We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unforgettable stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our wonderful stay in this beautiful Lodge was unforgettable. Felix, Christine, Mare, Jennifer, Barak (and their little girl), the fantastic cooks and rest of the staff did everything to make us feel great. Felix decorated our table beautifully because it was Xmas night and after two days we were truly sorry to leave this great place. The apartment where we slept had an open fire and this was burning while we went to sleep. The view was exceptional and the walk with the locals was very interesting. The Mountain Gorilla trekking was quite hard but worth it and we will certainly come back to see the gorillas and the CMGL again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, so no reason for a tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildplacesAfrica, Manager at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks for your great review! Jenn, Mare and Felix all commented what wonderful guests you were too. We look forward to hosting you again - as promised, please come back and visit us. We hope that 2014 is a successful and happy year for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
85
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few nights to trek into the jungle to see the Mountain Gorillas, which was just amazing. The hotel is lovely and the location is spectacular. All staff are particularly wonderful and will do whatever they can to make your stay great. We would go back there in a heartbeat. It is one of the top travel experiences and stays we have ever had.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GVM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

While very hard to get to, the experience is worth the journey. We happened to be the only guests at the lodge for our three day stay, and as you might imagine the service we received was spectacular. Felix, Christine, and Friday served us extraordinarily well; the food was excellent, especially considering the logistical challenges of supplying the lodge. It was wonderful to have fresh salad and vegetables from their own garden. And, the experience while luxurious and personal, is not fake Africa where you are insulated from nearby reality. We had excellent gorilla trekking, but be prepared for a hard hike. We also enjoyed the Batwa walk. It is in the clouds which adds to the magic of the place. The lodge is a wonderful partnership with the local people. Our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bfinearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Cloud Mountain Gorilla Lodge in Bwindi is probably the best lodge I saw in Uganda. It has wonderful cottage with breathtaking landscapes and when you're there it'easy to think that there isn't a better place to be. From there you can make fantastic trekking in search of gorillas. But the most important thing is that part of the revenue arising from your stay at the lodge are intended for local community. Lodge's staff is incredibly kind and always efficent. I stayed there for three nights that i won't forget. Special mention for butler Monday, always smiling and always ready to answer any kind of request.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Main building is very nice. Individual cottages are five star. Beautiful view of the mountains. Service is excellent; you even get your own butler and housekeeper. They give you a hand massage when you check in!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear linandrich,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback about our lodge on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to have you share your thoughts with the online community. Thank you! We appreciate that very much.

Please visit us anytime you like or come visit one of our other Wildplaces properties.

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just breathtaking views, service and rooms. Although I have to say calling the accommodation a suite is a huge understatement. You could entertain there in style!

To wake up in the morning at an altitude of over 1500m surrounded by lush vegetation and look across to the hills of the Democratic Republic of Congo is just an experience we will never forget.

This, combined with having the honour of watching gorillas, was just breathtaking. My one piece of advice would be to put the camera away for a while and just let your mind take in where you are and what you can see.

Thank you Clouds.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildplacesAfrica, Senior Consultant ~ Wildplaces Africa at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Neil,

Thank you for a nice and wonderful feedback about our lodge on TripAdvisor. We agree with you, that sometimes putting away the camera will give you a whole other view on your experiences. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and please visit our " little corner of paradise" anytime!

Warm Regards,

The entire team of Wildplaces Africa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Such an Amazing Natural Place, People and the whole experience. The Excellent Service.
I just don't want the day to end while at the Clouds, and when it does end- Bulter asks: would you like a wake up call? :) Next day you get up to this amazing view with the Lodge 2000 metres above Sea level. You realize life is amazing.

Thank you Clouds Team :) Look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
6.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
224 reviews
6.5 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Engagi Lodge
The Engagi Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge

Property: Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Address: Bwindi Impenetrable National Park (South) | Booking Office: 5 Binayomba Road, Bugolobi, Kampala, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CLOUDS MOUNTAIN GORILLA LODGE Where: Southern Bwindi, Western Uganda Access from Entebbe: Scheduled or charter flight (1.5 Hrs) | drive (11 hrs) Tucked away in Nkuringo, Clouds has immediate access to track 6 gorilla families, and perfect, uninterrupted views of the Virunga Volcanoes. Guests stay in cottages built of volcanic stone, with big sitting rooms, double-sided fireplaces, vast overstuffed armchairs, large bathrooms and private verandas. Personal butlers, delicious food from our organic vegetable garden, a massage spa and infinite attention-to-detail complete your stay. Rates include all meals, non premium brand drinks, butler service and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing