We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel next to Bright Water Commons” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Johannesburg Randburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Nice hotel next to Bright Water Commons”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

this hotel is in a great location, right outside the Bright Water Commons. It's a standard hotel with standard rooms, but very nice, clean and comfortable with a flat screen TV. The staff at reception and in the restaurant are very nice and friendly. Buffet breakfast was nice - with fruit and yogurt, cereals, eggs/omelette station and muffins.. delicious. My only thing was that the restaurant was closed for dinner and we wanted to have coffee/tea downstairs with some friends after the show we attended but when we got back to the hotel, the bar was already closed so we had to venture out to a McDonalds close by... but apart from that, very nice hotel. I would definitely stay there again :) (no spa that I saw so that's why rating for it says terrible - it won't let me change that)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleBarrettTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    67
    48
    6
    13
See reviews for
19
38
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel - so do not expect to have a 5 star experience. It is a completely adequate hotel to book for a few days - if you need to be in the area for work purposes. The carpets at the elevators and in the hallways look dirty - so that's not a fantastic welcome to guests - however, the rooms are clean. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, and styled slightly old fashioned. There is no restaurant on premises, so you are advised to either eat at brightwater commons - a shopping centre right next door to the hotel - or order in. Either way, the choices are good for dinner. Breakfast is very limited for vegetarians unfortunately, and, for religious reasons, I choose to be on a vegetarian diet when I'm staying away from home. The breakfast choices for a vegetarian diet do not come close to the amount paid for the breakfast. Wifi is also a problem at the hotel, so ensure that should you need to connect to the net, you have alternate means to connect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

plus = good location in Joburg - close to a (secured) shopping centre, incl. different good restaurants (can recommend the fantastic steaks in "Scrooge"-restaurant). Standard hotel rooms with everything in perfect working order. Very generous Breakfast Buffet.

minus = Staff at check-in was very confused about our booking (made on booking.com). we had booked 2 rooms : 1 room had to be paid, and another room was already paid for directly to the hotel - as it was a hot-deal (non refundable). At first he claimed that both rooms had to be paid and it took a while before discovering that 1 had already been paid. Then he charged the second room at a wrong rate, so we had to make a second payment when we checked out the other day. Not very re-assuring ... .
AC in our room was very noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Was absolute gold - ran up to some minor issues with our rooms, and the staff were extremely helpful. Will forgive room faults for all that service. Fantastic breakfast too - was impressed, and so was the family.

Room Tip: Check air-conditioning unit and hot water - some rooms have minor issues, extremely helpful staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Random_Traveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
0.3 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sierra on Main
Sierra on Main
#7 of 7 in Randburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#36 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
2.0 mi away
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
9.7 mi away
Mercure Suites Bedfordview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Johannesburg Randburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Johannesburg Randburg

Property: Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Address: Cnr Republic Rd & Brightwater Commons Road | PO Box 2438, Randburg 2125, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Johannesburg Randburg 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the outskirts, facing the new shopping center Brightwater Commons, previously known as the Randburg Waterfront shopping & entertainment centre. 30 min from Jo'burg international airport, 104 air conditioned rooms, breakfast restaurant, bar, 2 conference rooms, secure parking and 24h security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mercure Johannesburg Randburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg Hotel Randburg
Accor Johannesburg Randburg
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing