We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of Stone Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stone Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“great stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

we had a lovely stay. One night was not enough. It was lovely to have some peace and quiet after a rather busy week. So nice to have every available and well organised. The electric blankets were a welcome comfort.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank thancox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
110
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We made a last minute booking to get out of the city for the weekend and were lucky to get the last cottage available. Had a wonderfully relaxing weekend and the dogs really enjoyed being able to run unfettered on the 5km walk. Was a bit chilly and windy but we made a big fire both nights and were very comfortable. Caroline and Mark the most wonderful hosts. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Stone Hill and was equally enjoyable. Although it was chilly and windy, we still had an excellent stay away from busy roads and buildings. Joey loved her trip and is slowly getting used to the ponies... next time they might even be friends :)

Mr & Mrs Naidoo

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_The_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was our third stay at StoneHill. Once again it was a wonderful time away from our normal busy lives in Joburg. The cottages are clean & well maintained and equipped with everything we need. We enjoyed the enlarged bathroom! The icy wind made us deceide against the garden shower! Stephen & Ruby

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen & Ruby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We are one of the family and thoroughly enjoy our stays. Our dogs Max, Sian and Apple love it here and being able to run and walk without a lead is very special to us all. Caroline and Mark are the most heartwarming people and welcome us with open arms. We look forward to our next visit. Warm regards, Mike and Linda Boast

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MikeLindaBoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Caroline is a really hospitable host and we really enjoyed our relaxing stay. The chalets were fully equipped fortunately as we had left things at home. Our pets loved the place and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael & Sasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hi, This is second toime we have stayed at Stonehill and found it to be a great place to relax and walk our Dog Tulip. The facilities are excellent and the welcome is very friendly. We have found a gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
2.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
461 reviews
1.1 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.0 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#1 of 26 in Magaliesburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Hill

Property: Stone Hill
Address: Farm KN 13 | Steenekoppies, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stone Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Stone Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing