We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phumza Capa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The place was just excellent, the service was great. We wished we could have stayed longer, we will definitely go back and refer other family members and friends. Its definitely much better that a hotel.

Thank you for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phumza C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed in quite a few Lodges in the Magaliesberg area, but this was an experience we will never forget. Going back in December 2013, and regularly thereafterThe accommodation is more than a 4* Star Rating. Absolutely provide everything you possibly need. Very clean and tidy. The hosts Judy & Yossie, absolutely make you feel at home, like you own the place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Memory & Carol/... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The service was excellent as well as the warm welcome we received upon arrival. The place was also immaculate and the serenity of the place was mesmerizing. We enjoyed spending hours on the patio staring at Magaliesberg and just getting lost in time. Next time we will make it a longer stay as the weekend was a bit short. This is definitely a place to recommend if you need a place just to relax and not do anything and to get away from the buzz of city life.


  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Claudia & Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Brilliant facility, nice scenery, fantastic hospitality and everything that you need for a good and peacefule stay. Owners became friends just after 4 days and we are definately planning our next visit. the new Greek chalets is very beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jannie & Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I were looking for a trip away from all the hustle n bustle of city life... Blue Roan was our perfect choice and we loved the environment & friendliness of staff. Judy Grant is a wonderful host. We will definitely be back and will highly recommend The Blue Roan

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Serena & Roland N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is our second visit to the Blue Roan and yet again it was wonderful.

Judy handled our booking quickly and replied with info of the area and what we can expect and do. The unit was clean and very well equiped.

Our corgi's enjoyed running in the big open area's as well as talking to the horses that came to visit.

We will be back soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Acacia room again, it is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terencetobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely place, the rooms were really lovely, each with their own unique theme. We stayed in the Mexican loft which was divine! It felt like home I must say. The owners were very welcoming and sweet the entire time. However, there are five dogs on the property that belong to the main house ranging from small to really big and all they do is run at you and bark like crazy whenever you walk out or near them. It's very unpleasant. Anyone with a fear of dogs wouldn't cope! The lady didn't seem to realise that it was very invasive and I was scared out of my wits! So, we avoided the pool area because of it and just kept to ourselves at our loft, which again I must say, is lovely! I just wish she'd keep the dogs seperate so that the guests could have more freedom to roam around the property which is why you're there. To relax. Apart from that, a great place. Great escape from the city. Won't return, but only because of those dogs!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zef_pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
5.7 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
5.5 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
4.9 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
531 reviews
5.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
278 reviews
12.4 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Roan Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Roan Country Lodge

Address: Koster Rd | 7. 8km From Magaliesburg, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa (Formerly Blue Roan Guest Farm)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £63 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Roan Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star graded luxurious self catering. The units are very spacious with LED/LCD TV, DSTV, fireplace and fully equipped kitchenette. All self catering units have jacuzzi baths and DVD players. The view from the wooden deck and the units overlook rolling green lawns, peaceful horse paddocks and the beautiful Magaliesberg mountains, We offer stunning rock swimming pool and abundant bird life and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Roan Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing