We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Relaxing Stay, High Tea was Highlight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked this B&B for my wife’s birthday. The drive off the main road was in terrible condition. We almost got stuck a couple of times. They fixed it by the time we left. Just keep in mind that you may need high clearance vehicle if it is raining particularly hard.

The room was nice but it was hard to put a finger on the décor. We had a suite that was quite spacious. Had a large flat screen TV with several channels. There was no iron/ironing board which I typically like to have but there is a lady that does ironing. I guess I would prefer to do it myself.

I highly recommend High Tea! Great selection of tarts, finger sandwiches, scones and éclairs. Nice selection of iced and hot tea. Breakfast was just ok. The 5 course dinners were nice with great presentation. Not the best food I have ever had but a great deal for the all inclusive price.

Overall, we had a good relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Budmarsh Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to escape the city for a couple of nights before our first child is born. We saw that Budmarsh was offering a special which made our stay very affordable.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we felt relaxed. Budmarsh is beautiful! It's so close to Johannesburg that we weren't exhausted after driving there. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are fabulous. There are large, comfy beds and a great gas fire which we lit immediately upon arrival.

Unfortunately the bathrooms have a tired feeling and we both felt that more could be done to make the bathroom more fitting to a 5star establishment. The bathroom was slightly dirty as well and perhaps the cleaning staff should be trained again to clean baths and corners of rooms where cobwebs lurk. The shower had a broken hinge on the door and a few tiles were cracked.
The light outside our room was broken which was very dangerous at night (especially for a pregnant lady) and this is something that should be fixed immediately.
The TV was quite old and buzzed when the volume was up (perhaps upgrading TVs could be on the books, although I know holidays are not for TV watching!)

However, everything else was great. The staff knew I was pregnant and therefore provided a non-alcoholic champagne for me in the fridge. During the amazing amazing meals the chef was aware of what I wasn't allowed to eat and made provision for me as well.

The meals were fantastic, and no amount of words can express how amazing the food was. We even had a picnic under the trees on blankets and cushions with five star food. In fact the food was so good that we couldn't finish our picnic because of the delicious breakfast we had eaten! Dinners were amazing! We were also well impressed with the fact that the staff would carry our after dinner coffee to our room.

One of the greatest things about Budmarsh is the late hour that you can eat breakfast at. They understand that you're on holiday and don't want to eat at the crack of dawn. (Although we were woken at an ungodly hour by a tractor on the next door farm on Easter Sunday, which was ridiculous!)

All in all we had an amazing 2night holiday at Budmarsh and really loved it. We came home relaxed and probably 2kgs heavier (especially after all the Easter chocolate we were given)!!

Thanks Budmarsh and especially thanks to the amazing staff on site. We had a fantastic and memorable 'babymoon'!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Waddling ducks and helpful caring staff.
Great food wonderful room with spa bath to relax and tame the body.
Views that stretch with picnics worthy of wasting the day over watching as the sun changes from dawn to dusk.
Restaurant with food created with talent and flavour combinations making it worth the trip.
Our new favourite place and hoping to spend a many more weekends there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CMogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Glad that you were able to relax and that we are your new favourite place. Its one of the many things you can "do" at Budmarsh! Life is so busy and its important to take time out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A gorgeous tranquil setting somewhere in the woods. Not too far from Johannesburg or Pretoria, but far enough to allow you to forget the daily madness.

The rooms are beautiful,comfortable and clean. There's chocolate truffles on your pillow every night and sherry on the bar for the perfect night cap.

On a really cold night we came back to our room & the fireplace was lit... the electric blankets is a definite plus in this rather chilly weather

It rained on the day that we booked our picnic basket, so Attie set up our picnic in front of the fire place in the beautiful sitting area. The picnic basket is a lovely treat, customised for each couple.

The staff are extremely accommodating, they'll move heaven & earth to ensure that you have you have a memorable stay & Chris will make sure that you're fed with the most divine delicacies.

We look forward to being back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silver_JHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had our second visit to Budmarsh in a year and thoroughly enjoyed it. The peace and tranquility of the hotel and surrounds makes it a perfect getaway from the city and one hardly ever bumps into other guests, even when the hotel is fully booked. Our room in the main house was very cosy, with the fireplace and jacuzzi bathtub adding to the feeling of luxury and pampering. The all-day tea and coffee facility outside was very welcome as we drink endless cups of tea a day, and we made good use of the lounge area with its many couches and armchairs in which to relax or read. The picnic lunch was absolutely perfect and a real highlight of our holiday. Breakfasts and dinners were lovely, though the dinner on our first night was quite bland (fish and bok choi was unseasoned with no sauce to add any flavour). The second evening was the complete opposite and the food was perfect. The staff are welcoming and helpful though some of the trainees struggled to get orders right or to make themselves available. I think this was particularly difficult when the dining room was busy. On our last morning, the buffet table had not been replenished with bowls and side plates, fruit, and the like. It was also quite a mission to flag a waiter for assistance as they were rarely in the room. Regardless though, we enjoyed our time there and will certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeerkatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken_and_Meg_Fargher, Owner at Budmarsh Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and your positive recommendations! We hope to see you a third time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile


I will highly recommend Budmarsh. With it's tranquil setting and spectacular food, this was the

perfect getaway for the Easter weekend. From the reservation with Tracy and the friendly staff at Budmarsh,

everything was perfect! It was a nice surprise with the Lindt Easter bunny chocolates in our room and easter eggs

all over the resort. The jacuzzi bath and the sherry in the room added to the romance. Chef Chris is truly an artist with

food on a plate. The 6 course dinner every night was a delight. We also booked a picnic and it was absolutely perfect!

Once again the food was amazing, a bit too much but delicious. An assortment of cheeses and crackers, quiches, salads and delectable deserts.

We woke up to sounds of cows every morning, were entertained by ducks waddling around and were surrounded by lush green trees.

What more could you ask for???

Thank you to everyone for making this a memorable stay! We'll definately be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GadgetGir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Well, where to start...

The food is amazing.full 6 course meal everynight. And you can often smell to great food from your room.

We stayed for a whole weekend and look forward to going back soon.

The picknick lunches are a must.

And as for the accommodation. Absolute luxury. Jacuzzi bath.nice and quite,nice pation for morning coffee.

I give this place a thumbs up with both hand's

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.6 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
2.7 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
519 reviews
15.2 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
342 reviews
7.2 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budmarsh Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budmarsh Country Lodge

Address: T1 Magalies Meander Road, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £105 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Budmarsh Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, in the heart of the magical Magaliesberg, Budmarsh Country Lodge awaits to welcome you to its world of understated elegance, tranquility and personalised attention. Escape through beautiful gardens to ramble amongst abundant bird life. After a sumptuous dinner, conjured by our Master Chef, relax in front of a roaring fire, engage in a game of snooker or simply escape to the quietness of the library to read and forget the stresses of your world. Retire to your bedroom with its antique furniture, underfloor heating, en-suite bathroom and sink into your king size bed for a sleep that is truly nature’s balm. With its lovely landscaped gardens, exquisite trees and alluring scenery, there is no better place than Budmarsh for an intimate wedding for special people. To enjoy your friendships in the peacefulness synonymous with Budmarsh, simply book for a High Tea, Picnic or Sunday Lunch. With enchanting views of the Magaliesberg Mountains, our state-of-the-art conference facilities are designed to inspire, motivate, develop and spoil your staff. Enjoy five star dining, service and accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Budmarsh Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing