We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, quiet and very comfortable Johannesburg stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Safe, quiet and very comfortable Johannesburg stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This place is very welcoming and supportive of all your needs; Paul the cook is amazing and so is the whole kitchen team- mindful of- and attentive to your wishes.. The 3 course menu too much for me and my guests, who all had their own wish lists but that was catered for as if it wash;t any effort. The rooms in the main house are very spacious, yet a little more noisy (when other guests are having their breakfast/ dinner); Debbie, the manager, a whirlwind that takes care that you are ok- she helped me with a wrong car that I hired from the airport- by actually phoning their office twice and turning the car around for me- while I was working.
The trip from JNB airport an easy one, just mainly highway;
The nearby 4th street a lovely local place to wander around (antique shops and lots of cafe's/ restaurants); We worked at Idwala- several times, hiring their main conference room; a recommendable and professional experience as well.

Room Tip: Main house rooms are very nice and spacious, a little change of hearing other guests when in room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmaria v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala - we really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards from the Idwala Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
31
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fantastic place, they organized everything for me, transport from airport to hotel, and to all my destinations. They perfectly made everything as promised.
When they say the food is fresh in the restaurant, it means really fresh, they ask you after breakfast what you would prefer for dinner, then they go and buy it. You just tell the general idea, and they surprise you with great food!
I think this is one of, if not the best place I ever stayed with!

Room Tip: Stay in one of the guest houses, 2-4 rooms in one house, fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Idwala - we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the dinners you had in our restaurant. For both management and chef this is really rewarding, and we thank you most sincerely for your kind words! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Idwala soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at Idwala for over three weeks in October 2013, I do have say that this was most likely the best place I have ever stayed, I travel extensively for work and have traveled world wide and in no other place I've stayed was I made to feel so welcomed. The staff at Idwala really do go out of their way to make you feel at home, and the food, the food is great, many options and if its not on the menu, they still often cook what you want. The food is fresh, and prepared daily. I hope to travel back to South Africa and when I do, I will certainly be staying at Idwala, five star all the way,

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your long stay at Idwala and that you were so very satisfied with the meals we served. We really enjoyed having you at Idwala - please do return soon to enjoy more dinners! Best regards from the Idwala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binbrook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

As soon as I looked at Idwala's website, I was drawn in to the magic of this place.
It truly is a hidden, lush oasis tucked away within Jo-Burg.
The photos are amazing and they do capture the curiosity I felt in anticipation of staying here.
A high-end hotel does not come close to rivalling Idwala.
The Garden Rooms were very unique with their circular walls and thatched roofs.
The room was certainly spacious enough accommodating the bed, sitting area, computer counter, big closets, generous size bathroom and bistro-style sitting area outside of the room.
The room was attended to daily and the bed couldn't have been made up any fresher than it was. After coming home from our excursions each day this room was a definite welcoming space to unwind and rest. The Idwala grounds were also very special with their earthly elements of brick, natural stone, plants, trees and flowers. There are lovely bushes of jasmine right outside your door and their fragrance was released each day by the warming sun.
This attentive atmosphere was also present at the main building which housed other guest rooms, a welcoming dining room and an expansive gathering area consisting of 3 distinctive over-sized spaces with full sized sofas, accompanying chairs and huge coffee tables which were perfect for quiet meetings or more social conversations. Outside of this area there was a very lush oasis consisting of a plunge pool with a waterfall, padded recliners and patio tables and chairs. Mother nature was surely inviting those who love to be enfolded by the outdoors. During our stay when we took a break from our sight-seeing, we had our lunches and dinners in this garden setting. Chef Paul offered his 5-star expertise with his unique gourmet meals. Each meal was plated invitingly and all cuts of meat were cooked according to your taste.
A must try is the prawn-avocado salad, breakfast omelette, Chef Paul's Idwala steak and melba pudding dessert. Idwala will also attend to your meals if you get together with friends not staying at the Guest House. My husband had such an opportunity and his guests were quite amazed by this welcoming. The best for last are the people who dedicate their time and service to this wonderful getaway. There is a very pleasant welcome awaiting you as you arrive and each member of the staff will introduce themselves to you - this is the magic. If you are a quiet person and value your privacy then this will be respected by the staff. Likewise if you enjoy a more social visit then the team at Idwala will be glad to hear about your interests in South Africa. If you will be relying on the Guest House to suggest daily excursions then you can expect a most knowledgable tour to be arranged to such places as the Mandela House, the Pilanesberg Game Reserve, the Apartheid Museum or the Cradle of Humankind to name a few. Idwala's manager, Debbie, is very competent and resourceful and will make sure your every need is taken care of. From suggesting restaurants that are in the Jo-Burg district to arranging a flight to Cape Town she will be sure to make your stay a valuable one. She has excellent communication with all of the staff and this is the Idwala family that you will come to know and rely on. The owners Jeanette and Hans will surely make your acquaintance and see to it that your stay here in their 'home' is what you expect.
This was such a unique vacation for my husband and I as we have never visited South Africa before. The Idwala Guest House was truly an unexpected surprise and we cannot say enough about our time spent there. If you are looking for an exclusive and distinct getaway within the city of Johannesburg then this is the place to lay your head and relax.
Thank you to all of the staff at Idwala Guest House. We can't wait to visit you once again.

Room Tip: The exclusive Garden Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Words cannot express how thrilled we were with your wonderful review of Idwala! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were also able to enjoy Johannesburg and all it has to offer to our overseas visitors. Please do return again for another visit so that we can spoil you, prepare even more delicious meals for you, and enjoy your company! Best regards to both you and your husband from the Idwala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Had a wonderful four nights at the lodge. We were in a garden room which was very comfortable. We loved the peace and quiet. We only ate breakfast there which was excellent. The staff were very helpful. We can definitely recommend this lodge and hopefully will return in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roslynb176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Idwala! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Idwala soon. Best regards from the Idwala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I travelled to South Africa the 6th of October to attend and observe an auction however I ended up buying a huge amount of inventory. Before coming I found the Idwala Guest House on the internet and had booked rooms for a few nights. I hastened to prolong my stay as I knew it would take a long time to ship the goods from the auction. I brought over two other members of our staff and booked rooms for them at Idwala. We worked six days a week with a crew of fifteen local workers packing and shipping goods and kept stretching out our stay for nearly a month. The manager Debbie Harris was very accommodating shifting room reservations around to make room for us, and at the same time working hard to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The chef Paul is an excellent cook and each evening meal was a feast of delicious and unique food, from Prawns in savory garlic to Ostrich Steaks with a tangy spicy apple accompaniment. Debbie also pointed us at several fantastic local restaurants just for a change of scene, and booked trips to game parks and golf for the weekends. The rooms are actually unique roundels with thatched ceilings and an abundance of warm stone and tile (heated floors). The three of us regarded Idwala as our retreat from the bustling city of Johannesburg and a welcome oasis at the end of day, with ready drinks at the bar, and the girls experimenting with new cocktail mixes which we were delighted to sample. The rooms are set in a lush landscape of greenery and flowers with winding stone walled walkways of interlocking brick leading to the main building housing the central dining room and intimate bar. Idwala is a home away from home with all the comforts and the added plus of timely and efficient room service, beds made, clean towels (heated rack) and prompt laundry....all one could ask for and more. My month passed very quickly and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Definitely a FIVE STAR establishment...we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillDaleQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanetteFriese, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review you wrote - we are delighted that you felt so comfortable at Idwala and enjoyed your long stay with us. Please do return again - if not for business then just so that we can ensure you have a wonderful holiday and more delicious meals! Best regards from all the Idwala Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Spent two weeks here. Very nice welcome from Paul and the team. Exceptional service from Debbie who was always willing to make stay enjoyable.

Common area (dining space) is beautiful and sets to tone of the Guest houses. Very traditional settings with thatched roofs and African artwork.

Stayed in Olive cottage. Could do with some minor upgrades. Had to ask for new iron and ironing board because they were both in poor condition (they were replaced same day but should not have had to ask). Alarm clock was a $3 throw away. Very old television and only in living room (none in bedroom). Bathroom is outdated. Room can get a little cool. Staff leave windows open after cleaning which brings in the bugs. Wireless available but slow and weak.

I have stayed in better. For price, the management should invest more in the experience in the rooms. If visiting for business be aware of no early checkout. Yes this is a prepay and specified no refund but a little more flexibility should be expected for business travel. Owner originaly said no for refund but next day offered credit (two nights) for a future stay.

I will not return...not because of the service but because there are better if you look at others. It is also very isolated without transport.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms but Olive cottage does give more space (separate living room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idwala, Owner at Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Paul,

We are happy to hear that our team delivered good service to you. We are thankful to receive reviews from experienced travellers like you, as we find it essential to listen & learn and to improve areas our guests point out to us. We will take action as you suggested in Olive Cottage. Just a note on the business check out: we gladly offer early check out by arrangement and arrange transport solutions for our guests on a daily basis.

Thanks again for your feedback

Best regards
J Friese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randburg
1.6 mi away
The Fairway Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
2.3 mi away
Apollo Conferencing Hotel
2.0 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
212 reviews
4.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
5.2 mi away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 68 in Johannesburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg

Property: Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg
Address: 13 Garrick Road | Johannesburg, Randburg 2194, South Africa (Formerly Idwala Boutique Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Randburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Randburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Lodge Feeling in one of Johannesburg's finest Boutique Hotel! Enjoy an African 5 Star Experience in the middle of Johannesburg with perfect access to business areas and tourist attractions. For both tourist and executive alike, Idwala offers tranquil surroundings where you can immerse yourself in luxury while at the same time carry out your business efficiently. Room Service, Laundry, Credit Cards, secure parking, conferences, wireless ADSL, transfers/tours, booking services, Restaurant on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idwala Boutique Hotel Johannesburg Randburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing