We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhappy return”

Van Gaalen Kaasmakerij
Attraction details
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Unhappy return”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This place has a lovely setting. We enjoyed it once before, and returned full of hope. But things have changed. Surly staff at the cheese tasting found us an irritation rather than a sales opportunity. Bought our cheese and moved outside for a coffee under the trees.
Staff issues again. The table was sticky when we sat down, and only got cleaned when we asked. When the waiter found out we were there only for coffee, he abandoned us to a very clumsy colleague who spilled coffee all over the saucers and table. No sweetener, even though we had expressly asked for it. When we complained, he explained he was only a cleaner who had been sent to serve us because eth waiter was busy! These guys really know how to make you feel special!
The final straw was when we got home we found tat the Brie cheeses we had bought on 17/6 has expiry dates of 4/6 and 16/6!
So thanks, but no thanks. You have a lovely setting. What a pity you don`t have new management!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank GwilymHowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    25
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Would suggest”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Hubby and myself ran away from work on a Monday and found Van Galen open. Their coffee alone is worth the trip. We both had their chef's salad and it was very tasty, large prtion and very affordable. Will be back on a weekend with the kids.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing venue, with interesting shop”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Van Gaalen cheese farm is one of those places you get to know through word-of-mouth. It is close to Hartbeespoort Dam, and one easily misses the gate, as it is just around a corner in the road. Inside, there's a great shop which specialises in all kind of Dutch food, and especially Dutch cheeses. The prices are not cheap, but the freshness and the quality make up for it. Outside, there's a large area under trees with a number of tables ideal for a relaxing meal from the restaurant. The menu offers basic Dutch meals and is really good value for your money. The farm is also a haven for mountain bikers and offers a safe parking area for their cars while they explore the countryside. There is even a helicopter landing pad. The view on the Magalies mountains is spectacular and one can hardly believe that you are less than an hour's drive from Johannesburg. What brings me back again and again, is the great selection of Weissbier on sale. A great place to visit, especially if you have kids.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jankirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to take the family”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a great place for a day out that is within a reasonable driving distance of Joburg. The play area is well equipped for children of all ages and the animals are well cared for. There is plenty of space for the little ones to run around and the resident dogs are child-friendly and lovely company.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank emminicholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Legit Sunday Wine/Cheese Afternoon”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A nice venue for some wine and cheese within 45 minutes of Pretoria. The skies of the highveld and green hills are the main attraction, and if the weather is good, the whole afternoon will pass in a glimpse. The gouda cheeses are appealing too. The beautiful environs could be home for a vineyard-- only missing the grapes and wine! There's definitely wine for purchase, although it's not made at Van Gaalen.

If you have little kids, there's a small playground and a pen with a variety of animals. There's also a lot of open space for kids to run around.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktowner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Gaalen Kaasmakerij also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Van Gaalen Kaasmakerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing