We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot water bottle to warm your bed at night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trekkers Tavern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trekkers Tavern
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot water bottle to warm your bed at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

During dinner when it was chilly, they put a bucket of hot coals at your feet. When you get into bed, you find a hot water bottle in the bed warming it for you. These small details make a huge difference.

Stayed at Trekkers Tavern for 2 nights at the end of the low season in May and was the only group there. Staff was very attentive. This lodge is off-grid, but did have LED lights in the rooms that provided dim light and a separate solar cell w/deep cell battery for charging cameras, phones, etc. Was neat to charge electronics this way. Food was good, steak for one night, hamburger for the other. Pack lunches were standard, but included good BBQ chicken. Breakfast was made to order. Great view & located right near the Luxury lodges. I cannot see why anyone would pay for the luxury places if this is what a budget place offers. Rooms were nice and solidly built with concrete foundation and stucco.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
malmo, sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed one night at Trekker’s Tavern since it was the best accommodation for our next day gorilla tracking. The cottage was comfortable (though somewhat dark - dark walls and a single light bulb to light up the entire room). The bathroom was of good standard.

The staff was very friendly, the waitress was very sweet and attentive and the food was delicious. The hot water bottle I found in the bed after returning to the cottage after dinner pleasantly surprised me.

In all fairness I cannot assess anything but the accommodation, location, service and food since I only spent one night. I would not hesitate to stay here again if this was the best location for my activities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had 2 nights here recently. Given its somewhat off-the-beaten-track location, we thought it was great. Main attraction is obviously the gorilla tracking nearby.

Very friendly staff, good service and food, highly recommended.

Anyone who finds fault with a place like this probably needs to stick to holidays in USA or Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The room actually was decent -- main issue was a bathtub with one of those handheld shower attachments on the faucet (not quite long enough), so a little awkward. No place to hang things (we suggested some hooks on the walls to solve that). And no electrical outlets in the room, although there were lights.

But the food! We had plenty of excellent food on our 12 day trip, but every meal here for two days was outstanding.

And the service! We felt as though we were staying with friends. When they put the pots of glowing embers under the table at supper to keep our legs warm (the nights get pretty cool up here)! And finding those hot water bottles in our beds when we returned to our rooms, really good bottles that stayed warm through most of the night! And those electric outlets? They had a power strip in the dining room and we were invited to charge camera and cell phones there. Not to mention the staff proudly showing off a three-horned chameleon that they had captured and planned to release in the forest. We just felt so at home here, an almost intimate experience.

Finally, this location offers easy access to the Ruhija end of the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest. Presumably that's why one would stay here in the first place. Oh yeah, excellent birding very close by -- and that's why *we* were here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We are fans of this place and have been visiting regularly since it opened and have recommended other travellers to this low key establishment rather than the Larger Lodge next door. We have received regular feedback, some good, some not so good. The latter concerned us a lot.
We, a party of four, were booked in late last year, 2012, and got the usual friendly welcome from Julius and his team. We noticed straight away that some undergrowth had been allowed to proliferate. We got our 'usual' bungalow' and in view of reports we set about testing all the systems. Lights, Water, securityof fittings etc., all was found in order. However our companions had issues over lighting and erratic water supply so we arranged a move for them. We got the water right but sadly not the lighting. We think that maybe the batteries had finished and the poor weather and secluded position in shade was affecting the Cells on the roof.
Food was up to Julius's usual high standard, (Trekkers claim to serve the best food in Uganda.)
We enjoyed our stay as always and will return but the issues were of concern..
I have taken up this point with the owner and following an exchange of mails I have been assured these matters will have his urgent personal attention. I am therefore not going to comment further on these or let them unduly affect my ratings. Let us see what develops.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Nothing fancy, but one of the few options near Ruhija end of Bwindi. Great staff, food fine, rooms fine. Showers work but water unfiltered, looks like weak tea. You're near 8,000 ft so can be really cold. Hot water bottles welcome. Excellent birding nearby. Forest elephants forced us to abandon swamp hike. Take hiking poles if you try any of the trails nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird-Fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed here for three nights- well worth staying on site. We had a fantastic experience with the Oruzogo gorilla group for one day then the rest of the time we enjoyed bird watching and spending time in the forest (Alfred from Avian Watch Uganda) or around the trekkers tavern. The service and food were exceptional. The best cook in Uganda. Although our time there was wet and damp- as it was the start of the rainy season after all- the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Including hot water bottles in our duvet bed and an amazing hot coals heater placed under our table at dinner time!! THANK YOU (we were there 7th Sept).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireofClareRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
Bwindi Forest Farm Camp Site
#21 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#15 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#11 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trekkers Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trekkers Tavern

Property: Trekkers Tavern
Address: Ruhiza, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Trekkers Tavern Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing