We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I have visited Mount Grace on numerous occasions now and we've loved every time. We find it very romantic and spent one of our anniversary's there as well as this past valentines day. The hotel added so many extras which made our stay even more memorable. The spa is stunning and the restaurant serves the most wonderful food.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms. The rooms on the far side of the swimming pool by the main entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannalieJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear HannalieJacobs

It is so exciting to read such wonderful comments from one of our regular GUESTS.

I am glad that we were able to once again make your romantic getaway a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another experience with wonderful food and a relaxing time at our stunning spa.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    169
    85
    50
    46
See reviews for
85
371
9
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I have just spent a weekend of perfect relaxation at the Mount Grace. Besides the quality of the environment, I think the high service ethic of the staff makes this hotel one to visit again. Simply outstanding service. Only are of improvement is to ensure consistency at peak times (lunch) in the restaurant and pool areas. I just found the staff battled with increased numbers especially with visitors for Sunday lunch. As they say, no one is perfect but the staff here were as near to perfection as one would wish for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Khwezi1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Khwezi 1306

What a great review!

I am delighted to hear that it was a weekend of perfect relaxation at our fine establishment. We pride ourselves with delivering excellent and outstanding service and I am pleased to hear that our TEAM offered you just that.

I have addressed your comment regarding consistent service during peak lunch hours with our Food and Beverage Manager and he has put measures into place to ensure that our GUESTS are not inconvenienced in any way during busy periods.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked a night at the Mount Grace for my husband and myself so that he could wake up somewhere special on the morning of his birthday. We were so unbelievably spoiled, from a birthday card and a bottle of wine in the room after we checked in to returning to the room after dinner to find that our room had been made up with rose petals, fresh towels folded into swans and chocolates on our pillows - what a treat!
We had dinner at the Rambling Vine restaurant which was SUPERB. The food is exquisitely presented and the portions are perfect - you are able to enjoy a starter, main course and a dessert (IF you go on an empty stomach!). The food has been prepared with perfectly complimentary flavours and the only "complaint" I have is that it is so hard to choose :) I could have tried EVERYTHING.
Thanks for one of the best overnight stays we have had - we definitely want to come back for a longer stay!

Room Tip: The luxury suite is AWESOME. Facing the beautiful mountains with a view of perfect African bushveld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Angela B

Thank you for the special review.

This means so much to us as we constantly strive to exceed our GUESTS expectations. I have shared your comments with the TEAM and we all look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I am deeply disappointed with this establishment. I was staying over this past weekend (11 to 13 April) and I forgot my watch and ring in the room. After following up several times with the hotel staff, I just got a call to tell me that they can't find my items. I guess the 5 star rates don't buy honesty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kabelom135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear KabeloM 135


Thank you for your review.

Please can you kindly contact me on the details that I have sent through to discuss this further as I have been unable to reach you.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

The service is very good, warm welcome by employees full of smiles. They even remembered to put a birthday card in the bedroom, thank you team you have made my day. We will definitely come back for more

Room Tip: Superior is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Pinkie S

I am so glad that our TEAM made your birthday a special and memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at Mount Grace from 28/03 to 29/03 .

What a wonderful experience !!!! From the reservation staff, to the drivers, to the staff at the Spa. Not a single frowning face - and the helpful attitudes!!!

ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT, THANK YOU!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Villa's - Brilliant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 649jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear 649jans

Thank you for your "excellent" review.

I am glad to hear that you felt the warmth of our entire TEAM who pride themselves in providing a wonderful experience to our GUESTS.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Mount Grace WAS one of my favourite getaway destinations from Joburg, until today.

Our booking was made though an agent and I did not have our paperwork when we arrived so I enquired on checking in what our booking included, had a pleasant stay until we went to check-out to find out all that what we had been told was included was not and had a surprise bill. Normally, we would let this go, but my partner specially asked me to check before we arrived as we drove in which I did. The sad reality was that instead of accepting our word, the staff debated issues and made us feel like we took a chance. This is unacceptable!!! Then when I became very angry and we walked out, then the offer came to call management. By then, it was futile, we were livid! The sad reality and a huge disappointment for us, we won't go back and there I was thinking I would book my entire company in for a weekend at the end of the year as a Xmas treat! Amazing what poor service results in. Our advise, ensure you check in writing what you booked for and don't take the word of the people checking you in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Liz Hart

Thank you for taking our Front Office Managers call after your departure.

As discussed with her, we would have been happy to have met with you while still at the property in order for us to rectify the miscommunication that occurred. Please be assured that your feedback was addressed with the TEAM and we sincerely apologise for the manner in which this was handled.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
19.2 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Property: African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Address: Old Rustenburg Rd | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, Mount Grace Country House & Spa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at the Mount Grace indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. The African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing