We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like you're in the jungle”
Review of Nshongi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nshongi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“You feel like you're in the jungle”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I chose to stay at this camp because of the good reviews and because it's right next to the Rushaga park entrance. The camp is tiny - only four huts for visitors - so it has a very nice, private feel. As has been mentioned, the food is high quality (don't be afraid to ask for seconds), and the daily hot showers feel great. I would like to highlight the friendliness of the staff. While eating lunch, I asked if the staff has ever seen a Rwenzori Three-Horned Chameleon that was displayed on a calendar. They immediately walked me to a nearby tree and showed one to me. We brought it down on a stick and admired it for a while. It's experiences like this that make travel special.

One piece of advice: I wasn't on a tour, but organizing my own travel from Kisoro, then to Kabale. I didn't organize all legs of the trip ahead of time and relied on the camp manager to negotiate a "transfer." At first this was quite stressful but he ended up finding a reasonable rate. I'm glad he didn't try to extort us - there are no other options around the camp!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antalya, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Not only is it great value for money, it is right on the fringe of the park. The closest you'll get to nature! The staff are lovely and genuine, and the bandas are traditional and eco-friendly. We had a great stay, and we camped to save dollars. There are few places like this.. very special experience. It's the real deal.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The 3 of us planned to see the faboulus mountain gorillas in bwindi so we were looking for an accomodation very close to the trekking site just 3 days before. Luckily we got a tip from a friend who already stayed at nshongi, so we contacted Silver, the owner. He was so friendly from the first moment on, told us exactly how to get there and even called when we were on our way to check on us. The place is just wonderful! The camp is situated just in the middle of the forest, but easy to reach. The "bandas" we stayed in were cosy and very clean. The members of staff are all friendly and very supportive, especially Silver, who helped us a lot, gave advises and even escorted us to a football match one evening :) Thanks to his effort we could change the gorilla group we were visiting so

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

A short walk from the meeting point for our gorilla tracking adventure (in our case the Kahungye family) the camp is perfectly located. The surroundings are stunning, adding to the overall experience in Bwindi. The bandas are small but comfortable (though there are slight differences between the bandas). Staff is very friendly and helpful, as is the local owner (Silver). The hot bucket-showers are a delight after an afternoon of hiking and food is plenty and fulfilling... Overall a lovely place to spend a day or two when you're tracking the magnificent silverbacks in Bwindi Impenetrable Forest!

Room Tip: Personally found the banda located at the very right (when entering the camp) quite comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

we had a lovely time there. The bandas are basic but clean. the shower and the hot water with the cup was definitely a pleasure. the food here was very good. The garden is really wonderful, it will pass many birds. The camp itself is located in the valley of Rushaga. The residents there are all very nice and we can park our car there without problems. for the price it's hard to find something better in Bwindi.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bim_Toeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Ideally located at just 5 minutes walking distance from the meeting point, nshongi camp is the perfect base for visiting the gorillas. In addition, Silver, the owner of this lovely camp can arrange you a visit at the Batwa people and the waterfall located in the nearby. Thanks to Charity, Hope and Bright (he is the cook and will prepare some delicious food for you!) for making my stay here a really great one. I definitely recommend this place- it was one of the best places I stayed in Uganda!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ale76ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Perfect location, friendly staff and very peaceful. Simple and clean bandas right on the edge of the park. Saw monkeys and a wonderful selection of birds. The night time sounds were intriguing. A great 'get away from it all' place, with a fine local community nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annj_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
0.0 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silverback Lodge
Silverback Lodge
#1 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
Bwindi Backpackers Lodge
#14 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
Rushaga Gorilla Camp
#5 of 12 in Kisoro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nshongi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nshongi Camp

Property: Nshongi Camp
Address: south gate Bwindi Impenatrable Forest NP, 500 meters from gate park and UWA visitors center, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Nshongi Camp Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing