We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Bwindi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silverback Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silverback Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great stay in Bwindi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in the Silverback Lodge and truly enjoyed it. The gardens are beautiful and its hilltop location provided a beautiful view of Bwindi. It is just a five minute drive to the park entrance for trekking the gorillas. Food was good and plentiful. Showers were hot!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
52
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

This lodge has incredible views of the surrounding mountains. The staff was quite nice and food was also very good. The rooms were rather small, but clean. Because they run on a generator, there isn't power at all times and the hot water was intermittent. I never did have a hot shower, but the weather was hot, so it didn't really matter. There are a lot of mosquitos, and they seemed to find their way inside the netting, so keep your windows shut.

This lodge is convenient to the gorilla trekking. It's up on a top of a hill, so need to drive to the little village and trekking starting point. Otherwise, a long walk uphill back to the lodge.

I would recommend this lodge as the staff was so nice and the food quite good. We really didn't spend that much time in the room. The lobby area was a great place to sit and have a drink, discuss the day, and enjoy the views.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lfthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Rooms are completely average, but the staff makes this place great! They were so warm and friendly that we immediately felt right at home. Food was sufficient and plentiful in buffet layout with served hot breakfast items.

Rooms are all the same and face the mountainside -- beautiful view! And there are two dedicated singles at the end of the walk on the "lower level". Funny enough, the singles seem to have larger bathrooms than the shared/doubles. We had a group of 15, and were all equally happy with the property.

An evening fire was a great way to end the day at this very peaceful lodge.

Gorilla "gate" is only about five minutes away. Road up to the property could be a challenge for non-4-wheel drive vehicles, once you get off the main street.

Note: I'm in the travel industry but am committed to honest reviews of all properties, whether they like it or not!

Room Tip: low number rooms closest to lodge but there didn't appear to be any extra noise disturbances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureGirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Spent 2 days here towards the end of Dec 2012 on a trek to see the fabled mountain gorillas. The drive to get to the lodge is difficult and treacherous but once u get to the small, cozy lodge its pure relaxation. The views of the mountains are breathtaking and the service is one of the warmest we've experienced!!! The manager and staff are very helpful. The rooms are basic but the manager told us the lodge will be getting renovated in April-May. So travellers post that should get better rooms :) The food served during lunch and dinner were superlative and prepared with a lot of care and class.....loved each bite I took!!!

Room Tip: All the 8 rooms overlook the mountains.......though the rooms situated in the middle have a better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinitha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Went up here for a drink one evening. Very friendly staff and an absolutely fantastic view - wish we'd come up a bit earlier in the evening and seen the sunset. Didn't get to see any rooms so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

After a pretty horific experience in Entebbe, we weren't expecting great things from hotels across Uganda even though we'd selected the 'luxury' option with our tour company.

Arriving at the Silverback Lodge was an experience as the car wouldn't get up the hill so we walked the last stretch in the heat whilst some local lads pushed the car up for a few shillings.

The hotel was a really pleasant surprise though with amazing views from a pretty terrace in landscaped gardens. The rooms were incredibly clean with good linnen and a great big bathroom, we had no hot water but it was hot enough that this wasn't a massive problem.

The staff were helpful and friendly (some a little odd but none the less!) and the food was pretty good considering we were in the middle of nowhere.

I asked for a g&t and on three separate trips was advised that there was no ice, no gin and then no tonic but you can't have everything and the beer was just fine!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalibuEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Staff and manager are just lovely and ever so accommodating to make ur stay relaxing and enjoyable. Room s are a bit dated but still extremely clean and comfy no complaints. The view is amazing. We also had the best packed lunch out of everyone on our gorilla trek of all the lodges. Apparently they are renovating early 2013 so this lodge would be just perfect on completion

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shann0nMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bwindi Impenetrable National Park hotels
11.6 mi away
Gorilla Safari Lodge
Gorilla Safari Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
7.0 mi away
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
Nkuringo Bwindi Gorilla Lodge
#2 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
21.4 mi away
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
Sanctuary Gorilla Forest Camp
#6 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Buhoma Lodge
Buhoma Lodge
#4 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.8 mi away
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
Clouds Mountain Gorilla Lodge
#3 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
Buhoma Community Haven Lodge
#12 of 31 in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverback Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverback Lodge

Property: Silverback Lodge
Address: Buhoma, Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bwindi Impenetrable National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverback Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From 1st May 2012 part of Marasa Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Silverback Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silverback Lodge Uganda/Bwindi Impenetrable National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing