We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too frugal for comfort”
Review of Thaba Manzi Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thaba Manzi Ranch
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too frugal for comfort”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

While Thaba Manzi offers some lovely views over the mountains in a peaceful farm setting, we were very disappointed with the accommodation itself.

Upon arriving, we struggled to find anyone to greet us and wandered around rather aimless until a farm worker showed us to our apartment.

The flat itself was pleasant and clean, but the owners have done the bare minimum to make guests feel at home. A sign explains that guests get only one roll of (one ply) toilet paper, after which they must pay for more. There is no soap, sugar, tea or any other thoughtful amenity available. Even the cutlery and plates are kept to a bare minimum (with just 2 knives, 2 forks and 2 plates per couple). The linen is old and very scratchy.

Thaba Manzi has a lot of potential, but the owners really need to reconsider their priorities. Either that, or lower their price enough to indicate the lack of quality that guests can expect.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuickFox82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    10
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We went to Thaba manzi mid of december. And its was amazing, and peaceful, from the view to the cottage, the animals.WIll highly recommend this place to anyone and will definetly go back again. and Chantal was so so welcoming, thoroughly enjoyed our conversation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Arslan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What an amazing place. The accommodation was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of all Chantal was one of the nicest hosts I have ever met. She really made our stay so special. I was able to take my Spaniel with and the area around the cottages gave me peace of mind to let my doggy run free. We are already planing our next trip to Thaba Manzi !!!!
Thank you guys for opening up your home and allowing us to share in all its beauty :) :) :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

What a wonderful getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life. Quiet surroundings and lovely homey unit and plenty of quality relaxation time. The view is unbelievable morning and night and the Owner Chantal is extremely welcoming and does what she can to accomodate everyone.

perfect little escape for the family

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vereeniging, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were most disappointed with our overall stay at Thaba Manzi Ranch. (September 2013) Although the lady that assisted us on arrival was very friendly, not once did we get to meet or see the owners. In addition we were only provided with one toilet roll and huge signs proclaimed that we had to supply any further toilet paper if needed. No where was this mentioned on the website or prior to our arrival. It was the same situation with wood for our braai fire. When one is unaware that these basics need to be brought along with us and we are some distance from a shopping area, it is indeed unpleasant. In addition the chalets were not very well maintained. We had pieces of hanging ceiling in our room, both bedside lamps were not working and no bathroom amenities were supplied. Also if you wanted to participate in any activities for example game drives or any other activities you have to phone, you could not take a walk because there is no one to explain or show you where the farm borders are All in all we feel that the cost per night(R 850.00) did not justify the quality of accommodation that we expected and will certainly not be returning there and also would not recommend it to anybody. I would also recommend that Safari now take a drive and inspect places before they put their name to advertising and selling a place. NB there was a pen with approx 20 bush pigs behind our rooms - you can imagine the flies. I say no more.

ANDRE MEYER, South Africa South Africa

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Magaliesburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magaliesburg hotels
7.5 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
59 reviews
9.3 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
0.0 mi away
Intaba Thulile
Intaba Thulile
#4 of 27 in Magaliesburg
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Willinga Lodge
Willinga Lodge
#8 of 10 in Magaliesburg
27 reviews
6.3 mi away
Olive Tree Farm
Olive Tree Farm
#2 of 10 in Magaliesburg
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodland Gardens
Woodland Gardens
#6 of 10 in Magaliesburg
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thaba Manzi Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thaba Manzi Ranch

Property: Thaba Manzi Ranch
Address: Portion 19 Boschfontein | Manhaarrand, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thaba Manzi Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2000 acre game and cattle ranch incorporating 2.5 km of the Magaliesberg mountain range. Enjoy an evening braai where the background music is the sounds of the bush and the calls of the Jackals. Or for the more active, we offer horse trails, hikes and climbs in the mountains, game viewing on numerous internal cycle and walking trails. Well appointed self-catering cottages accommodating from 2 to 4 people comfortably, handling a total of 12 people sharing. Individually furnished, each cottage is uniquely designed with Victorian slipper baths and double showers. They all have fully equipped kitchens, as well as own braai areas. Shared pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Thaba Manzi Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing