We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I am deeply disappointed with this establishment. I was staying over this past weekend (11 to 13 April) and I forgot my watch and ring in the room. After following up several times with the hotel staff, I just got a call to tell me that they can't find my items. I guess the 5 star rates don't buy honesty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabelom135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear KabeloM 135


Thank you for your review.

Please can you kindly contact me on the details that I have sent through to discuss this further as I have been unable to reach you.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

The service is very good, warm welcome by employees full of smiles. They even remembered to put a birthday card in the bedroom, thank you team you have made my day. We will definitely come back for more

Room Tip: Superior is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Pinkie S

I am so glad that our TEAM made your birthday a special and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Mount Grace from 28/03 to 29/03 .

What a wonderful experience !!!! From the reservation staff, to the drivers, to the staff at the Spa. Not a single frowning face - and the helpful attitudes!!!

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villa's - Brilliant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 649jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear 649jans

Thank you for your "excellent" review.

I am glad to hear that you felt the warmth of our entire TEAM who pride themselves in providing a wonderful experience to our GUESTS.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Mount Grace WAS one of my favourite getaway destinations from Joburg, until today.

Our booking was made though an agent and I did not have our paperwork when we arrived so I enquired on checking in what our booking included, had a pleasant stay until we went to check-out to find out all that what we had been told was included was not and had a surprise bill. Normally, we would let this go, but my partner specially asked me to check before we arrived as we drove in which I did. The sad reality was that instead of accepting our word, the staff debated issues and made us feel like we took a chance. This is unacceptable!!! Then when I became very angry and we walked out, then the offer came to call management. By then, it was futile, we were livid! The sad reality and a huge disappointment for us, we won't go back and there I was thinking I would book my entire company in for a weekend at the end of the year as a Xmas treat! Amazing what poor service results in. Our advise, ensure you check in writing what you booked for and don't take the word of the people checking you in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Liz Hart

Thank you for taking our Front Office Managers call after your departure.

As discussed with her, we would have been happy to have met with you while still at the property in order for us to rectify the miscommunication that occurred. Please be assured that your feedback was addressed with the TEAM and we sincerely apologise for the manner in which this was handled.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We eloped and were married at Mount Grace...our Marriage Officer met us in our room and did the nuptials with 2 hotel staff as witnesses...it was so clean cut and stress free...after the service we booked ourselves into The Spa for a couples treatment...The Hotel met all ours needs with super friendly efficiency and The Spa was an absolute treat...The restaurant was fine dining at its finest... For us everything was just perfect and want to go back soon for an extended period.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be secluded and private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear McGuigan61

Awesome to hear that we met all your needs and made your wedding day a memorable one.I have shared your wonderful comments with the TEAM and we certainly cannot wait to have you back on an extended stay.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Lovely place away from the hustle and bustle of JHB city life. Easy drive for a weekend away. Food and service are good. If you go - don't miss out on a treatment at the spa and the heated floating chamber is a must!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Sandra H

Thank you for your review.

We cannot wait to have you back for another chilled stay.

Yours In Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We spent a 3 night weekend with our children which I am glad are now accommodated at Mt. Grace. My sole aim was to relax, which I was able to do. My husband had a conference on the Saturday which he said was good. The new rooms are lovely. However, we weren't awaken to birds chirping but rather cleaning staff shouting between units. The older rooms are in need of new windows and doors that allow light in. Protea Hotels just took over in December so there are a few things that need to be addressed such as the seating in the dining room and service. The buffet needs a few extras such as melba toast for the pates, desserts that are not all some form of cake, and healthy plain foods for the children. Exciting to know Steffano, the chef who was at Mt. Grace 20 years ago is back. The spa is in the most beautiful setting and spending time in the flotation pool or by the stream is great to unwind. My pedicure and reflexology were good but the facial was nothing special. My husband had to wait 45 minutes for his massage with no compensation. With strong hands on management & leadership, Mt. Grace could be a place we would return to often. Please also look at more children's entertainment during half term, long weekends and school holidays.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspiredParenting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear InspiredParenting

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to provide us with your detailed feedback.

Having recently joined Protea hotels, we are excited about the new and improved changes, staff development & training as well as the implementation of our entertaining children's programme.

We trust that you will enjoy experiencing these new enhancements upon your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
277 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
197 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £93 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing