We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Engagi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Engagi Lodge
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautiful place with an attentive staff. The view from the room and from the dining room was beautiful!! My favorite lodge we stayed in Uganda. The food was AMAZING. You are walking distance to the meeting place for gorilla trecking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from 2 nights at Engagi. This place is so homely with an open fire in an outdoor living room that looks right onto Bwindi rainforest. The rooms are spacious and clean, you can order early wake up calls with locally ground coffee brought to your room! Laundry is included. The food here was fantastic! This is one of 2 of the best places we have stayed during our 1 month visit to Africa.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Annom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena CA, USA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you want to be transported to another world and experience, Engagi is the place for you. Like all people who stay here, we (aged 63) were on a gorilla trek. Gorillas--fantastic: Engagi--spectacular! We arrived after a 13 hour drive from Kampala (fantastic, but longer than planned). Friendly and happy staff, hot food, cold beer, and good wine were waiting for us, the ONLY two people dinning in a magnificent area! Our trek was the next morning (another great experience) and we retuned early enough to enjoy our porch and watch and feel a spectacular sound and light show with a wild storm (you know, Gorillas in the "Mist")! Room was very comfortable and private. Dinner was fantastic! A fire was set in the fireplace where other guests dried boots as we sipped some libations!. There are plenty of "charging areas" in the common area to recharge modern devices, which seemed so incongruous to the location! Two nights were fantastic, but not enough! Walk to the village and the NP!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
470 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This lodge was a real Waw experience. We arrived here just a few days before December 24 in 2012 and were the only guests at the lodge. The staff were very helpful from first contact, taking care of luggage, going though the paperwork, and all of this happened in the beautiful dining room and reception area and terrace with an unforgettable view over the Bwindi forest. Our room was the most distant one, completely alone close to the forest, with a great sleeping room and bathroom with good shower. All comfort (electricity and hot water) were provided 24/7 through solar power installations.
Staff were great at providing everything, cooking was very good (take the opportunity to good out the back door of the dining area, up 20 stairs, and you'll see where the cooking happens), and service was perfect. In the evening you can sit next to the fireplace enjoying a red wine. My wife got sick while here (nothing to do with the food here, as we both had the same, just a kind of flue) and again the staff took perfect care of her while I went for the gorilla trekking, and our driver was even able to rebook the gorilla trip to the next day for my wife at no extra cost.
We had a great experience at Engagi lodge and would recommend it to everyone staying at Bwindi.
One caveat: be aware of the slippery outside stairs; they're really dangerous if you don't pay attention and you don't want to ruin your trip for that. This would be our only recommendation for the owner of Engagi: please rebuild these stairs in a safer way - visitors will feel much better and safer.

Room Tip: We were at the room completely down the stairs - great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at Engagi Lodge in June 2013. The staff was incredibly warm, friendly and accommodating. Our room had a big glass door that looked out on the forest as did the restaurant and lounge. Our laundry was done (at no charge) each day. We were even escorted to the ranger office for our gorilla trek even though it was just down the street. The meals were great and they always remembered that I didn't eat red meat! I can still see everyone's smiling faces!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

My girlfriend & I spent 5 nights in Bwindi/Buhoma. Engagi Lodge was truly our home away from home- a welcome respite from the rigors of Ugandan travel. We LOVED this lodge! It's got it all - a great location in the town (walking distance to the park for the gorilla tracking), incredible views of the magnificent Bwindi forest, and a beautiful public area (lounge/bar, restaurant and the best patio!), plus great food!

The staff was amazing- all were warm and friendly! We were treated like royalty. (I've uploaded a photo of the staff). Laundry service (which we sorely needed) was included for free - so every day, Alex cheerfully delivered clean clothes to our room. Heaven! The rooms were also very comfortable, with a large bathroom and HOT water for the showers. The rooms were spread apart, all with forest views, so it was very quiet!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janhantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We love Bwindi. The climate is cool with lush forests and a very friendly village. The Engagi lodge has a fabulous restaurant/deck that looks across the valley to the forest. We had great birdwatching from the deck. The service was fabulous and we enjoyed the meals. While we were on our gorilla safari (tough hike but worth it) a family of gorillas came through the lodge grounds. Unbelievable! We even saw an Ayres Hawk-Eagle from the deck one day. Nice. Hire a porter on the gorilla hike. They only ask for $20 and they are so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
7.4 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#4 of 12 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
8.5 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Engagi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Engagi Lodge

Property: The Engagi Lodge
Address: 39A Berkeley Road , Entebbe, Uganda, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Engagi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Engagi Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
The Engagi Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing