We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stone Hill
Nearby Hotels
Budmarsh Country Lodge(Magaliesburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
De Hoek Country Hotel(Magaliesburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valley Lodge & Spa(Magaliesburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magalies Manor Hotel(Magaliesburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maropeng Boutique Hotel(Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
215
43
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
43
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshetland poniesthorn treewalking trailsfarm breadthe river walkwonderful hostsfriendly venuefriendly receptionloved the freedomthe cottagesenclosed gardendog loversrelaxing weekendpet friendly placeabsolutely everythingrun freelog cabin
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Mark and Caroline de Villiers are wonderful hosts. The units are very well equipped and are comfortable and clean. We throughly enjoy our time there and Mayday (the Newfoundland) loves the walks and swimming in the river.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stonehill is situated close to Magalies town so if you run out of anything or forgot something, it is quick to buy. But it is also quite remote that you feel like you are really in the middle of nowhere, perfect for a relaxing weekend away from the city. I love the fact that we could bring our dog and she loved it. The cottage was a little small but nothing to stop us from staying there again with four people. Very well stocked with crockery, cutlery and cooking tools. Just the dish washing liquid was not very effective and I had to use the one I brought with. I would highly recommend Stonehill.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent the weekend at StoneHill. What an awesome place.. Had the best getaway experience in Magaliesburg. We could take our Two 4 legged children with and they had so much fun. Very private with own garden. Thanks Caroline, enjoyed the farm bread and fresh eggs. See you guys soon.

Christo and Phillip

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marriot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We spent a glorious weekend at Stone Hill for my husband's birthday with our 6 of our friends and a total of 11 dogs. We booked out 4 units for the weekend. The units are very private and beautifully appointed, catering for every self-catering need... The walks are lovely and the dogs had a blast running wild and swimming in the river. Unrivalled hospitality!! Our weekend was perfect in every possible way... not even the rain managed to spoil our fun. Can't wait to go back to Stone Hill:))

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IselleCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited Stone Hill Lodge for the 1st time 3 weeks ago on our monthly get away. The cottage was very intimate yet spacious, the rooms have a classic elegance to them & the bathrooms very modern. The layout of the Lodge is very scenic with lovely walks with picturesque views. A wonderful Establishment in a gorgeous setting and welcoming hosts; you would be pressed to find fault here!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews