We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ferndale Lodge - a conveniently situated 'home from home'”
Review of Ferndale Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Randburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ferndale Lodge
Ranked #19 of 55 Randburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed 2 times at Ferndale Lodge this year, when we have been in South Africa,
It has a friendly 'home from home' atmosphere, B&B with great English breakfast buffets. and when we were hungry and thirsty, they showed us good local Restaurants (Ocean Basket), Pubs (M'Gintys), and Shopping Centre (Woolworths/ Clicks/ P & P) all within a few minutes walking distance.
Going back again in December!

Room Tip: good quiet location, no traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneBJanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Ferndale Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our company is based in Randburg and Ferndale Lodge is ALWAYS my first choice when looking for accommodation for clients/training delegates visiting us. Would recommend Gordon, Gerrit and his team and Ferndale Lodge to everyone looking for good accommodation in Randburg. They really look after their guests and have a stunning set-up!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As a regular business guest on a monthly basis (up to 8 days a month) of Gordon and his staff for the last 5 years or so you can trust my review. Nothing is ever too much of a palaver. I like a beer glass and a full sized cake of soap in my room and after my first stay, years ago, they are standard items when I arrive. The rooms are comfy, user friendly and meticulously cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfasts are buffet style designed for the hungry, including at least 4 fruits cut into portions, every day of the year! Gordon and his staff are extremely attentive in the dining area, to almost every whim.The landscaping and pool area are kept in pristine condition. If you are looking for a computer store, an exotic Thai restaurant or spice shop, continental butchery, medical facility or second hand habber dashery, just ask Gordon. Ferndale Lodge MUST be your first choice for self catering in Randburg! Regards Clive Booysen

Room Tip: There are 4 mini chalets set under beautiful evergreen trees near the top of the property with your...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive-Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed here with a school sports tour.

I was dubious at first by appearance of the rooms but soon began to appreciate the quaint rooms and the attention to detail by the owner and staff. Breakfast was substantial and a laundry service was available. The accommodation also had a swimming pool and for 25 rand a day, you could buy wifi access.

Overall, would recommend Ferndale lodge and is handily placed for Randburg and ideal for sports tours.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Road Lodge Randburg
Road Lodge Randburg
#5 of 7 in Randburg
39 reviews
2.7 mi away
Twin Waters Guest House
Twin Waters Guest House
#5 of 55 in Randburg
102 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
0.6 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
0.9 mi away
Angel Guest House
Angel Guest House
#7 of 55 in Randburg
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferndale Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferndale Lodge

Address: 271 Pine Avenue | Ferndale, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Randburg
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN BRIEF:- * In operation for over 18 years. * TGCSA = 3 Stars. * In excess of 14 rooms. * Family rooms available. * Group and sports/school teams welcome. * Quiet environment. * Fridges, microwaves, TV's and entrance from private patio. * English style buffet breakfast ( please note times below) * No liquor license (Liquor stores a walk away) * One acre of beautiful gardens. * Swimming pool and BBQ areas. * Close to many shops and offices. * Wifi Internet available at reasonable cost. * Credit cards welcome. * Off-street parking. * Conference facilities available. * Full "B & B Sure" insurance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ferndale Lodge Randburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing