We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$437
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$372
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gift of Nature Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chameleon Hill Lodge Bwindi(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$465
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bakiga Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$160
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gorilla Valley Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)(Great Value!)
US$106
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$705
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Buhoma Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
US$560
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
169
5
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
5
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshand massagepersonal butlerlocal communityliving roomprivate dinnerorganic gardenbeautiful view of the mountainsassigned butlerbefore bedtimedressing roomold manthe cottagesgreat carelog firewash your clothesseparate loungedon t miss
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed two nights at Clouds; the rooms are comfortable and clean, the Lodge itself is very well situated, and the staff are very friendly. However a true 5+* accommodation only really reveals its value in the face of the unexpected, and in our case Clouds' response to a serious problem in our room was decidedly *tourist class.* Specifically, our water heater suffered an oil leak, leading the tap water in the sinks and shower to smell of petrol. The staff allowed me to shower in a different unit and the fault was fixed, but the petrol had already lined all the pipes so there was a lingering bad smell for the remainder of our stay. In any other hotel at this price point we would have been moved immediately to a new room and/or one day would have been comped, so we were surprised by this rather uninspired response. Granted, they did ask us if everything was OK - but the point is they should figure out for themselves that the water still smells and taken it upon themselves to ensure that we were moved. As it was, since they told us it was fixed we didn't want to create more problems and assumed it was fine, only to discover later that evening after it was too late that the water still smelled. If the hotel cost $200/night this would have been understandable, not so much at five times that. Too bad - the gorillas were fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMW_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildplacesAfrica, General Manager at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Hi DMW_abroad,

Thank-you for taking the time to review Clouds. We see that you also reviewed Apoka Safari Lodge, our sister property, after your trip there post-Clouds and absolutely loved it. We appreciate all feedback, and valued what you have written.

I do wish that the situation had been handled differently and that your stay at Clouds wasn't tainted by such an unfortunate situation. There had been a water shortage at the time, and the community members who assisted in bringing in water used jerrycans that had previously been used for fuel. Unacceptable of course! I understand that the lodge was full over the time and hence you could not be moved, HOWEVER, I always believe it is not the "what" but the "how" and the whole situation should have been handled more professionally by the management at the time. Suffice to say that we have new management running the lodge now who are very skilled in handling and managing all sorts of situations.

Please do contact us should you be able to visit Uganda again and we will certainly look at doing something extra special for you at one of our four properties.

Yours Sincerely,
Wildplaces Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

On our recent Gorilla trek in Uganda we had the pleasure to stay in this amazing Lodge. Apart from its incredible views over the Bwindi jungle we were warmly welcomed by Gary and his staff and our 4 days in this piece of paradise were truly unforgettable . The community spirit is felt at all levels and personally this is what impressed me most. Food was delicious and attention given to our rooms was super, the views are breathtaking. My congratulations to Gary and his wife who make this project such a success . My one wish is to come back. Gerard

Room Tip: All super with wonderful views
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Absolutely stunning and for those looking for context, comparable with Little Governors Camp in the Masai Mara in Kenya.

Yes, it is expensive so I suppose you would expect it to be opulently furnished with excellent facilities and food (which is true on all counts for Clouds) but the qualities that set it apart from other top-end destinations for gorilla tracking are its incredible location - views of Bwindi Impenetrable Forest on one side and incredible views of the Virunga Volcano range on the other and most importantly, the levels of service provided.

Every member of staff there could not do enough to help and make you feel welcome. In particular, Mary, Friday and Jenn were fantastic and I cannot say enough nice things about each of them. Nothing was too much trouble, even arranging a birthday cake and a nice message in flowers on my bed to say Happy Birthday and helping arrange a safe and secure ride back to Kigali airport from my next destination in Kisoro when dropping me there.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge especially after a tough day hiking to see the gorillas. Best of all as the lodge is community owened, a proportion of the amount paid by each person per night is ploughed back into the community where it can make a real difference.

Room Tip: All the cottages have great views and a lovely fire but pack clothing for all occasions as it can get chilly and wet!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kurt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildplacesAfrica, General Manager at Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Kurt, thank-you for your insightful review! The feedback from the Lodge was how much they enjoyed hosting you. Thank-you for choosing us, for loving us and for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience for others to see. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at the Lodge 4 years ago and its still unforgettable! Stunning view. The staff was extremely friendly and definitely made our stay in the area more special. Definitely would go back in the future!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katia8118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

From the moment Barak picked us up at the airstrip to the moment we left him at the end of the stay, we felt as if we were home. The Lodge is gorgeous, the staff is gracious and patient. My butler Felex was a joy, he made a fire in the room daily (it was chilly) and made sure I had everything I needed. Jennifer was a gracious hostess and made sure everyone was made to feel welcome. The food was wonderful and plentiful. The massage at the spa was one of the best. This was a first class experience and well worth the interesting drive to get there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuitosCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews