We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service”
Review of Buhoma Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buhoma Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best run lodges anywhere. Titus is an amazing manager who pays infinite attention to detail. The rooms are lovely as is the food. But nothing compares to the smiles and thoughtfulness of the staff. You will NOT be sorry that you stayed here. That's a promise.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The service at the Buhoma was second to none. Many Australian hotels could learn a lot about service provision from this humble lodge. I have been critical in previous reviews of some of the hotels in Australia and the lack of service and basic inclusions.

The Buhoma optimised its facilities by the provision of exceptional service. A simple example is after we returned from Gorilla Trekking we left our wet and muddy joggers on our room and retired tired and exhausted. The next morning when we got up our shoes were missing and we thought they may have been taken by some of the resident monkeys! To our surprise they had been taken, washed and dried by the staff ready for our collection! Unreal!

The vista from the balcony of our room was sensational and the room itself very comfortable and quite uniquely fitted out.

I would not hesitate in recommending the Buhoma and if I ever return to Bwindi I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Unless you have mobility issues I would recommend one of the elevated rooms. Whilst there are a numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very welcoming lodge. The accomodation was excellent. We stayed in hut 3 and felt like we were on top of the world with spectacular mountain views. Clean, spacious, well designed and great use of natural elements used. Really enjoyed our wakeup coffee on the balcony at 6.30am and watching the mist pass through the mountains. Intimate lodge where everyone was helpful and friendly. The complimentary massages after the gorilla treks were a treat.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I spent three nights at Buhoma during my trip to Bwindi National Park. I couldn't have been more thrilled with my stay. I have stayed at eco-friendly luxury lodges in both Kenya and Uganda, Buhoma has been my favorite so far. The staff consists of local employees who are very helpful and kind. They made me feel right at home, especially during the night where I was the only guest. The rooms are outstanding, their location provides an excellent view of the forest and the sounds of nature at night. The rooms have hot water (you'll need to wait a few minutes though) and are very comfortable. You can only access power outlets and wifi (very good connection) in the lounge area. However, it's very comfortable down there and you can talk to the staff and other guests. The meals are good, a combination of Ugandan cuisine and western flavors. I was mostly satisfied with the food (packed lunch for trekking was very good). Buhoma is also conveniently located in terms of Gorilla trekking as it is only a minute or two away from the starting point. The bar features a nice selection of beers (aimed to cater a foreign audience) but also the local tusker brand. Finally, after trekking, the hotel offers laundry services (excluding underwear), shoe cleaning and massages all free of extra charge. Having you dirty clothes and shoes cleaned was very helpful. In conclusion, I had a great stay at the Buhoma lodge and would not hesitate to return if possible. I recommend the lodge to anyone looking for a special experience in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest.

Room Tip: Try picking a room on the top row of suites (rooms 4,5, and 6) as they have the best views of the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

WE spent almost 3 weeks in Uganda and traveled to 3 Eco lodges. Buhoma was our top choice for the best service. The staff was attentive and available...always. They took good care of us and we were weary travelers for a few days! If anyone is planning on doing the gorilla trek, I would highly recommend Buhoma as your main base. Besides complimentary massages, they washed our dirty clothes, and cleaned our boots like new! The food was delicious at every meal. We could not have asked for a better stay and better service. Wake up call accompanied by steaming hot coffee......heaven! Thank You Buhoma Lodge!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crabbkakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel's staff is excellent! Even though the massage therapists were supposed to be done for the day, they stayed longer to accommodate our late return from the trek. The property itself is pretty as are the rooms. But there are no windows (just screens) so during rainy season, which is when we there, the rooms are cold. They did give us warm heating pads for the beds so I still had a cozy night's sleep. But walking around in our room before and after shower was chilly. And after a 7 hour hike some of which was in the rain and thus we were wet, I wanted a cozy, warm room. Also the dining area is open so we had a cold dinner as well. Again, they attempted to warm us up by bringing little stove heaters but it wasn't quite enough. And for the money we paid, it was disappointing to be so cold. But again, the staff are awesome!! And when it started raining, I was happy the hotel had umbrellas to lend us as we ran back and forth from the room to the dining area.

One other drawback is that there are no outlets in the rooms. In order to charge your electronics, you have to use the outlets in the communal space in the dining area which means we weren't willing to leave our cameras/cell phones etc overnight charging. This MAY be bc of sustainability issues. If that is the case, an explanation would be appreciated. Instead, we just saw it as an inconvenience not consistent with the price we paid for our room.

Overall, the staff were top notch but the lodge set-up leaves a few things to be desired.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

After a long journey it was a pleasure to arrive here and get well looked after by the staff. We cannot thank the manager enough who took time to introduce himself and chat to us about the lodge and amenities. We had some booking problems and he bent over backwards to help us have the perfect trip. Each member of staff was pleasant and friendly, thank you.

The rooms are amazing and what makes this place special and stand out from a regular hotel. Each a separate self contained unit with a ton of steps, a peaceful balcony, comfy beds and a fab bathroom. Best nights sleep in a long time.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top, worth the climb to see the sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.4 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
110 reviews
6.8 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#1 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#7 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
231 reviews
6.5 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#13 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buhoma Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buhoma Lodge

Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: £421 - £501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buhoma Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of only two lodges located within the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest National Park, Buhoma Lodge is a quality, intimate lodge with ten cottages along the hillside, situated adjacent to the forest a short distance from where gorilla tracking commences. Its peaceful location means that you may truly relax before and after your tracking experience, listening to the birds and primates of the forest. Guests can wake up to tea and coffee on their own private veranda with spectacular views of the morning mist rising off the canopy of Bwindi Forest. The cosy central lounge area with its open fire is the perfect place for guests to unwind after a hard day gorilla tracking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Buhoma Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buhoma Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Buhoma Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing