra trouble! The next morning Jeremiah were up and ready to serve us a wonderful breakfast at tables next to the river - what a beautiful setting! We were impressed with the attention to detail, friendliness and overall quality of service and food and would highly recommend this establishment. Marquerite, we enjoyed the chat with you at the breakfast table - the way we immediately felt like old friends were the cherry on top of a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The entire experience was disappointing.
- Accommodation was shocking
o Dirty
o No hot watter
o Freezing
- Service
o Terrible
o Slow
o Had to beg for extra wood and Ice
o Except for a waiter named Innocent.
- Food
o Was a joke
 Soup was tasteless
 Chicken Pie portion was tiny for two people
 Malva Pudding - dry
- Price
o Way over priced

My suggestion would be to look somewhere else, we spoke to a few locals and they told us that there are far better places at cheaper prices. Don’t waste your time !!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tyron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaliesburg hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and I decided on the spur of the moment to get away for a few days, and thank goodness we found La Provence! What an amazing, restful, rejuvenating experience. If you are looking for super-tubes, shiny plastic furnishings and other mod cons, this is not for you. If you want atmosphere, romance and 5-star service, I would highly recommend La Provence. Thank you to Margeurite, Jeremia and the team. We will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBotha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Someone broke into our room and stole our cellphones, clothes,smashed our car window. The rooms are dirty and linen have a weird smell, toilet smells everytime u flush. Pathetic and disgusting place. Don't be fooled by pictures in the internet

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nandi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
19.7 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Provence D'Afrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Provence D'Afrique

Property: La Provence D'Afrique
Address: R24, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Provence d`Afrique Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing