We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend away in one of the larger suites with a private pool. Spacious room, comfortable, heated pool and best of all, great service from all the staff. The bathrooms could have been made to feel a little more inviting - they are large but a bit cold. If you want to eat at the fine dining restaurant, book before you arrive as we could not get a table.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear FreqL


I am thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you received great service from all the STAFF. Our STAFF pride themselves in providing excellent service and love to go above and beyond for our GUESTS.

I have shared your lovely comments with them and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality
Bosele Mogamisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (682)
There are newer reviews for African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We arrived Friday Afternoon to an amazing place...Mount Grace. Not even an hours drive from the Fourways area. The welcome to the hotel first starting at the security guard on duty was awesome, each and every staff at all levels were polite, well spoken and genuinely caring - a true reflection on training by management.
Our room was an upstairs room which was adequate enough for us, with winter having heated floors in the bathroom and dressing room was great. Bed very comfortable. A small settee is in the room allowing for one to relax in. Nice to see a coffee machine in the room as well.
Friday night we went to the incredible "Rambling Vine" for fine dinning. The food was superb! I had the Scottish Salmon which was simply divine followed by Creme Brûlée which was accompanied with stewed fruit ice cream ....stunning stunning. The waitrons were very attentive. This restaurant is a must! Ensure you book early as we found out trying to get in on Sunday night which was fully booked.
The buffet breakfasts are really good with a large array of foods to choose from. For the very healthy you will do great for the ones who like to have a variety there is so much to choose from.
Dinner buffet good with many choices.
During the day one can go for walks or as many people did during the winter day chilled on the garden chairs or loungers. We also loved the fact that there are many lounging areas in which one can go and sit, chat and read.
We went to the spa on the Sunday for a Head,shoulder and neck massage. The therapists were very good the ambiance of the spa relaxing. Our massage was truly well worth it. Loved every moment and was sad to have it end.
The thing about Mount Grace is superb service and very much a R-E-L-A-X-I-N-G experience.

Would I .....
Come again ~YES
Go to the spa ~YES
Go to the Rambling Vine~YES

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Delia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear TheVipondsSA

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a fantastic review.

You have put a huge smile on our faces and it was so exciting to share all your comments with the rest of the TEAM.

It is truly encouraging to read your review and to know that your stay was one of pure relaxation.

Please email me directly at guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za on your next visit so we can make your stay another memorable one.

We cannot wait to have you back.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Spent the afternoon with my wife at the spa. What a beautiful place. Incredible view from the top of the hill. Great massage. Not over the top expensive. Excellent service. I'll be back as soon as I can.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pbirkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear pbirkett

We are delighted to hear of your great experience on an excellent afternoon spent at our beautiful spa.

I have shared your wonderful comments with our spa TEAM and they were thrilled and look forward to welcoming you back for more great massages.

Looking forward to your next visit!

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My sister and I have visited Mount Grace several times over the last few years. This was the first time since it was under African Pride management. It is still a lovely facility and the staff was absolutely excellent. We stayed there from 18 May for three nights (with our brother and his wife). We had booked a room with two separate beds - sadly only one bed but they corrected it rapidly and assigned us to room 119 with two beds. A really lovely room. However, this was close to the Conference Center which proceeded to blast us with music until late on the Friday night. Mount Grace needs to decide if it is going to be a conference center or a tranquil spa. The decibels generated by the music would never meet OSHA standards. The drunken guests outside were even less pleasant.
The bar has great ambiance but unfortunately, the ice maker was going constantly - making any kind of communication impossible. Either move it or sound proof it.
My sister left feedback on their website never heard a word from them.
This could be the perfect spa, it should be.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purcelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Purcelin

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay with us that was almost perfect but was unfortunately dampened by the noise from the conference centre.

I would like to be in contact with you and kindly request that you forward me your contact details on my personal email address below:

guestrelationsmanager@mountgrace.co.za

I look forward to your response.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our two night weekend trip was most enjoyable and relaxing - certainly fitted the de-stress bill that we were wanting. The villa was a real treat, luxurious and with attention to detail like a square plug for international visitors fitted into the wall, underfloor heating in the bathroom and gas-fire place in the lounge. The Spa was an absolute indulgence, with experienced and pleasant staff. Golf carts move you to and from your villa and didn't take long to arrive when required. There were however quite a number of smallish issues that could be improved, to make this a top destination in South Africa.

The Twist restaurant is rather like a canteen, with a tiled 'country kitchen' floor and orange striped wallpaper. It lacks any ambience or intimacy. Buffet style food was sometimes lukewarm and dry,
also our table cloth was not clean. We chose to change to the Rambling Vine Restaurant on the second evening which had much more sophistication and an a la carte menu. Our inexperienced but very obliging waiter had no idea what we were talking about when we tried to order cognac, so had to call someone else to assist.


The water is hard, like most places in South Africa, and it was disappointing therefore that there was no bath salts or bath oil on offer considering the price and style of the villas.

A sumptuous and delicious breakfast was on offer with much variation to suit all tastes. Again I have a 'but': only brown and white bread, no healthy wholewheat or seed bread. No marmalade on the buffet and the waiter had no idea what it was. Also the egg cooks seemed more involved with each other's funny stories than the eggs for their customers.

It is very convenient to have a light lunch at the Spa, but again it was surprising that a Spa should have no healthy wholewheat or seed bread alternative for their toasted sandwiches.

The staff varied from absolutely friendly, helpful and delightful to amateurish or aloof.

I really hope that these things are ironed out because Mount Grace is gorgeous and could be an eminent South African destination. We will go again for sure, in spite of the small things.

Room Tip: Best villa is 213, apart from the others and with its own little dam in front
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear CarolineP

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your recent stay with us.

It is most encouraging to hear that your two night stay was most enjoyable and relaxing. I would also like to thank you for bringing up the issues such as the twist restaurant and its offering and would like to assure you that it has been discussed with the relevant department to ensure that the food quality is consistently up to our high standards.


We appreciate the fact that you will certainly be returning and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I suppose everybody who contributes to Tripadvisor by writing reviews after visiting a hotel , lodge etc, also reads reviews before visiting an establishment.
We were fortunate to have a conference, the past weekend at Mount Grace Country House and Spa.
Having read the latest reviews before we left, I was very shocked at the bad comments about this lovely place, which we had visited several times in the past, but not recently though. I always regarded it as one of the most peaceful and relaxing experiences and decided to take a very good and informed look at the hotel.
Upon arrival we were met by very friendly staff and promptly checked in. The gholf carts which are used to take guests and their luggage to and from the rooms are very effecive.
Our room was impeccable. I 'investigated' the room and found no flaws, the maintenace issue therefore not at all in question. The room(161) was large, fine linen on our kingsize bed, a huge bathroom with double vanity, large shower and a bath. There is a fan as well as an airconditioner. We also had a bar fridge, Nespresso coffemaker with enough pods, milk etc. The room also has a comfortable lounge area, an outside veranda with comfortable chairs and a beautiful clean plunge pool. Being winter, we could unfortunately not use the pool, but in summer it has to be sheer bliss.
The gardens and pools were all in a good state and the heated pool was wondefully warm, no wonder there were always someone in it whenever we passed.
We had our dinners at one of the conference venues. On both occasions the tables were beautifully decked and the food outstanding(loved the red velvet cake). Breakfast and lunch were served at Twist and was of outstanding quality with a great variety to choose from and even champaigne(MCC) available. The tables were beautifully set in white linen, with fine cutlery etc.
We ordered drinks from the bar and were served by friendly and prompt waiters, so no problem there either.
All the public spaces in the hotel were neat and tidy, with fresh flowers in just about every room.
We did not make use of the spa facility, but I walked there to have a look and everything looked excellent.
I love this peaceful place and can recommend it unconditionally!! It is so relaxing and very, very romantic!!

Room Tip: The luxury rooms with their own pools are excellent.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear ritaSouthAfrica

What a pleasure to read your review.

Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write this detailed review. It is greatly appreciated!

I have shared your wonderful comments with the TEAM and I wish you knew how much this means to us as we always strive to exceed our GUESTS expectations.

We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

From arrival the staff outdid themselves!

Although Mount Grace is NOT a wedding venue, we had asked if we could have the very small (us and 2 witnesses and 1 minister) and private ceremony. They accommodated us with beautifully bedecked chairs and tables, The short ceremony was held on the grass next to a rock pool with tumbling water – all perfectly done.We loved it!
It made our special day all the more special! And what a surprise for the upgrade to an even more beautiful room! Lovely!

We could not have asked for better. The officiating minister was inspired by tranquility of the garden and water – as were we!

The staff on the day were caring and accommodating and really in the spirit of the whole thing! Lovely Lebo and her “runners” were sensational. We also received a lovely card, accompanied by bubbly, signed by many of the duty staff. Very precious!

Mount Grace’s reaching out to us – especially as a non-wedding venue-, and touching our hearts so profoundly, could not be measured in monetary terms. It will long be remembered and treasured by us and all we share these memories with.

We hope to return often to re-live the memories and warmth of this establishment and its staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariusTerblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MountGrace, Guest Relations Manager at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Marius

Thank you so much for your kind review.

You have no idea how much it means to those of us in the hospitality industry, who constantly strive to exceed expectations, to know when we have been successful. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Congratulations on your wedding!! Wishing you many years of happiness, and we look forward to welcoming you back to re-live the memories.

Yours in Hospitality

Bosele Mogamisi
GUEST Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
60 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
274 reviews
7.0 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
194 reviews
14.4 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa

Address: Old Rustenburg Road | Private bag 5004, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range: £94 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just one hour's drive from Johannesburg or Pretoria, the exclusive famed African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa is a timeless gem where luxury and peace are in abundance. Oozing old world charm but boasting modern opulence, our hotel in Magaliesburg, South Africa is the perfect retreat for team building, conferences and relaxed weekend getaways away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The picturesque country house started life as a private residence and farmhouse and has hosted a number of dignitaries and A-list visitors over the years. Located on a hillside with unspoilt views of the valley and boasting some ten acres of manicured gardens as well as pristine bushveld, the sprawling property is a balm for the city weary soul. Take a leisurely drive along country roads or land in a helicopter. While at African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa, indulge in good food, fine wines and relaxing spa treatments in the award winning Mount Grace Spa. Our TEAM prides itself on creating a home away from home for all our GUESTS, where time stands still, allowing you to enjoy that rare opportunity of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Grace Country House Hotel Magaliesburg
Mount Grace Country House And Spa
Mount Grace Country Hotel
Mount Grace Country Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing