We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hornbill Lodge - Shhhh - Best kept secret in the Magaliesberg”
Review of Hornbill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hornbill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Magaliesburg B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hornbill Lodge - Shhhh - Best kept secret in the Magaliesberg”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am almost scared to write this review, but it seems the secrets out already. We managed to squeeze in for the night on Heritage Day and our next available weekend is in November....Hornbill Lodge is not just a weekend getaway it's almost a home from home and Kobie, Kobie, Muriel, Caroline and Sam are streets ahead of the rest - if you want to learn the word hospitality simply pay a visit and prepare to be amazed. The accommodation is excellent, menu is simple but exceptionally prepared and facilities are perfect for families. We have been visiting Hornbill for over a year and will continue to do so for many more. We do need to get clever though and start booking all our trips well in advance, because the secrets out and you people are taking our available rooms......ah well just means we need to book for the year and be at peace with it.

Room Tip: Have been in most of them and all are great....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobie_els, Owner at Hornbill Lodge, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Good Day Stewart

As always what a pleasure to have you and the kids here at hornbill
Thank you for the wonderful review

Regards Cobie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    28
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
23
56
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From the time I made the booking until my departure Cobie and his team were excellent. When I arrived I was made to feel at home. The food is delicious. I have strongly recommended Hornbill to colleagues and friends. I plan to take my wife on weekend out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mpho P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hornbill; very lovely premises with the awesome view of the river. It is not packed, we had our own space and enjoyment.
The rooms, bathrooms and toilets are well maintained; nice lounge area just to sit and relax.
Very friendly staff and the chef cooks the best fresh meals on their menu.
We had an awesome time....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Hornbill is a fabulous gem deep in the heart of the Drakensburg mountains, nestled in a valley on the end of the R563 and the R24 turnoff. The hospitality, food, ambiance and well maintained rooms attest to the lodge's 4* rating.
We will surely be back for more.
A big thank you to Caroline and Cobie jnr for service excellence.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobie_els, Owner at Hornbill Lodge, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hornbill Lodge
We hope to see you again this summer when everything is Greener and at its most Beautiful

Regards Cobie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a awesome 3 days at hornbill lodge. The staff was warm and friendly, the weather was perfect. The premises are stunning, we were so lucky to share the opening of their new water feature. It is a moment we will always remember. We loved the warm restaurant, food and fireplace. Stella the donkey has an awesome personality, and gave us some laughs. We will definitely come back and visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My experience over the weekend at this venue was average. I agree that it is currently not in the 4* category. The rooms are dated but could quickly be updated by simply hanging lighter curtains instead of the ones that are hanging now which brings the rooms down and making it look dark and dingy. On the plus side, I noticed that they are revamping the swimming pool which will look picture perfect upon completion. The service we received was excellent and they did everything in their power to make our stay comfortable and relaxing - the big fireplace in the lounge is a great asset and we enjoyed a nice bottle of wine in front of it. I think with a little bit of love and attention this could really be a stunning venue. I will wait until summer time when everything is green and lush and the renovations done before I visit this venue again - I think they deserve a second chance.

Room Tip: This is a place for animal lovers (specifically dogs) and I will most certainly not recommend it if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MariaW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This lodge is rated as a 4 star establishment but is definitely not up at that level now. I would classify as closer to a 2 star. Rooms very dated with dusty artificial flowers and old fashioned home made furnishings. Food in restaurant OK although with very limited menu. Cannot really enjoy lounge and bar facilities due to any dogs occupying their places on lounge suite. Friendly welcoming staff
This could be a really nice venue but definitely needs some money and TLC first

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
3.1 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
59 reviews
1.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.2 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
270 reviews
4.6 mi away
Olive Tree Farm
Olive Tree Farm
#2 of 10 in Magaliesburg
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Roan Country Lodge
Blue Roan Country Lodge
#2 of 27 in Magaliesburg
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hornbill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hornbill Lodge

Property: Hornbill Lodge
Address: Cnr R24 And R563, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hornbill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hornbill lodge and Legends Restaurant is an owner / manager / chef concept which gaurantees you every requirement of the highest standard pertaining to a Four - Star Establishment . Good Food and Spacious Luxurious accommodation will make you feel at home whether you are having a Family Vacation , Business trip , Small Conference , Teambuilding event or just visiting our Spacious riverine and Mountain property for the day.All Rooms have full Temperature Control ; our Lodge and Restaurant both have cozy Fireplaces to make your stay a pleasant one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hornbill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing