We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Dissapointed”
Review of Melon Rouge

Melon Rouge
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Description: Country style eatery - light meals. Breakfast, light lunches ( Quiche, salad, pies, toasties, etc ) Good coffee! Antiques, Vintage clothing, Books and Art. Beautiful garden setting. Private and romantic nooks. Quiet and relaxing. We cater for small functions and weddings from 10 - 60 people. Popular for family reunions, hen parties and baby showers. We also have interesting options for children's parties.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bit Dissapointed”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Had great expectations but not a friendly face in the place. Everyone here is doing you a favour serving you a mediocre breakfast. Oops dont think I will be back. Sorry. Great idea but a bad delivery, drive past!!

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannelie H, Owner at Melon Rouge, responded to this review, 20 October 2014
Hi Kevin
I am sorry about your experience @ MelonRouge in February. Our restaurant side of the business was rented out, unfortunately with great distress to our regular customers. Shortly after your visit we took it back - you are welcome to try us again - we serve light meals and good coffees with friendly service. We are open 7 days a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Fairy Place”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have being to this place twice and it is perfect arty place surrounded like book story fairy-tail. I suggest it to families and kids !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EA_Oussov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was a breath of fresh air (literally). The eatery is outside among the trees and there are comfy stone benches with cushions to lounge on whilst munching on the tasty yummy food. The service was fabulous and the surroundings are magnificent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babybumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magaliesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I had some time to kill and decided to stop at Melon Rouge, what a nice supprise, their service was very good, maybe because it was during the week and there were not many clients. Their coffee was fresh and the chicken tramazini was very tasty. The internet signal was brilliant. I think this could be very nice during the weekend. You can walk through all their little nooks and crannies discovering the antiques, books and vintage clothing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food ,books,art and Antiques”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I and my friend droped in for a business breakfast and from us been seated to having our breakfast and then staying for lunch the service and even sitting out side on the stoop with the warm winter sun and the the browsing through books ,art and antiques the service was great

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coenie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Melon Rouge also viewed

Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Magaliesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Melon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing