We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doggy Heaven”
Review of Stone Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stone Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent a glorious weekend at Stone Hill for my husband's birthday with our 6 of our friends and a total of 11 dogs. We booked out 4 units for the weekend. The units are very private and beautifully appointed, catering for every self-catering need... The walks are lovely and the dogs had a blast running wild and swimming in the river. Unrivalled hospitality!! Our weekend was perfect in every possible way... not even the rain managed to spoil our fun. Can't wait to go back to Stone Hill:))

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IselleCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited Stone Hill Lodge for the 1st time 3 weeks ago on our monthly get away. The cottage was very intimate yet spacious, the rooms have a classic elegance to them & the bathrooms very modern. The layout of the Lodge is very scenic with lovely walks with picturesque views. A wonderful Establishment in a gorgeous setting and welcoming hosts; you would be pressed to find fault here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

What a pleasure it was to enjoy the bush with our dogs! The accommodation was simple yet more than adequate and quite spotless! The dogs were secure outside the cottage in their own beautiful patch of garden. It would be very easy to make Stone Hill a regular break.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda & Pete F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Situated within easy reach of Johannesburg this is a great weekend retreat! We were made to feel most welcome from the minute we arrived with personalized attention from Caroline and Mark. Our cottage was private, comfortable and well equipped. We loved the walks around the property and it was a joy to watch our dog bounding off leash ahead of us. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamelilyForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is our 3rd Visit to Stone Hill, again Caroline & Mark made us very comfortable and the New Years day party was a great get together for all the "Stone Hillers", we all made new friends, to have your dogs with you is the cherry on the cake, they all (4) love the walks around the property. if you are looking for a stay within 1 hour of Joburg and want to take your dogs believe me, look no further

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Peter & Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a wonderful time away especially because our dogs were with us and not only were the facilities well equipped for us, but most importantly for our dogs. The owners provide a personal touch to your visit and were friendly and accommodating which left a great lasting impression. We would definitely go back and recommend Stone-Hill.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank DarrynLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The hosts, Caroline and Mark, were extremely friendly and made us feel really special. The accommodation was of a high standard, very clean and well-kept. So surprised to find that literally everything was in the unit (including paper towels, scissors, braai tongs and a "poop-scoop"). Definitely one of the best places I have visited. The best part for me was that our dogs could join us. They thoroughly enjoyed the daily walks. We were all so sad to leave, but we will be back as soon and as often as we can :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
2.3 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#1 of 29 in Magaliesburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill

Address: Farm KN 13 | Steenekoppies, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £70 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Stone Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing