We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Blue Roan for our 30th wedding aniversary, and we took our little dog for his first holiday. We stayed in Arcacia room which was wonderful, nice big garden, everything was very clean and had everything you needed, loved the indoor log fire, the walks and nice big verandah for sundowners. i chose the Arcacia room after viewing tripadvisor before I booked, I viewed all other doggie places in the area and by the reviews Blue Roan came up tops for me. The hosts were very helpful, my husband arranged with the owners to have roses and wine in the room when we got there, which they did to perfection. I am sure we will be back for a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juliep924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    46
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
218
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kempton Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

An absolutely stunning venue with a calm and quiet atmosphere and extremely friendly hosts, the animals were friendly with the horses giving you a relaxed feeling. The view of your surrounding nature was amazing.
A simple way to sum it up, Wow what a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe & Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely spa bath, comfy bed, well kept, pretty garden. The dogs loved the trip. We completely relaxed and it was a romantic setting which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was wonderful seeing that the dogs were completely secure and free to roam the enclosed garden without us needing to worry about their safety.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liesl-Callum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were very well catered for at Blue Roan. The cottages were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We also had a large fenced off garden area which allowed for more privacy. Although fairly chilly around April the fire place made our stay very cosy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa & Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is really a wonderful place for a breakaway from the city. Very unique in decor and Judy and
Joe are the best hosts you can ask for. Loved the horses , the spa bath and the general hospitality. I''ll recoomend it to anyone. Will be back :):)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilzedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springs, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

we had a great welcoming, people are very friendly, place is neat and clean and beautiful, if i knew about this place before i would have had my renewing of wedding vows there, love the dogs and cants and the horses are so pretty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 721sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The chalet was beautiful and the surround was serene. Judy and Joe together with their gorgeous dogs were very welcoming. Jacuzzi bath and laying in hammock were our highlights! Was an amazing getaway and will go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Melissa & Poove... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.9 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.8 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
13.8 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Roan Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Roan Country Lodge

Property: Blue Roan Country Lodge
Address: Koster Rd (R509) | 7. 8km From Magaliesburg, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa (Formerly Blue Roan Guest Farm)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Roan Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star graded luxurious self catering. The units are very spacious with LED/LCD TV, DSTV, fireplace and fully equipped kitchenette. All self catering units have jacuzzi baths and DVD players. The view from the wooden deck and the units overlook rolling green lawns, peaceful horse paddocks and the beautiful Magaliesberg mountains, We offer stunning rock swimming pool and abundant bird life and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Roan Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing