We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Location and service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gorilla Resort Camp
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Located inside the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest this hotel, part of the Sanctuary Group, is an excellent place to stay. As one family of Gorilla's lives nearby we were fortunate enough to have a visit from the family right inside the camp one morning during breakfast. It was truely amazing. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very spacious with lots of lovely nice touches - candles in the bathroom and hot water bottles to ease the aches after a day trekking.
We organised our holiday through Imagine Africa who recommended this lodge as the place to stay when visiting Uganda to visit Gorillas, and their recommendation was spot on.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maldegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at the Gorilla resort, it was our best location in Uganda,
the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The food was also delicious.
About the location I just can say that it is great and the view is breathtaking!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Positives: Charming tents as bedrooms and large reception halls / dining room. The warm water bottle inn bed in the evening is a nice touch.
Negatives: Few working lights. One of the lights started smoking. This was in room 6. Towels are not replaced even when left on the floor. They ask what time you want lunch or dinner, yet nothing is ready at the agreed upon time. There are no outlets in the rooms. While they take your electronics to charge them for you overnight, not everything comes back charged. This is really bad considering the importance of having charged cameras to take pictures of the gorillas. They ask what you want for a packed lunch and you get about 50% of what you asked for. Laundry you have to ask for to make sure you get it back. And everything is damp. Of course, you have to cope with the humidity as you are basically in the rainforest. That said, they could invest in a dryer.
I have informed our travel company Travelust of the fire hazard. The Gorilla Resort should fix their wiring immediately.

Room Tip: Definitely stay out of room 6 until the wiring has been fixed and check wiring in other rooms carefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed in gorilla camp resort during our honeymoon in oktober 2012. We had a great stay, the staff is very friendly, especially Fred. The drive to the starting point of the gorilla tracking was bumpy, the gorilla safari great. Every evening a hot water bottle in the bed, and shoes were cleaned after the gorilla safari.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

our stay at the Gorilla resort was great. Everyone is very nice and helpful. Rooms are very clean and the views are beautiful, it sits in a very good location to take walks in the village. I will be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The staff endeavoured to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The manager of the Camp was very attentive and wanting to meet our every need. The location was stunning and the luxury tents were spotless!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nance52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the Gorilla Resort for 3 nights in September, 2012. From the moment we arrived, it was perfection. The staff is so lovely and helpful. Our room was nice, clean and very comfortable. We booked through Travelust and were lucky to have Hakim as our guide. Our drives to the gorilla starting point were very fun and safe......the roads are quite bad, but with the right attitude you can make it fun. The driver are excellent and we never worried. I was so pleased with the food! I eat gluten free, and they made me fantastic food for every meal, including the packed lunch. I do not have any negative comments, the Gorilla Resort was fantastic.
Thank you!! We would love to return. Susannah van Heerden

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahvH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trackers Safari Lodge
Trackers Safari Lodge
#18 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
Ecomarvels Gorilla Resort Bwindi
#29 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorilla Resort Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorilla Resort Camp

Property: Gorilla Resort Camp
Address: Buhoma | Kanungu District, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Intimate, exclusive safari camp, with a breath-taking view of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest is located at Buhoma - Bwindi Impenetrable Gorilla National Park on a Mountain side. The camp has been constructed and built to the highest standards whilst retaining sympathy with the local surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gorilla Resort Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Gorilla Resort Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing