We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If It Wasnt For The Great Food..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great food,great wine and great service. I was just a bit disapointed in our room,expected a bit more from a 5 star lodge. The bath was very small and the television a bit 1980`s. If it wasnt for the great food and service this lodge would have been 4 star. When I asked for my bill at the end of our stay we saw that none of the in-room beverages where charged,so I had to tell them how many we had.

Dont get me wrong, we really enjoyed our weekend. With a bit more focus on the minor detail this lodge could be one of the best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank The_Bouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stunning lodge to relax for a weekend away from the city and a birders paradise. Me and my boyfriend just returned from Budmarsh and really had a wonderful time. The staff is attentive and friendly, the lodge and gardens well looked after and the food top of its class. Wish we could have stayed longer just to enjoy more of the excellent food! We were there over a very cold weekend and they made alot of effort to keep us warm with a nice fire in the main lounge, heated towel rails and electric blankets. The only place I felt cold was in the dining rooms in the evenings where a blanket would have been welcomed. I would love to return Budmarsh in Summer as I think they are better suited as summer getaway venue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miki121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for a warm review!! Winter can be a harsh time and yet Budmarsh seems to be an green oasis in the dry Highveld area during this time. Birds find refuge in our gardens. We are so torn between providing a well heated, energy consuming atmosphere and a "green" energy efficient hotel. Oh dear!! I think every hotel is facing the same challenges. However, we look forward to seeing you again in summer when the Woodlands Kingfisher is a common visitor to our gardens. However, our Diners Club Diamond Award winning cellar will be a chilling 17 degrees!!! So make sure you ask for a blanket if you book a romantic dinner in our cellar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A beautiful 5 star lodge run by extremely friendly and efficient staff. The 6 course dinner was superb, as was the breakfast. If you are looking for a great meal with dishes not often seen on South African menus' then treat yourself to a weekend at Budmarsh. They also have an extremely impressive wine list and cellar. The gardens are beautiful with an abundance of birds. We would definitely recommend Budmarsh if you are looking for a luxury weekend away, We will certainly return the next time we need a relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suen881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Budmarsh is delighted by your review!! Thank you! Botswana is a beautiful country and we appreciate our international travellers who find beauty in our country and our Lodge. Please do come again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My wife and I just spent a wonderful weekend at this lovely country lodge. The service and food were excellent and to spend a lazy afternoon lying on a rug next to the many ponds in the gardens was a real treat. The gardens were beautiful even in winter and with the abundant birdlife were a pleasure to wander around and enjoy. The staff were very attentive and helpful, and Chris the excellent chef was there to discuss his Great creations from the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JeremyC086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are so delighted by your review. We aim to ensure that everyone gets to relax at Budmarsh. Winter can be dry and harsh. However Budmarsh does provide a wonderfully green oasis in our winter-brown Highveld Magaliesberg area.

We love Chris' food as well!! And we like it even more when our guests do!!

See you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We had a two day conference at Budmarsh earlier this year. The venue is lovely and the staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive - I really have to say that the service was excellent! They went out of their way to cater for our every need.The food was also very good.

The conference facilities are excellent - very light, spacious and private.

The only slight downside was that my room was quite small, although it did have a lovely outdoor shower.

I will definetely return, Budmarsh is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are so glad you chose Budmarsh for your conference! Our staff is focused on service and quality and they will appreciate the recognition you have given them. Thank you!

We have a variety of rooms at Budmarsh to suit the various budgetary requirements of our guests. The outdoor showers on the smaller rooms are fun and we hope that it did compensate to some extent for the smaller room size! When we see you again, we need to get you into one of our other rooms!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We booked 2 nights stay at Budmarsh Country Lodge with the idea of treating ourselves to a bit of luxury. We were welcomed as soon as we parked our car and received welcoming drinks at reception. The staff was very friendly, showed us around and then to our room. Our room was one of the smaller ones, but well equipped and generally good quality. The room had underfloor heating making it very cosy for mid-winter. The hotel has a nice lounge area with large fireplace giving extra warmth. Coffee, tea and cookies always available!

The 6-course dinners were simply amazing. Very high attention to detail - it seems the chef took extra care to make each plate perfect. Every item on the plate was an adventure in taste - this is exactly what we expected and even more! The waiters were very friendly and professional, especially Jack who assisted us most of the time. The selection of wines were also very good. The breakfasts were good, but not really much more than you would get at a slightly above average hotel.

We also enjoyed the gardens - very peaceful with some birds giving a bit of life. My only suggestion - they have a few ponds, it would have given something more to the garden if they contained some fish, e.g koi?

Our only complaint would be on our room. The room had only a bath and no shower - this is understandable in a smaller room, but a flexible shower attachment could be added. It was difficult for my wife to wash her hair - she had to was her hair in the basin, which is not very comfortable. One other smallish complaint - on occasions there were some doors banging loudly. Perhaps a bit of foam cushioning would solve this.

But all in all we got exactly what we wanted - a luxury weekend away. We would certainly recommend Budmarsh Country Lodge and will return again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plabusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your positive response and we are glad you enjoyed the weekend! We appreciate the feedback and suggestions - especially the doors!

Unfortunately the weekend you visited us was completely full and the room that was available is the only room without a shower. Next time you visit we will upgrade you to our executive suites at our luxury suite price. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have stayed at Budmarsh before our recent trip in July 2013, and we were quite disappointed at how the lodge, which was a firm favorite of ours last year (Nov/Dec 2012) had suddenly seem to lose its sparkle in the winter. My fiancé had travelled all the way from the UK for a winter weekend breakaway, and we were very excited about our 2 night stay at Budmarsh. Unfortunately things were not as we remembered them... On arrival the previous year we had sparkling wine as a welcome gift in our room, which was a wonderful surprise but this year that had been omitted. Despite that we still loved the room, which was nr 15, the only problem being, it was right above the main dining room and we were kept awake by rowdy customers till after 12 pm every night. Then we booked to have dinner in the wine cellar, but when we arrived as booked at 19h00, the staff had seen to forget about us in there. The manager Jacob did come and apologies profusely after 30 mins, but I wondered why we had bothered to pay R250 extra to sit somewhere romantic when the service was better in the main dining area? There wasn't even a candle on the table! The food was amazing as always, and the chef went above and beyond all expectation with every meal. Overall our stay was pleasant, not what we expected but hopefully this is just a case of winter blues and if we return in Spring to South Africa, it will be much improved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
0.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
2.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 7 in Magaliesburg
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
569 reviews
7.2 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
205 reviews
15.2 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budmarsh Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £122 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing