We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
368
64
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
368
64
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgorilla lodgegorilla groupgolden monkeynkuringo familyhot water bottleseast africarift valleygreat companyvery special placeremote arealocal groupbeautiful sceneryan amazing experienceonce in a lifetimesinging and dancinghour hikeworth the effort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

One of the most amazing places we have stayed in. A wonderful setting with views over the volcanoes, a lovely garden alive with birds, a warming fire pit for a late beer and a chat, communal dining where we always got to meet like-minded, fun travellers. The cottage was very comfortable and the showers piping hot and plentiful. The food was great too - different every one of our 5 nights. Everything ran smoothly under the watchful eye of Dora, a great camp manager and it was great to chat with Rob and Asagario when they were in camp too.

The highlight though and the factor which elevates this place from the very good to the exceptional is the staff. So helpful, friendly and genuine in every way. We loved them all.

Rob and Lydia organised our whole trip and it was spectacular. David was a lovely guide throughout our 3 week tour - patient, courteous and an excellent spotter and driver. Most of all though just a lovely man and a new friend.

Agatha our walking guide was a bundle of energy and fun. A great birder, a perpetual smile and so driven to be the best guide Uganda has ever seen! She will be.

The walk from Nkuringo to Lake Mutanda and dugout to Kisoro and the hike through Bwindi Impenetrable Forest to Buhoma were amazing, as were the gorilla treks. Don't just come for 1 night and trek gorillas though, stay a while and sample the life of the village, walk around the area, visit some of the community projects and get to know the staff. The scenery in the area is breathtaking and you won't regret getting to know Nkuringo a little better.

I can't recommend this camp and Nkuringo Walking Safaris highly enough.

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely. Private with amazing views. You can choose cheaper options though and everyone benefits from the attentions of the lovely staff!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devizes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I traveled to Uganda from South Africa towards the end of February this year (2014). Although we had undertaken extensive research on where we thought we should stay several months before our trip to Uganda the Nkuringo team, for a modest fee, gave us some very valuable information on how to make our entire trip more enjoyable as well as more affordable and their welcome factual advice saved us a load of booking hassles (as well as saving us money). My wife and I would highly recommend making contact with Lydia and Robert (the business partners that own the Nkuringo Gorilla camp) for anybody enthralled at the idea of spending some quality time "up close and personal" with the Nkuringo gorilla group, who (judging by comment from other "gorilla trekkers") have got to be one of the best habituated gorilla groups to seek out.

The Nkuringo gorilla camp is well laid out for maximum privacy and is lovely to look at. It also has comfortable (and clean) well equipped rooms and bathrooms - at any level of booking.
The next time we go to Uganda we will definitely book with Lydia and Robert at the Nkuringo camp. Every experience (support, accommodation and food) was well handled by their well trained team and we have zero complaints. Nora their manager is on the ball and the chef did well to keep up with my wife's gluten free diet needs. Well done Guys and thanks for everything. Grahame & Sharon (Cape Town)

Room Tip: Nkuringo gorilla camp offers several different types of rooms. We reviewed all the options whilst we were staying there and would happily recommend any of their packages to any of our friends
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahameT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed in one of the two cottages. They have ample space, a beautiful porch, a big yard. Only down side was the view from our cottage was blocked by shrubs (I would definitely trim them!) We thought their approach to providing lighting really ingenious. They provide little battery packs that you plug the lights right into. Hot water is provided for evening showers. Dinner by candle light in the evening is really quite special in the little dining hut. You can dine with other guests or on your own. The highest point on the property provides excellent views of the virungas. This is where the camping tent accomodations are. They also have hotel rooms with shared bathrooms. These looked really quite quaint if this is more in your budget. All in all a great property. Oh, if you are a birder they have an excellent guide, richard. The only downside is entering the park is quite expensive ($70/person) because they require armed guards to go with you. Not that we are complaining about needing guards. But there is plenty of birding outside the park, just less likely to see the unique forest species in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akdoghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Rob was incredible and organised a outstanding (and affordable) holiday tailored perfectly to our group. From being picked up in Kigali (Rwanda) and driven through to Nkuringo Gorilla Camp, to our return, we were looked after like family. The camp itself occupies a spectacular vista overlooking the Bwindi Impenetrable forest, combined with beautiful accommodation, awesome service (including hot water bottles in bed, and warm water to wash in the morning), delicious meals and hot showers! Rob organised several wonderful day trips and hikes which were all thoroughly enjoyable: a 17km guided hike through Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, Tracking gorillas at Rushaga, Hiking through local villages to Lake Mutando and crossing on dug-out canoes, hiking up Sabinyo volcano, chasing golden monkeys, and later habituating chimpanzees up north in the Kabale Forests. We couldn’t have asked for more from Rob, our guide Adolf, driver Elias and the whole crew at Nkuringo — it was an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Hello


We arrived at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp after an intense hike (read: climb) from Buhoma straight through the impenetrable rain forest and were very surprised of the comfort the camp had to offer.

Everything was spotlessly clean, the showers were provided with hot water (our first hot shower in two weeks in Uganda!) and the food was ab-so-lutely amazing. The tent we slept in was large enough to store a car and the beds were very comfortable.

We would definitely recommend staying (many nights) in the Gorilla Camp, also because the gorilla family which is visited from Nkuringo has been in contact with groups of human beings for already 14 years. But even if your budget doesn't allow you to go on the gorilla excursion, this accomodation and especially its nice staff will more than satisfy your needs.


Thanks for the lovely time and the delicious food we got!
Shanna and Nils
Belgium

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShannaNils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews