We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to JHB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for one night for a staff conference. Staff was very friendly and helpful wih the check in and locating of rooms. Room was a good size with lovely views, nice linen and great bathroom. Various different rooms with different lay outs. Conferencing facilities very good and food served excellent, good varity and one of the best buffet servings I've ever had. However, the only negative was that when I wanted to take a shower at 6.30pm there was no hot water. I reported this and maintenance was there within 5 minutes and said the water issue will be sorted out. This was one of four rooms that I know of that didn't have hot water, the next morning it was still not sorted out and I had to go and use the shower in a friends room.

Room Tip: Make sure there is hot water, if not demand a new room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear "Ingrid C",

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us when visiting us for a company conference. Your recommendations of the service received by our team members will be shared during our monthly merit awards event.

As mentioned in your review, the Mount Grace Country House and Spa is indeed merely an hour away from JHB and therefore perfect for a quick get away, either with the company or for a luxury weekend away. Our sincere apologies for the discomfort caused by a temporary water supply issue and we regret not being able to fix the issue on the night. We were only able to restore hot water supply the next day in the block of 4 rooms you were staying in.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to our beautiful country house...

Yours sincerely,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager
Mount Grace Country House and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

A fantastic place to spend a weekend with your loved one.
All comports catered for and a beautiful spa to relax and receive attention for the tired body.
Every one is efficient and helpful and the food is great.

Room Tip: All good, but some have private jacuzzi or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear "Mark N",

Fabulous comments, fabulous review!

Thank you for your great recommendations of our luxury Country House and Spa. We are glad to hear we have been able to create a relaxing and comfortable experience. I fully agree that the Mount Grace is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway... So, do make sure you pay us another visit soon.

Greetings from the entire team and warm regards,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a wonderful hotel away from the city in great garden surroundings. About 110 kms/65 miles from Johannesburg.
The hotel has a number of differing rooms from good to amazing with their own outside jacuzzis or heated splash pools.
Certain rooms also have great outdoor showers
As the rooms are built up a mountain, if you are too lazy to walk, they have golf carts to take you.
The hotel has 2 restaurants, one 'a la carte'. Which are both good.
If you choose to go elsewhere there are a few basic restaurants in the village and surrounding hotels.
The only problem is it takes far too long to get room service and they really must jack up their maintenance.
The spa is good but very expensive.
Other than that a wonderful get away.

Room Tip: The rooms with their own private jacuzzis or outside splash pools are great, but expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear "Clive V",

Greetings from all of us at the Mount Grace Country House and Spa!

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel when visiting the Magaliesberg area. Your kind recommendations of our service levels and facilities are much appreciated. Your comments around your room service experience (speed of service) and the inconsistencies in the maintenance of your room will be discussed with our Executive Chef and Maintenance Manager. Clearly, not of the standard we like to offer at the hotel, so clearly room for improvement. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel soon upon your next visit to our beautiful part of the world.

Yours sincerely,


Nelson Rodrigues - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have been here a few times as a quick & easy 'get out of Jozi' escape, & the general experience gets better every time. The staff are friendly & efficient, facilities are world class, & location is perfect for anyone looking to get out of Joburg for some quality R&R.

Fully worthy of five stars!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iarewilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear "iarewilson",

EXCELLENT REVIEW!

We are humbled by your kind recommendations of our beloved Mount Grace Country House and Spa. And thank you for acknowledging the ongoing efforts from our team to further improve the guest experience ensuring even more comfort, relaxation and pampering when staying with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Mount Grace is a fantastic escape from Johannesburg. The staff are very friendly and the service par excellence. The staff goes out of their way to accommodate you in all respects. The rooms were very clean and well equipped, a soup holder dish at the wash basin would be nice and shoe shine also as well as room fragrance. The bathroom was lovely but the advertised “outdoor” shower in the luxury villa was not very “outdoor” at all a bit disappointing and not very private either. Neither was the plunge pool private but that was not an expectation but would be welcomed with natural hedges etc. The chef Lance was very particular about our dietary requirements and tried his best to please our palate, the drawback is that what we required was catered for but you needed to notify them 48hr prior in advance, sadly I was not told this upon making the reservation nor did web site allure to this. My wife did want to surprise me for my birthday and did notify the hotel that it was a birthday weekend away the only person wishing me well was the receptionist whereas another guest whose also had his birthday was given a small cake with a candle at dinner so another slip up. The food and beverage manager send champagne to the room as an afterthought but we also notified the hotel we are non alcoholic so I would say that the edge of refinement is missing from the Mount Grace and attention to detail is lacking if you accustomed to five star treatments this is not it. The spa is delectable, lovely setting. The Mount Grace as a hotel is a great getaway in beautiful settings and relating country atmosphere.

Room Tip: All rooms are great the mountain thatched rooms are cosy would not waste money on the luxury villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shube1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear "Shube1",

We are extremely pleased to hear that we have been able to create a relaxing "countryside" getaway for you and your partner. We thank you for choosing the Mount Grace Country House and Spa to celebrate such a joyful occasion such as your own birthday.

You can imagine we are very disappointed to hear that we have dropped the ball when it comes to making this an "extra" special occasion and not being able to consistently meet and exceed your expectations by adding some special surprises to your experience. We appreciate your detailed feedback as it allows us to evaluate your comments, analyse our shortfalls and determine focus areas of improvement together with the management team at the hotel.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to be of service to you again and welcoming you to the Mount Grace Country House and Spa again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife treated me for a day of indulgence (sans children) for my birthday at the Mount Grace Spa. The facilities are fantastic and the tranquil setting awe-inspiring! The spa treatments and floatation salt pool were very relaxing.

The package included lunch and it was very disappointing! The salad starter and smoothy were acceptable but don't order a burger. We both ordered the cheese burger with caramelised onions but it was inedible when we sat down to eat it. Cold, processed and plastic cheese! After sending the burgers back they made us "fresh" ones which were just as bad as the first round. The burger certainly does not match the description on the menu. The staff made the excuse that their kitchen was far away from the spa and this was the reason that it was no longer hot when it arrived at the table. My question is why offer lunch as part of a spa package if this is the best they can do?

As it was a special occasion and the scenery and facilities truly relaxing I was prepared to turn a blind eye to the awful lunch. That was until I discovered we were comprehensively overcharged for products we did not receive. Beware of the therapists selling you products and then when paying the receptionist not presenting you with a detailed invoice! When we arrived home we discovered we had not received the products paid for and were in fact grossly overcharged. My wife emailed the Spa management and to this date have had no response.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear "Swissfly",

Although we are glad to hear you were pleased with the facilities on offer at the Mount Grace Spa when visiting us for a one day treatment, clearly we are very disappointed to find out that the lunch service at the Spa has let you down. Together with our executive chef, we will evaluate your detailed comments to see if there are structural issues when it comes to the lunch service in the spa or if there are issues when it comes to our consistency in delivery.

I am truly concerned to hear around the issues with your spa invoice as this has not come to my attention in the past. Please be so kind to email me directly so I can resolve the matter soonest. You can contact me via guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za. and provide me with further details.

Yours sincerely,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Mount Grace, the rooms were exceptional and the spa was amazing. The restuarant was also really good. It was a really relaxing weekend away and highly recommended for an escape!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

Dear "PPillay",

Thank you for the kind recommendations and the great review. We are very happy to hear we have been able to create a relaxing and comfortable escape from the hustle and bustle of day to day life.

Do make sure you come back to us soon for another unwinding experiences in the beautiful Magaliesburg area...

Warm regards,

Bosele Mogamisi - Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#3 of 7 in Magaliesburg
343 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
65 reviews
2 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
301 reviews
7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
206 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £100 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing