We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Pleasant Stay”
Review of Sierra on Main

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sierra on Main
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
“Good, Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I must start off by complimenting the receptionist, Connie, who handled my check in, she was very friendly and efficient.
I had breakfast every morning of my three day stay, and must say it was very good, and the selection was vast.
Will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: The double room I stayed in was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr0012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PieterViljoen, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Good day

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Randburg Towers Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
3
6
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The check-in wasn't a pleasant experience. The credit card machine wasn't working and I was asked to walk to the Randburg Inn reception to have my card swiped. This also took around 15 minutes since that machine also had connection problems. The rooms are not practical and mine had no bedside tables. No bar fridge to keep water or drinks chilled and no room safe. No free wi fi, not even for a limited time. For the first time ever at a hotel I was asked to open the boot of my car for inspection every time I left the hotel in my car. I was woken at 6am by staff shouting down the hallway. Not likely that I will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Enigma15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PieterViljoen, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Good day

We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Firstly, in terms of your check in, it is unfortunate that the day that you checked in we were in the process of having our credit card facility upgraded to a sim system, instead of a telephone line. We apologize that this was not communicated to you upon check in.
Secondly, we went to check the room which you occupied, and the room definitely had bedside tables in it, we are not sure as to what you expected from the bedside tables.
Furthermore, we are a three star establishment, and are not required to have bar fridges in our rooms, and have also opted not to have fridges in the rooms.
Also, we have safes available for our guests in our reception area, and are currently in the process of having all of our bedrooms fitted with safes.
Unfortunately, we do not offer free wi-fi, and we see that you made your booking via "booking.com", which lists all the facilities available in the hotel. It clearly states that wi-fi is offered at a cost. However, we are looking in to the possibility of offering our guests free wi-fi.
Then, checking the boots of vehicles leaving the Hotel is standard security policy of our hotel, and serves not only for the protection of our assets, but also our guests safety and protection.
Lastly, our staff are not permitted to be in the passages before nine in the morning, we believe that you must have been woken by other hotel guests, and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

We hope that you would consider our hotel for your next stay in Johannesburg, and afford us the opportunity to prove to you that we are your best choice in three star accommodation in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Randburg hotels

Umzumbe, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Have to give very mixed review of this hotel. Was very dissappointed with the fact that we could not charge to our room and pay one single bill with my debit card, I had to have a heated discussion with management to finally be allowed to do this. We had invited family to join us for drinks and supper, so spent quite a lot of money and who carries that amount of cash in this day and age. Also my husband and I asked if we could take one of our drinks to the room and were refused as the glasses are not allowed to leave the bar area. Ordered fillet steak and mushroom sauce. The steak was perfect, unfortunately the vegetables and sauce were freezing cold which totally ruined the whole meal. The room was clean but my husband, an average sized male slept with his feet hanging out the bed as the bed was tiny. The ground floor toilet facilities were being renovated, one can understand and accept this but the first floor passage, where you had to go was in total darkness, why couldn't they have put some lights on.The breakfast was very nice. This could be a lovely hotel if they iron out these problems, but I would be very wary of booking this hotel again. I have to admit that the manager did keep apologising for all the mistakes but unfortunately his apology did not help us enjoy a freezing cold meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret6112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PieterViljoen, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We thank you for posting your review, we view all complaints in a very serious nature, and after an in-depth investigation we would like to address the following regarding your review:
1. Hotel policy does not permit guests to charge accounts to their rooms, however, upon check in, guests have the option of prepaying for certain incidentals like food, beverages etc., something the reviewer chose not to do;
2. Guests are able to pay via debit/credit at any stage when they order drinks or food, so there is no need for carrying cash;
3. We do not offer room service, and therefore, do not allow any meals or drinks to be consumed in our bedrooms; we have a very neat, cozy bar, equipped with DSTV where our guests can enjoy a few drinks as well as meals before retiring to their rooms;
4. We found that the reviewer only complained about the vegetables being cold after the meal was completed. We urge our guests to report any problems with food or service immediately, so that our trained staff can rectify any possible problems right away;
5. Our Hotel, as any other, make use of standard sized beds:
6. The Hotel's first floor consists of conference rooms, which operate from 07H00 to 17H00 daily. After hours it is policy to close this area, which is the reason it was dark - we are not sure as to why the reviewer did not make use of our newly renovated toilets, near to the restaurant area;
7. As mentioned by the reviewer, our buffet breakfasts are very good. We encourage all our guests to start every morning with our wide selection of breakfast items on the buffet.

The reviewer admits that the rooms were clean, breakfast was nice, managers were on hand to assist, and yet we received a poor rating?

As for the two star, I urge the reviewer to find the same standard of accommodation and service levels, at a better price in Johannesburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The hotel is good and clean. The food is somehow salty and the variety somehow limited. It is however in a cool place and access to shopping malls is good. The reception staff are very helpful and would be one reason I would go back there. The staff are great. Kudos to them.

If going for a workshop, carry some writing material since they only give you a few pieces of paper to write on.

Room Tip: If you can get corner rooms the better since you will have less distraction from those passing on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjoeppie, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Good day

We are pleased to hear that our staff made your stay a memorable one.

We, do, however, wish to inform you that we have appointed a new catering manager who will be overseeing the variety and quality of food.

Furthermore, we have upgraded our conferencing writing material, to a complimentary conference pad, and pen.

We wish to see you again soon, and that your next experience with us will prove to you our commitment to customer service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Excellent customer service! Had a printer problem and your Guest Relations officer Chanel went out of her way to help us. A night time complaint about noisy guest was also seen to immediately. Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjoeppie, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Good day

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come again soon and come see the renovations that we have done.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My staff and i attended a training function on 17-05-2013 at the randburg towers. The staff were amazing, i was late and missed the finger snacks but a fresh plate was prepared for me never the less. The facility was just what was needed and more then expected. After the function we enjoyed the dinner which was amazing well done to the shef. To be honest we only got out of there just before midnight. Thank you for making the search networx team feeling at home.
I must say the staff were amazing all day, we will be back.......
Dean Schenkl Managing Director

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schenkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjoeppie, General Manager at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Hi

We are pleased that you enjoyed your function with us, and look forward to taking care of your needs again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My delegates and i were very delighted with the overall service.
The room was warm and spacious and the food was very nice and to our satisfaction

The staff at the office and the restaurant were also very service oriented.

We particularly commend, Phillip, Chanel and Lisa for they friendly help.

Room Tip: Jasmyn Conference Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chanel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburgtowers, Owner at Sierra on Main, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hi.
We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and cant wait to take care of your needs again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
0.6 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
0.5 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
5.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.9 mi away
Twin Waters Guest House
Twin Waters Guest House
#5 of 55 in Randburg
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra on Main

Property: Sierra on Main
Address: Republic RD & Main Ave, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Randburg Towers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sierra on Main 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra on Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randburg Towers Hotel Johannesburg
Sierra On Main Randburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing