We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place in a cosy hide away from Johannesburg city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Reviewed 4 October 2013

If there every was a place more accommodating to its guest I do not know if it could beat Idwala.
They have a five star chef to prepare your meals fresh on request. The 100 year old remodeled farm home ( 3 rooms ) is comfortable and common areas are clean and enjoyable. We stayed two nights in the main house and on return one night in the garden rooms. They both where great experiences. The garden rooms and houses are newer and more up to date than the main house and have a pleasant outdoor sitting area.
The only noticeable negative is that if there is outside noise early in the evening or mornings you do hear it. However it was peaceful during the night.
Debbie you where great !

Room Tip: If you do not mind a short outside walk, book the garden house rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ral425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

Jeanette,

I feel like I know you personally even though we did not meet because you we're not feeling well.

I at the last moment made an impromptu decision to stay two nights at Idwala Guest House, which you promptly assisted and gave value for money. In spite of our hesitation to stay, we are glad you implored us to experience at least one night. We were pleasantly surprised to find that, nestled in the hustle and bustle of the city there is an oasis like yours.

Our stay at Idwala was one of THE most fulfilling experiences that come to mind. The hospitality of
your staff is above reproach. Your 5-star rating perhaps deserves another star. Your food (especially the dinner) was a fine experience in cuisine; I had a medium rare fillet steak and my
partner the kingklip. I will single-out Paul, who I call " Idwala Masterchef", to be one of the finest in
Gauteng - and I'm saying this from vast "fine dining"experiences.

Thank you for your hospitality, expect to see us again. You will be our first reference to anyone who wants to experience excellent hospitality and fine dining experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0kwazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was a surprise - a "guesthouse" on a business trip sounds like "all hotels were full".

But... it's a luxury guesthouse like you might find an hour away from the big city - quiet, small, attention to detail, and the owner takes care of you personally. Rooms a clean and well-appointed, the grounds well kept, restaurant prepares dishes per request (there may be a menu also).

Will definitely stay here on my next trip!

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main lodge, and separate thatched roof cabins. The latter are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

An amazing, quiet, secure retreat in northern Johannesburg. A main lodge with a few rooms surrounded by duplexed rondavels with high thatched roofs. Great attention to detail in the rooms: good quality linens, very comfortable beds and pillows, roomy with comfortable chairs. Bathrooms are well appointed with separate shower, whirlpool bath, bath robes, good amenities ( even candles and lighters provided) Beautifully landscaped property with a guarded security gate. Jeanette and staff have thought of everything to make your stay an unforgettable experience. The staff are most accommodating and always have a greeting and smile. Breakfasts were amazing with great selection of breads, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, eggs, bacon/sausages, tomatoes and mushrooms. Dinners are equally as good with reasonable wine prices. Internet is free. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return.
PS Enjoy a walk in the gated residential ares nearby in early morning. Lovely areas

Room Tip: Any room would be enjoyed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 14bosley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

good place to relax after a hard day's work. The owners Hans and Jeanette are very much involved to make home away from home a positive experience. The rooms in garden bungalows are spacious, furniture and bed and bathroom linnen is of good quality. Internet access is free. Please stay for dinner. What an excellent experience.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and any will do. The guest house is situated in a residential area, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauritssuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Idwala was such a wonderful surprise. Striking architecture based on rondavels and beautiful landscaping, a completely private retreat. Lovely rooms, comfortable and well appointed beds, with great attention to detail. The food is exceptional and there is a wonderful staff.
Would love to stay there any time I have the pleasure of going back to Johannesburg.
Hillary B. New York

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hillary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Two of us, long-time friends, stayed in a twin double five nights in this lush, private, garden guest house nestled in the northern suburbs of Johannesburg. The accommodations, appointments to the rooms, meals, security, privacy, and beauty are unsurpassed. Jeanette Friese and her staff are outstanding; their attention and care for every guest and every request excellent, friendly and kind. I lived in Johannesburg for several years and this is the most wonderful accommodation I could imagine in a small boutique guest house in these suburbs, ideal for a holiday when Johannesburg is your base (with on-call drivers and tours) and especially well-suited for business travelers who need a fully functioning office away from home. Fast, reliable WiFi, quiet rooms and conference amenities are also outstanding. Stay and explore Johannesburg - a dynamic city for history, arts, theater, restaurants and style!

Room Tip: The upstairs garden view room is gorgeous, No. 11, and I would request this again and again; beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLynchStudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
1.6 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
14.6 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
356 reviews
13.7 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
232 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 67 in Johannesburg
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range: £111 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing