We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Engagi Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Silverback Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Gorilla Safari Lodge(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savannah Resort Hotel(Bwindi Impenetrable National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
59
20
5
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
20
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsimpenetrable foresthot water bottlesprivate traildeck areaopen firegorilla treckingblack and white colobus monkeysrooms are comfortablefood was amazingstunning locationother guestscharging stationwi fiincredible viewsstayed nightsenjoyed our stayvalley
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here in December 2013. The staff were great, really friendly and attentive. The food was fantastic, eaten in a restaurant with views out over the valley to the mountain forest. Two days before our stay one of the local gorilla families had been wandering around the hotel grounds and you could still see their paths where the vegetation had been flattened. The room had loads of hot water, a nice big bed with mosquito net, and we got cups of tea delivered with the morning wake up call. I couldn't fault the place and would go back without question.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Beautiful place with an attentive staff. The view from the room and from the dining room was beautiful!! My favorite lodge we stayed in Uganda. The food was AMAZING. You are walking distance to the meeting place for gorilla trecking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just come back from 2 nights at Engagi. This place is so homely with an open fire in an outdoor living room that looks right onto Bwindi rainforest. The rooms are spacious and clean, you can order early wake up calls with locally ground coffee brought to your room! Laundry is included. The food here was fantastic! This is one of 2 of the best places we have stayed during our 1 month visit to Africa.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

If you want to be transported to another world and experience, Engagi is the place for you. Like all people who stay here, we (aged 63) were on a gorilla trek. Gorillas--fantastic: Engagi--spectacular! We arrived after a 13 hour drive from Kampala (fantastic, but longer than planned). Friendly and happy staff, hot food, cold beer, and good wine were waiting for us, the ONLY two people dinning in a magnificent area! Our trek was the next morning (another great experience) and we retuned early enough to enjoy our porch and watch and feel a spectacular sound and light show with a wild storm (you know, Gorillas in the "Mist")! Room was very comfortable and private. Dinner was fantastic! A fire was set in the fireplace where other guests dried boots as we sipped some libations!. There are plenty of "charging areas" in the common area to recharge modern devices, which seemed so incongruous to the location! Two nights were fantastic, but not enough! Walk to the village and the NP!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtd330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

This lodge was a real Waw experience. We arrived here just a few days before December 24 in 2012 and were the only guests at the lodge. The staff were very helpful from first contact, taking care of luggage, going though the paperwork, and all of this happened in the beautiful dining room and reception area and terrace with an unforgettable view over the Bwindi forest. Our room was the most distant one, completely alone close to the forest, with a great sleeping room and bathroom with good shower. All comfort (electricity and hot water) were provided 24/7 through solar power installations.
Staff were great at providing everything, cooking was very good (take the opportunity to good out the back door of the dining area, up 20 stairs, and you'll see where the cooking happens), and service was perfect. In the evening you can sit next to the fireplace enjoying a red wine. My wife got sick while here (nothing to do with the food here, as we both had the same, just a kind of flue) and again the staff took perfect care of her while I went for the gorilla trekking, and our driver was even able to rebook the gorilla trip to the next day for my wife at no extra cost.
We had a great experience at Engagi lodge and would recommend it to everyone staying at Bwindi.
One caveat: be aware of the slippery outside stairs; they're really dangerous if you don't pay attention and you don't want to ruin your trip for that. This would be our only recommendation for the owner of Engagi: please rebuild these stairs in a safer way - visitors will feel much better and safer.

Room Tip: We were at the room completely down the stairs - great stay.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews