We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing !!!”

Tony's Spaghetti Grill
Ranked #4 of 130 Restaurants in Randburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Established in 2001, Tony's is one of Johannesburg's most popular restaurants. A South African restaurant with strong Italian influences, we serve delicious al'fresco style meals ranging from antipasti, salads, pizza and pasta, to tasty meat and seafood dishes. Our modern and spacious double volume restaurant, with a wide terrace on two sides, is the perfect spot for socializing and enjoying great food. Owner Tony, has been in the restaurant industry for over 20 years, and believes that Italian cuisine offers the broadest spectrum for innovation. At Tony's, life is delicious!!
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing !!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Very bad service and the food was over cooked. We ordered a 450g steak and I don't even think it came to 300g. These were some of the many problems we had at this awful restaurant. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    76
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Pizza - Beware, you need a booking!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

You often need to book or wait 45mins for a table, but the pizza is worth it. Other Italian offerings are also very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fugax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Food Available In SA”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We used to go to Tony's just about every weekend but that got a bit too expensive for 6 people a shot, and the smoking arrangements were not very customer focused (as far as we are concerned), So, we have been trying out other places. Today we went back for the 1st time in quite a while.

It was like coming home. All the same friendly, helpful people are still there and very welcoming. As expected, our meals were simply great as was the service from our waitron Petty.

I don't think I have ever eaten a pizza at Tony's. Their pasta dishes are just so unique, well made and tasty that I want to work my way through all of them first. My favourite is Pollo e Zuchini but today I tried out their new braised pork based penne pasta...as expected it was also flippen great. Tony's does things right. New dishes are added regularly which makes things exciting.

Cheap it's not, but that's okay, the quality is delivered. Such a pity about SA's no smoking rules hence the 4 rating which I guess is not their fault.

As far as the food goes, we just love Tony's Spaghetti Grill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meatballs magic, rest not so much”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Loved TSG in the past, but was unfortunately not impressed this time. Ordered Polpettine with linguine, pulled pork pizza and strawberry, brie & almond salad.
Pasta was overcooked so pasty and the napoletana sauce tasted like plain tomato gravy. Meatballs were the best part, moist and beautifully seasoned.
Pizza crust was quite good, thin and crsipy, but the pork was not marinated/seasoned well.
Salad was an interesting combination, but the croutons were very hard/stale and the almonds stuck to your teeth.
Atmosphere and lighting was good and it was very busy which is a good sign.
Sitting upstairs at the corner table is recommended, good view of the restaurant and the TV.

Helpful?
Thank NiKieTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We went there with friends, who had recommended them to us. Menu was extensive, food was excellent, and service exemplerary

Would highly recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueTB2962OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tony's Spaghetti Grill also viewed

Krugersdorp, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Randburg, Greater Johannesburg
Roodepoort, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Tony's Spaghetti Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing