We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Wine tasting was such fun where i learnt so much i never knew before.What an amazing place! The food was a journey beyond my wildest dreams! Will definitely be back! Crisp linen was my favorite. I cannot wait to see what the Christmas lunch holds.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellsyoungleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the wine-tasting organized by your company. It was wonderful for the Lodge staff to host a group of dedicated and fun-loving professionals who are able to appreciate good food and wine. We hope to see you often in 2013 as you celebrate yet more achievements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    64
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
166
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We had our wine club Christmas party here and have to say the food was excellent, as was the ambience in the wine cellar, however despite an incredibly comprehensive cellar there was no somelier to advise on the food pairing and no sign of managment until the next day. The bedrooms are really beautiful but the bathrooms need to be refurbished our shower didnt work and the toilet didn't flush properly. The staff were very friendly but did not seem to be properly trained for a 5 star hotel, when we asked for some nibbles with our drinks before dinner they said nothing was available and then brought us some fatty frozen biltong. The service at breakfast was simply shocking, we had to wait an hour for our food and then many of the guests got the wrong order. We only saw the manager once and that was from afar.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
We are glad that you found the food excellent. Our Executive Chef enjoyed speaking to your group and discussing the food with those who were interested. Because you were from a wine club the incorrect assumption was made that your group would not want additional information on the wine; in addition no pairing had been requested. Jacob was your waiter and our guests invariably rave about his service so we are sorry that your experience was different. We will certainly look into the breakfast service levels and thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are disappointed that you were disappointed as Budmarsh strives to provide good service in spite of being in the country where access to certain skill levels can be a challenge. Generally, our staff try very hard to please the guests and we share your disappointment that you found them to be wanting in their endeavours. They too are disappointed with the review and will continue to try to reach consistently excellent levels of service appropriate for a five star lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

I visited the lodge for a workshop with clients. Tranquil setting, very friendly staff, spacious rooms, great food and wine, nice conference facility for workshops at a reasonable price - an overall great experience not too far away from Joburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Verena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your conference was a fruitful one. The positive comments about the staff mean a great deal to them. We value your support and hope to see you at Budmarsh again, not only for conferences but also for a break from the demands of work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Budmarsh isn't "over the hills and far away" - in fact, its close proximity to Johannesburg is one of its great advantages. But as soon as you turn off the tarmac onto the short farm road with the contented Friesand herd on your left, and then pass through the gates into the enchanted garden - you're "beamed me up Scotty" far away from it all! I know Budmash as a super conference venue from several visits in the past, but this leisure variation on the theme was a whole new experience. Shereen and I needed a few days of the two Ps badly: peace and pamper! And Budmarsh satisfied this need beyond our expectation - and that doesn't happen too often these days, when, more often than not, reality lets your dreams down somewhat. Budmarsh creates an ambience that it would be difficult to design with analytical intent - some things like this just come together and happen. The staff are passionate about their work and the place - and that's not just executive chef Chris and his crew (who are very special!), but Jacob the guest relations manager, Johan his side-kick, Jane the waitress, and on and on ...... including, of course, Annetjie the GM and Tracy back at the office. This is such a blessing that many corporates would kill for! The room we had was spacious, airy "with a view", and everything worked - including satisfaction of one of my travel paranoias that the shower should "shower" with enthusiasm! Add the elegant lounge and tranquil gardens and all the ingredients are there for a perfect breakaway - which it was! And, talking of ingredients, the fine dining at Budmarsh was a highlight. One can almost sense the passion Chris and his team have for their mission in life (not just a job, obviously), and add to this obvious master-chef expertise and you're in for a unique culinary experience: with the cherry on the top the chat with the maestro at the end of it all! We were so sad to wrnch ourselves away when the time came to leave (we delayed this as much as possible by staying for lunch, having to return for binoculars left behind (accident?). We'll be back!

Room Tip: Main building rooms are very stately and have direct access to the lounge, library, dining room etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for your very well-penned and thoughtful review. Thank you too for appreciating our key asset at Budmarsh - our awesome staff. Chris is so talented; Jacob a man of much humanity and Annatjie a GM who cares. Tracy is meticulous in trying to address the needs and expectations of guests prior to their arrival. We look forward to welcoming you again at Budmarsh and we hope you feel revitalised and ready to enjoy the final phase of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Our weekend 'began' the moment we turned off the tarred road and sensed the peace and tranquility of the farmland around us, enhanced by the lush green drive from the Budmarsh entrance to the parking area. The lodge is stately, yet warm and welcoming, and offers one a sense of 'alone time' and refuelling, with plenty of secluded benches or spots where nature seems to enfold you. The gardens are neatly kept, yet welcoming and natural - clumps of lilies in ponds, birdlife, gently flowing water - and because of it's layout, not too much human traffic to mar the peace. My husband chose this venue especially to entertain my 'foodie' inclinations, and I was not disappointed! The food is not only beautifully presented, but well flavoured down to every garnish, more than adequate, and planned and prepared with much passion by Chef Chris and his team. We took up the offer of 'meet the chef if you have questions', and were delighted not only by the enthusiasm of Chef Chris, but also by his willingness to share his expertise. Thank you also to Manager Annatjie for so obligingly arranging the 'meeting', & for constantly being on hand to check on the satisfaction of the guests. Every staff member was polite, friendly, and willing to be of service to meet every reasonable request - thank you to every one of you - our weekend surpassed our expectation.........and yes, I certainly would return particularly for the superb menu!

Room Tip: We found the room next to the conference venue great over the weekend - no conference, so you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review, Lorraine. We really hope you will return soon as Chris has a few new recipes he has been working on. We would love to host you again and perhaps you can persuade Chris to design a tasting menu specifically for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stilfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

My husband & I have spent four weekends so far at Budmarsh, two of them at Christmas,2010 , 2011 & hopefully 2012. We are an older couple with no family in SA,as our children and their families live in England. Having said that Christmas at Budmarsh for us now, is like being with family.The staff are so friendly and what is really important, they remember our names, and it is always"lovely to see you again"-- so nice to be remembered. Annetjie, the general manager is a great GM,nothing is too much trouble and Chris the head chef, what can I say, his meals are superb. At midmorning and tea times there's always lovely treats to eat, so if you go, prepare to put on a few pounds! I must not forget Tracy & co at the JHB booking office they are always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: I haven't mentioned the rooms,- lovely, we prefer being on the ground floor, and always have a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeberdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review and for taking the trouble to write it. We agree that Annatjie and Chris are a superb team! Tracy in Head Office tries hard to ensure the Budmarsh experience is a pleasant one immediately and she tries to accommodate the needs of guests. We look forward to seeing you at Christmas time and being "your other family". If you would like Chris to put something on the Christmas menu especially for you, don't hesitate to let us know. Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Due to an unforeseen circumstance we arrived a day late at Budmarsh Lodge. We specifically requested that we stay the same number of nights, given the long weekend. It was highly disappointing and most inconvenient to have the manager tell us that there was a mix up with bookings and we had to check out the day after we arrived, The lodge has a lovely menu and the rest of the staff were polite and helpful. There is a lot to be desired for a five star lodge that treats guests in a transactional fashion and makes the minimum effort to offer five star service, in a clear misunderstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blissful_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
With all due respect you were booked in on the Wednesday and you arrived on the Friday – two days late on account, you said, of a dentist appointment. Guests are able to extend their bookings if rooms are available but on this particular weekend we were fully booked. There was no muddle up on our side. If you had stayed, and we are glad you wanted to do so, the guests who had booked for the day you were scheduled to depart would have been upset that their accommodation was unavailable. I am sure a person of your status travels widely and stays in many places where bookings are subject to availability and booking dates are respected. We are sorry that we could not accommodate your request for an extended stay and therefore are confused by your rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.6 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
19.9 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#6 of 12 in Rustenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budmarsh Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Property: Budmarsh Country Lodge
Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing