We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Honeymoon stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed on honeymoon in August and loved it. We had one of the superior lodges which was lovely. When we arrived it was cold and damp and they lit a fire for us and brought hot water bottles. Staff are really friendly and the food was very good. Would stay again

Room Tip: Take a lodge room they are lovely with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    13
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
22
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

If you want a true Gorillas in the Mist experience this is the place to go. 2,400 feet up in the mountains you are above the clouds for a lot of the time, got a bit cool in the evening and overnight but the open fire, that the staff made up on request, certainly made the room warm and cosy. The view was outstanding. Power is supplied by generator and on restricted hours but if you want the eco experience that just adds to the charm. Water pressure could do with a bit of attention, it took ages for the hot to come through, the pressure at the tap was good but put it onto the shower and it struggled. Food and service were excellent and as someone else has reported they had the best pillows that we have ever come across really should have asked where they got them from. From the lodge it was only 10 minutes to the starting point for our Gorilla trek and the highlight of our tour of Uganda standing on the side of a mountain, in a very aptly named impenetrable forest surrounded by 14 gorillas. Wow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madtraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Madtraveller,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My children, mother, and myself were awestruck as we arrived at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge. The view of the endless mountain range was incredible and we were greeted by a very friendly staff, three of whom were named Moses. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable with cozy beds, extra blankets in case of cold evenings, a fireplace, and a porch bathed in afternoon sunlight overlooking Bwindi Impenetratable Forest. We dined in the main lodge where we were given a choice of two different meals and a choice of what time we'd like to eat. The food was quite good. The lodge is located within a short walk to the village which I found quite convenient. Moses the manager was very accomodating and made sure that our comfort was his main concern. I would definately stay here again! As would the rest of my family!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asamaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Asa,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

If you're looking for friendly, helpful people, great beds - with the best pillows we found in all of East Africa - and lovely views, Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge is your place. We stayed for 2 nights in a superior room, with a fireplace, in August of 2013. Our favorite part was Moses - Moses the manager, as there are 3 Moses' at the lodge. Moses is smart, funny, and a problem solver. When our trip to the lodge took longer than expected, Moses called to check on our progress along the way. When the shoes of my friend were considered unacceptable for trekking, Moses found her a pair that would work within 10 minutes, so we wouldn't be late. The rooms were also great - very clean, comfortable, and quiet. We appreciated having an Airtel internet modem so we could immediately send pictures home. The food was fine - not amazing, but not bad. And when we made requests, like bacon for breakfast, bacon showed up in mass quantities, and was perfect. I'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are a little larger and have fireplaces. But all of the rooms have spectacular vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Heather,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed for two nights in a deluxe room in June 2013 whilst visiting Bwindi for gorilla trekking. The staff were very friendly. Large common room/restaurant with veranda with comfy chairs overlooking the hills - a great place to sit after the hike to see the gorillas. Free tea, coffee and hot chocolate in the main room made it feel homely. The meals were large and mostly delicious, with two options for a main meal. The fireplace was cosy. Hot water for showers was available upon arrival. Internet was provided for by a dongle, we were the only guests at the time, and the staff offered that we take the dongle back to our room and could return it in the morning. Internet speed was good via this method. Large towels, and extra blankets provided. Privacy in the individual rooms. I would definitely recommend this hostel to my friends.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank claireskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Claire kis,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in June 2013 while visiting Bwindi for gorilla trekking.

1. The Lodge appears to be under new management recently, and this seems to be raising the standards over what other guests experienced in the past. The new manager, Moses A., is a sharp, nice, thoughtful, and engaging guy with management experience and genuinely wants to raise standards.

2. The Lodge is just minutes away from where you begin the gorilla trekking, which is really a great experience. Thus, the location deep within the park, high up in the mountains, is perfect. It also has great sweeping views of the mountains and valleys and, when the weather is clear, the Virunga volcano across the board in the DRC.

3. The food was nice. I had one meal that was not really to my liking, but that had more to do with personal taste. The soups were fantastic, the breakfasts were large and good, and at dinner you get a choice between two main entrees.

4. The cabin rooms are nice. Clean, hot water, nice views, in a kind of typically Western cabin. Extra blankets are provided, and they will even provide you with a hot water bottle for the night if temps get low.

5. As of right now, they only run the generator 6:00-7:30am and 7:00-10:00pm. Keep this in mind when charging various electronics, including your camera (which will be extremely important when you go to see the gorillas!). Some may see this as a negative, but keep in mind the location and set your expectations accordingly. On the other hand, (1) there is an AirTel tower about 50 meters away so you get great phone reception for being deep in the Bwindi Impenetrable Forest and (2) they provide you with a dongle for internet connections.

Overall, while expensive I found this a nice place to stay for the great experience of trekking with gorillas. Moses and Eric were nice, helpful, and eager to make the stay a pleasant one. Oh yeah, and the fireplace in the restaurant/bar is a great place to end the evening with a drink. I would definitely recommend Ruhija Gorilla Lodge to my friends, though one will need to make choices depending on one's budget.

Room Tip: The rooms in the cabins are relatively basic for the price. However, they are clean, spacious enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kriminolog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Kriminolog,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It has a great location. It was the best experience for our business vacation,the staff were very friendly and the food great. i cant wait to go back when they have the sauna/steam bath running. unlike other lodges around, this one has clean rooms,keep it up.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasaanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses A, Manager at Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Baker,
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge is extremely delighted about the honest and positive marks comments you awarded to the Lodge.We need you to improve our standard of services and up grade of the facilities.
Much appreciated for the time you took to reserve and stay at the lodge.

All the best

Moses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Mist Camp
Gorilla Mist Camp
#4 of 29 in Kabale
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge

Property: Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge
Address: Ruhija Village | Bwindi, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruhija Gorilla Lodge Bwindi is a unique safari lodge suitable for all classes of travelers; it welcomes you with breath taking scenery of the forest, peace and tranquility – a home away from home, enjoy the melodies of insects and birds, surprise visits of monkeys or even gorillas.Come and experience the Hospitality that is immersed in an entirely new and Refreshing natural ambiance which will make your stay a memorable and enjoyable one!Accommodation:We have three types of rooms all unique from each other: the deluxe cabins, the Superior cabins and standard rooms, they are all carefully designed to blend in with the Natural environment around. All cabins are well equipped with comfortable beds and Furniture that is designed to maximize your comfort. The bath rooms are fitted in with hot and Cold water…Every detail has been taken care of to give you the comfort you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Hotel Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Ruhija Gorilla Safari Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing