We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romatic gateway”
Review of Valley Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Valley Lodge & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
“romatic gateway”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

the place is okay for relaxing gateway but the rooms don't look as luxurious as in the website .our luxury room looked like the standard room for me .the bathroom definitely need upgrade .
I was disappointed that some of my special request where not noted by the reservation person.


Room Tip: the bath rooms for luxury rooms facing the river need upgrade .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ElwiNe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Elwine111,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us at the Valley Lodge & Spa in Magaliesburg.
I would like to apologise for the disapointment of the Room type that you were accommodated in, as well as our team failing to deliver on specified requests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future and exceed your expectations.

Yours in hospitality,

Nelson Rodrigues
General Manager
Valley Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    72
    45
    25
    22
See reviews for
51
142
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Absolute fabulous experience - definitely a must. Treated us like royalty. Felt special. Beautiful surroundings and very peaceful!!! Loved the pizza oven and food was top quality. Even the spa had us a awe.

Room Tip: Nothing at all - fabulous. Décor amazing!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank 15Rudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 15Rudi,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we are most pleased to hear that your experience with Valley Lodge & Spa was enjoyable & memorable. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours in hospitality,

Nelson Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hi There,
My husband, son and I stayed over this past weekend, I would like to let you know how we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the room (#17) was awesome, clean and well equipped. The staff are super friendly and helpful, the food was delicious. We unfortunately passed on the spa treatment as our son was with us, but I am sure there will be a next time. We would definitely recommend your lodge to anyone and everyone. Thank you 
Kind Regards,
Claudine Dick

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mecer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Claudine,

Thank you for your generous compliments and feedback from your stay with us at Valley Lodge & Spa. I am pleased to hear of your enjoyable stay, your commetns are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team.

I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.


Yours in hospitality,



Nelson Rodrigues

General Manager
Valley Lodge & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

When calling the reception staff informed us(several times) that there was no availability. We looked online and there was availability. We booked a luxury room at a higher price then on the hotels website. The room was nicely decorated, but everything was broken and it was on the outskirts of the property(very remote and felt unsafe). The heater, the bed blanket heater, the tea kettle, the bathroom was also dirty. When we spoke to reception they happily upgraded us to a Superior Room. I enjoyed the decor, but this was definitely not worth the R3,050.00 rate. For an extra R1,000.00 you could stay at the W on South Beach in Miami. We did only pay the luxury room rate, and there have special offered rates per season, but I don't think even with the discount it's worth it. The dining room is a buffet only - that was an unpleasant surprise. The buffet was very poor quality, as well.

Room Tip: Look on their website for their special rates, and choose a superior room. Avoid the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreapdiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear andreapdiaz,

Thank you for taking the time in providing us with your feedback. I was most distressed to learn of the various embarrassing operational lapses you experienced with regards to your recent stay at Valley Lodge & Spa.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the unacceptable level of service you encountered and I would like to assure you that this is certainly not the standard in which we strive to achieve.

Guest feedback forms a vital part of our business, and the input we receive from our guests is imperative for us to ensure that your expectations are being met and exceeded. Without your comments, we would never know whether you leave our establishment completely satisfied, but more importantly, leave disappointed and dissatisfied!

I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.


Yours in hospitality,

Nelson Rodrigues
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My fiance took me to this place for the weekend, to celebrate my 30th birthday! Beautiful gardens, warm and friendly ambiance in the room (we had the superior room). The underfloor heating and electric blankets made the very cold weekend a delightful stay - temperatures dropped to minus 6degrees and highs of only 14 degrees, with sharp, cold winds. The spa was also a wonderful experience, one of the best massages I have ever received. We plan to visit this place again in the summer.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are the best - if you want a romantic experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daffiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Daffiez,

Thank you for your generous comments, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable 30 birthday celebration whilst staying with us at the Valley Lodge & Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and for many more special occasions.


Yours in hospitality,

Nelson Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff and zebras were there to greet us and take us to our room. A welcome note (which included a voucher for the spa) and a plate of treats waiting for us in the room was an unexpected surprise . The lodge is situated perfectly for those who want to do some sight seeing or just to have a relaxed weekend to Rejuvenate and get you ready for the week ahead. Loved the bed and and the twin shower heads in the bathroom, a must for a romantic night away. Valley Lodge, we want to see you again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, General Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Claudia S,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we are most pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Yours in hospitality,

Nelson Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I last stayed at Valley Lodge about five or six years ago and what a pleasant surprise it was to experience the transformation that the hotel has undergone. The hotel management have obviously invested quite a lot in the refurbishment of the establishment and the change is very welcome and quite wonderful. Our weekend retreat included a stay in one of their superior rooms, which easily outmatched two other 5-star establishments we've experienced in Magaliesburg. The room was huge and included a roomy lounge area, a bathroom with a double shower, sink and bathtub, as well as a private patio overlooking the river. The decor is modern yet comfortable and welcoming at the same time. The added comforts of having electric blankets in the bed, an aircon with heat mode, an underfloor heated bathroom, and a generously stocked tea/coffee station made it a truly 5-star experience on a chilly winter weekend.

The overall service at the hotel was great. Staff was friendly and helpful and generally unobtrusive. Breakfast and dinner took the form of generous buffets with something for everyone, and their wood fired pizza eaten on their patio overlooking the pool makes for a fabulous holiday lunch. We made a point of using their spa facilities and were thrilled that we did. It was a thoroughly relaxing experience and small enough not to feel over-crowded with other clients.

We had a wonderful weekend breakaway at Valley Lodge and look forward to a return visit some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeerkatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCD-Rodrigues, Manager at Valley Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MeerkatV,

Thank you for returing to the Valley Lodge & Spa, and for sending us your lovely feedback, we are most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Nelson Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaliesburg
1.3 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
3.2 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
19.5 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valley Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valley Lodge & Spa

Property: Valley Lodge & Spa
Address: 13 Jennings Street, 1791 Krugersdorp, Magaliesburg 1790, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Magaliesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Magaliesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Valley Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the banks of the Magalies river and just an hours drive from the centre of Gauteng, the Valley Lodge & Spa offers superior accommodation in a majestic, natural setting. An ideal getaway for the busy executive needing time out, to reconnect with family or a haven of tranuility for a romantic weekend. Choose from our 76 well appointed,individually furnished rooms and spoil your senses with an array of world class treatments in our Spa & Hydra Therapy centre. Be it the private fire lit Saunders bar or the entertainment of Maloneys bar with a full size billiards table, pool table, darts & fooseball, Valley Lodge & Spa offers variety throughout its 250 acres. With natural winding paths and trails around the Magalies river, a private nature reserve boasting old stone age ruins, and for the more energetic guest, rowing boats, tennis courts and a swimming pool. Sunday lunch is still a popular attraction for city dwellers looking for a day away from the urban stress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Valley Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Hotel Magaliesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing