We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose Blue Roan Country Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Roan Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
1 review
“Choose Blue Roan Country Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Words cannot describe our wonderful stay at Blue Roan Country Lodge. We enjoyed every little thing about it. The Mexican Villa is so beautiful and even looks more prettier than on the website. Perfect hosting and service from Judy. She is so friendly and makes the experience worth while. If you want relaxation and romance, then choose Blue Roan Country Lodge!! Will recommend it to anyone and everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NicoandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    46
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
216
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is my second visit to Blue Roan, and I have to say, it is a fantastic place to getaway. Calm, wonderful scenery, you are instantly at ease and at comfort. Always enjoy the fireplace and at least one braai over a weekend. Can't say enough good things really, just one of those places you have to experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jose & Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My partner and I had the best weekend away at your cottages. Everything met expectations and then some. We will definitely be back within the year to enjoy another cold winter!

Haleigh Crawford & Stuart Gordon

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Haleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

it was a great get away for me and my wife.
just to experience the quietness and breath taking views.
will be going back to enjoy weekend in the different chalets and thanks to judy for making us feel at home

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thabazimbi
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was our first stay in the Greek Villa. We usually stay in the Honeymoon suite but decided to try the Greek Villa. It is surprisingly well equipped and comfortable. Very clean. Little problem with flies but (can posibly be the stables close by).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aubrey & Ayanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The service was great and the hospitality was awesome!
We enjoyed our room (the barn) with the kingsize bed, jacuzzi bath and fireplace.
Located close to loads of activities for those who plan to do more than just unwind!
We really enjoyed taking a long walk in the veld and relaxing at the benches at various points.
Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 943rudid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was just what we needed a quiet restful weekend away from the city.
We enjoyed the hospitality and found Judy to be very friendly and accommodating.
The room was very neat and tidy with excellent furnishing.
The animals were very entertaining and made us feel at home.
Thanks again Judy for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.7 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
1.4 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
4.4 mi away
Olive Tree Farm
Olive Tree Farm
#2 of 11 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Roan Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Roan Country Lodge

Property: Blue Roan Country Lodge
Address: Koster Rd (R509) | 7. 8km From Magaliesburg, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa (Formerly Blue Roan Guest Farm)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Roan Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star graded luxurious self catering. The units are very spacious with LED/LCD TV, DSTV, fireplace and fully equipped kitchenette. All self catering units have jacuzzi baths and DVD players. The view from the wooden deck and the units overlook rolling green lawns, peaceful horse paddocks and the beautiful Magaliesberg mountains, We offer stunning rock swimming pool and abundant bird life and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Roan Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing