We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”
Review of Valley Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valley Lodge & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Spent 3 nights at Valley Lodge on a business retreat. The surroundings are pleasant as it is set in lush green gardens and is a short drive from Pretoria/ Johannesburg. The rooms are big, have been upgraded with modern furnishings and the bed was very comfortable, However the dark furnishings are too heavy and the lighting in the room is a bit faint. I always had to open the bathroom door in order to get enough brightness to read. There is also a train that passes close to the lodge around 4am which disturbs the tranquility of sleep at this hour. The food was quite good for buffet style dining. The staff were attentive and pleasant. I might return just for a day trip to enjoy the surroundings and the day spa but not to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyceT2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    77
    45
    26
    22
See reviews for
52
145
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I was set on Valley Lodge as a wedding venue as I felt it was a great setting for a wedding and they had enough rooms for guests to stay over, the rooms are quite impressive and I also really liked the chapel. We had a 110 guests of which majority stayed over.
However, at first they gave our wedding date away that we originally booked (which adds to the point that they are not organised at all and I should've detected that they are unprofessional at this point already)
My biggest mistake was not getting all we agreed to in writing - we ended up having to pay for extra meal costs as the meal ratios were not adhered to. I agreed that we would make an exception for people who insisted on a specific meal that we would make this at an extra cost but they took this as permission to charge for as much as they want with no proof at all and without our consent.
The staff were not trained and had no idea what they were doing to the point that some of our guests had to pay a ridiculous extra amount for wine that they ordered due to a waiter bringing bottles of wine that were priced at R800 a bottle not realising that is not the wine they requested.
They sent us a final quote of payments outstanding, firstly the quote is completely unclear what we are being charged for over and above what we have settled already. When we address the issue as we did not agree with the charges on the quote, they reply with even more charges that apparently were unaccounted for. They then give us an ultimatum 'to be nice' we can still pay the first quote alternatively they will add on the extra costs and we must pay that. (Why they didn't send the correct quote in the first place, once again proves they are extremely disorganised and dysfunctional)
Overall the staff and admin functions are a complete mess and created such a negative end to our wedding. If you are looking for a professional venue who will ensure smooth process with no hiccups then you should definitely not consider this venue.
The road to the venue is not great and the cost vs what you get will disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Valley Lodge is such a great place to unwind. The rooms we've had on the two occasions were quite big and fresh, overlooking a beautiful refreshing open garden and a lake. The swimming pool, tennis courts and the birds kept the kids entertained. The food always great but breakfast closes too early at 9. There's plenty entertainment on site and our kids loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maimane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A short drive to escape the city and you enter the beautiful country setting that this wonderful getaway is nestled in. The staff are very attentive and friendly, the food is very satisfactory. For the rooms they have everything that you need to indulge and relax we will definitely be booking there again.

Room Tip: Luxury Rooms on the river are lovely and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This resort is a great escape from the city of Johannesburg. You feel you have entered heaven by comparison. It is only a couple of hours drive from downtown. The service was top tier. Lots of staff to keep the grounds beautiful. One of the bright points of the lodge is the spa. You do not have to book a treatment to use the indoor pool, sauna, steam bath, lockers.... In any case, we did book some massages while we were there an thoroughly enjoyed them. The buffet meals were included in our room rate. The variety of foods was extensive and artistically prepared. The room itself was beautifully done; lots of privacy. We also enjoyed strolling the grounds and laying out on the lawn chairs by the outdoor pool. My wife and I enjoyed a lot of "alone time" and never felt rushed.

Room Tip: Come before check in and enjoy the facilities for the entire day. You can stay on property after ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband, our 6 month old and I went to the Valley lodge for a night stay just to unwind. We were really impressed by beautiful surroundings and were able to here the river just outside our room. The room was very spacious and modern and they were very accomadative of our little one.
Supper was a little of a let down as some of my food was stone cold in the center, but the wonderful breakfast buffet spread made up for it.
I would definitely recommend it and we will definately be returning there soon,

Room Tip: Superior room, river facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have visited Valley Lodge many times over the past few years and always enjoy the friendly staff and comfortable accommodation.

The hotel has a beautiful natural setting and is one of the founding member's of the Magalies River Conservancy

It is a luxury venue but feels relaxed and not snooty. One of my highlights is the meals which are always delicious.

The pristine Magalies River runs though the property offering some great fly fishing for guests looking to target indigenous large scale yellow fish, bass and carp.

Fly fishing clinics and team building are available for corporate and private guests.

I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: River view rooms are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUNDOWNadv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
3.2 mi away
Magalies Manor Hotel
Magalies Manor Hotel
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
57 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
264 reviews
7.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
191 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
Sparkling Waters Hotel & Spa
#7 of 12 in Rustenburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Lodge & Spa

Property: Valley Lodge & Spa
Address: 13 Jennings Street, 1791 Krugersdorp, Magaliesburg 1790, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the banks of the Magalies river and just an hours drive from the centre of Gauteng, the Valley Lodge & Spa offers superior accommodation in a majestic, natural setting. An ideal getaway for the busy executive needing time out, to reconnect with family or a haven of tranuility for a romantic weekend. Choose from our 76 well appointed,individually furnished rooms and spoil your senses with an array of world class treatments in our Spa & Hydra Therapy centre. Be it the private fire lit Saunders bar or the entertainment of Maloneys bar with a full size billiards table, pool table, darts & fooseball, Valley Lodge & Spa offers variety throughout its 250 acres. With natural winding paths and trails around the Magalies river, a private nature reserve boasting old stone age ruins, and for the more energetic guest, rowing boats, tennis courts and a swimming pool. Sunday lunch is still a popular attraction for city dwellers looking for a day away from the urban stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Valley Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing