We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The rooms were beautifully decorated with large windows looking out to the natural landscape. The shared bathrooms are massive. We loved the grounds, with views over Bwindi Forrest and an awesome fire pit. The service was amazing with staff going out of the way to help us. We loved the blankets at dinner and hot water bottles in our bed. Definitely the best service and best value accommodation we found in Uganda. Hopefully we will be back one day!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are excellent, but the cottages are extra special with a safari tent feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Without doubt the most stunning place we stayed in Uganda, just getting here is a great adventure in itself. By day the views over the DRC were fantastic and by night the staff were able to point out the red lava poring out of one of the distant volcanoes. Just a short walk to the gorilla start point the camp is the ideal place for a luxury stay in Nkuringo. We also made the trio up Mt Sabinyo with the Walking Safaris and our guide was great company for the duration of the hike. From the moment we booked we were provided wonderful support from the office staff, promptly replying to all queries and helping us plan all our adventures in the South West of Uganda. I can't recommend either the camp or hike (if your feeling in reasonable shape) highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emolyneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is extraordinary, mountain views of DRC and Rwanda, in an exquisite part of Uganda. Fantastic staff, cosy rooms (some with, some without private bathroom, so know what you are booking), nice food, and best location for gorillas. Easy walk to the starting point. Best hot water bottles ,and after the gorilla trek, I loved the staff who bought us cokes and cookies and arranged a massage. Highly highly recommended. Thank you. Also, what amazing gorillas!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a virunga terrace room, more expensive but with views and private shower / toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent 4 nights in this wonderful lodge.
Nice accommodation, beautiful location, great food and friendly and helpful service.
Outstanding value too.
Whatever else you do in your life; you must visit this amazing country.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Nkuringo Gorilla Camp as part of the walking tour. We stayed for 2 nights in total and had an amazing time.

First impressions of our Safari tent was amazing location but we were hoping for more luxury for the price. It could of had an internal light, better chairs outside and more decoration. However the beds were very comfortable and the view is the best in the camp.

The food was amazing and the staff were very attentive. They brought you hot water bottles in the evening to warm up your bed and hot water in the morning to wash your face. They perfumed the tent during cleaning which was a nice touch.

Obviously we stayed here to do the Gorillas trek. If you are going to see Nkuringo Gorillas then the start point is only a 5 minute walk away. We were the only people booked and had a private tour which was incredible. This tour seemed to be less popular than the others after speaking to a few people which we couldn't understand, we got very close to the gorillas, so close you could touch them.

After the whole experience we would recommend people to stay here and it was worth the money. A few minor changes and it would of been perfect.

Room Tip: Safari tent has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frydayuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Simple but great accommodations, friendly staff, great food, incredible views of jungle, mountains, volcanos and the DRC!!! On the edge of a lovely friendly village and prob the easiest walk you are ever going to get to reach the gorillas. (Soooo much easier then Rwanda...and cheaper)

It is prob more simplistic (by western standards) then you would expect for the price but to put it in perspective, just look at where you are. Deep in rural Africa, on the border of the mountain gorilla territory. You can't put a price on this.

I think that it is important to understand before going to gorilla country that everything is more expensive. It has to be otherwise everyone would be there and the experience would be ruined. In retrospect, for the experience you get, even as a backpcker, I would have paid more and still been happy!

See reviews of the gorilla walk from here for info about that

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TrysE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The low down of Nkuringo--what an absolutely fantastic place in all ways! If you love the low key and communal spirit of camping, but enjoy the ease of home and appreciate incredible service--this is the place for you! Right from the get go, Lydia took care of me in Entebbe both when I arrived and left, like a family member. The guest house was a perfect place for me to rest my head, organize my backpack and take a breath from my 4 month tour of South and East Africa. The team at Nkuringo were generous, kind, sweet and so accommodating! But it was the gorilla camp was worth every moment, every cent and all the effort worth while. The camp itself is run with such love, commitment, mindfulness and care. The staff was over the top terrific! Nestor, Everest, Josephine, Florence, Irene, Dora were absolutely stellar with their efforts! The room was so comfortable and clean and the food was great! If you are in East Africa you should not miss this amazing opportunity to be close up with the Mountain Gorillas. The setting at Nkuringo is absolutely breath taking with incredible views of the Bwindi Impentrable Forest and the Vuringa Volcanoes!
This place was impressive, the staff phenomenal and the gorilla experience absolutely mind blowing. If you want to save money the tent system is also perfect! They set them up, and make you sooo comfortable. Bravo to all who run this Nkuringo Camp!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarinabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
109 reviews
7 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#6 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#5 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
245 reviews
6.6 mi away
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi
#7 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
154 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#11 of 32 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge

Address: Plot 2 Uringi Crescent Road - Entebbe | Nteko Ridge, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park 000256, Uganda
Phone Number:
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range: £133 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge is situated on the South of Bwindi National Park with stunning views over Bwindi Impenetrable Forest, the magnificent Virunga Volcanoes and the Great Albertine Rift Valley. There are 12 individually hand-crafted cottages, each offering the tranquillity of the rainforest, the atmosphere of a mountain chalet and the warm hospitality Ugandans are known for. Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge prides itself on its green credentials and through its various initiatives including solar energy and rainwater harvesting proudly operates as a carbon neutral lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nkuringo Gorilla Camp Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing