We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge
Sasolburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge is lovely, situated close to Monte Casino and has a great little shopping centre about 2kms away. The only bad thing is the road leading into Hoyohoyo is very bad in terms of potholes. The establishment itself is lovely clean and very comfortable. The rooms are more than big eough for the evening stay that we stayed and has a microwave, kettle and a fridge in the little kitchenette. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Unfortunately though they are not very smoker friendly in the sense that they don't have any ashtrays on the premises. They are very accomodating though and made a plan. The massages were absolutely amazing and the ladies doing the massages are on par with some of the best in the business. Dinner was delicious as well just found the starters and dessert was a bit expensive for what you got. All in all though for a business or pleasure stay I would recommend Hoyohoyo and work in a massage if you can it is worth it ten times over!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We had booked a nights stay at Hoyohoyo with a Groupon deal, including a massage each. The massage was lovely, but the female masseur had a heavy cold and was huffing and puffing and coughing during the treatment. The room was average with dated furniture, a tv with a very limited choice of channels. The heater did not work but was quickly replaced with another one. What was really bad is that there was no cellphone reception and/or wifi. We decided not to to stay the night and went home instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnemiekPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a wonderful expirience we had.
The service was wonderful too,
On our last day we wanted to have a facial earlier than the requested time,they just spoke to the manager and all was arranged.Thank u

Room Tip: Kindly relook on the directions given on the internet they are not quite clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonhlanhlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

On our way back from Zimbabwe we spent a night at the Hoyohoyo Chartwell lodge. Something went wrong with our booking, but the manager was very gracious with how she handled it. Something can always go wrong, but very often managers handle it badly. At Hoyohoyo we felt like we were at the centre of attention, as it should be.

Next to that the rooms were spacious, clean and big. Though it was only for a short night we would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went for a weekend and were treated like royalty. Every staff member was friendly and went out of their way. The place was clean and the room had everything we wanted. We had a half day spa and it was world class. Thank you for such a wonderful time and we look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank froomfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We were a group of young ladies who stayed there for a night. It was the BEST service that I have experienced, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, neat and clean. I will definitely recommend anyone to go there. It is also close to Lanseria airport as well as other amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randburg hotels
8.0 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
38 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
8.1 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
7.1 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#10 of 55 in Randburg
85 reviews
5.2 mi away
Twin Waters Guest House
Twin Waters Guest House
#5 of 55 in Randburg
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge

Property: Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge
Address: 130 Romney Avenue | Chartwell, Randburg 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoyohoyo Chartwell Lodge Randburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing